AceKard and Action Replay

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by omega137, Sep 2, 2009.

Sep 2, 2009

AceKard and Action Replay by omega137 at 1:14 AM (1,744 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. omega137
    OP

    Newcomer omega137 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I am new to flask karts and I would like to learn to add cheats to my AceKard. I have tried editing cc, dat, and xml files. I cannot figure out how to create or add more Action Replay codes to the files. Should I use AR code manager? How do you add individual codes to my list without plugging in a DS Lite. I had a Action Replay and still do but I traded in my DS Lite for a DSi. Anyway I still have the code manager but I don't know how to make a codelist (with individual cheats) without plugging in a DS/DS Lite.

    Any help would be appreciated-
    Omega137
     
  2. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    r4cce by YASU is what you need to edit your cheat file

    use usrcheat.dat from cheats.gbatemp.net for your editting purpose
    where to get r4cce by yasu? use gbatemp search function to search for curley r4cce guide
     
  3. omega137
    OP

    Newcomer omega137 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I will try that. I made a codelist with ActionReplayCodeManager and put them in the cheat file but then the Card cant even load. Is there a solution to that because I spent a lot of time making the codelist.

    EDIT: I am on a Mac and I guess I could use another computer but I don't need too many cheats and was wondering if anyone would make a codelist for me.

    EDIT 2: I got my ak to load, it just cannot find the Cheat DB. I tried deleting cheats.xml and replacing it, name and all with me codelist. It is confusing me. All I got the AK for was Cheating, not ROMs, HomeBrew or to become confused. [​IMG]

    EDIT 3: I learned that when I changed the file to my custom one, it disabled Action Replay. I tried to put the file back how it was. When I turn on my DSi, it has my touch the screen and takes me to the home screen. I launch the AceKard and then it takes off. It goes through all of the options, shows one game even though there are three and starts it. It is always Pokemon Pearl that starts. When the three games are there that is the bottom one. It also is the one that the codelist was built for. I am removing the cheats.xml that AR CodeManager made now. Then I will tell you if it still works.

    EDIT 4: So, I deleted the cheats.xml and replaced it with the one from the AK firmware. It still loads like that. Shots strait through the whole menu. I am going to restore my AK.

    EDIT 5: I restored my AceKard to an original 4.18. I added my Games folder to it. Still does instant launch.

    EDIT 6: Tried to boot without games folder, works fine. I am going to add only Pokemon Pearl and it's sav, and cc.

    EDIT 7: With only that game, it's .sav and it's .cc, it works fine. I am going to try it with all of my games. Without the game folder. In a bit.

    EDIT 8: It works!!!! Still, no custom cheats [​IMG] I guess it was the folder. Also, I don't know how it got there, but I have this weird file in the root of my Micro SD with a name that changes every time I open my card. It is Zero KB and was made on December 31, 1903. Weird :?:?:?:?
     
  4. omega137
    OP

    Newcomer omega137 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    So, does anyone have an idea of how to use custom cheats without r4cce?

    How long does it take to rebuild a cheat file???
     
  5. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    sorry for the late reply

    i am afraid there isn't any applications made for mac to edit cheats
    i won't suggest you use .xml because it could be so SLOW
    unless you can try create your .xml with one game only
    the reason why can't you see codes could be....

    a) game id
    b) you didn't rebuilt after selecting DB

    this is how to apply cheats for ak2

    - get yourself usrcheat.dat from cheats.gbatemp.net .. place it in to the cheat folder
    - switch on your DS.. start your ak2
    - soon you will see the game selection menu
    - choose the game
    - choose cheat
    - select the usrcheat.dat
    - click the REBUILT button
    - cheats should appear
    - select the cheats you want
    - save before you exit

    i would recommend you use AKAIO as your firmware
    it works so much better than the official firmware
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=140917
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=111784

    as for autoload.. i think you need to edit the globalsettings.ini
    not quite sure with this
     
  6. omega137
    OP

    Newcomer omega137 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! I really need to know, I made a xml file with one game, and I am rebuilding it. How long should it take? 4 hours? It has been going for an hour.
     

Share This Page