Acekard 2i will not load

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Nau, Oct 29, 2010.

Oct 29, 2010

Acekard 2i will not load by Nau at 8:40 PM (3,795 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. Nau
    OP

    Newcomer Nau Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Ireland
    Hi,

    I recently got an Acekard 2i from shoptemp. Unfortunately when I start it up with the sdhc card in it it gets stuck on the loading screen with the blue text saying loading. I assume it is because it can not read the sdhc card. However the card was flashed by shoptemp (but they could not be bothered to test it I guess), so that should not be the issue. I tried another sdhc card, different version of the firmware (both akaio and the offical latest versions) and it does not seem to be working. I am using a DS Phat but that should not be the issue.

    Any ideas on how to solve this ? I assume it is a contact issue with the card but it is spring loaded and the sdhc card sticks firmly inside so I do not see a reason why this is happening ?

    Thanks,

    Nau
     


  2. Rasas

    Banned Rasas Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.geckocodes.org/index.php?c=RMHJ08

    There are plenty of other places to get codes and I'm not sure what they use for money so hopefully
    Take infinite GI & collection [xtatu]
    042091F8 38030000
    04209204 38630000
    is what your looking for.
     
  3. Nau
    OP

    Newcomer Nau Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Ireland
    Aside from that post going to the wrong topic, anyone with comments ? I am pretty sure it comes down to the card not reading the SDHC card, and considering I tried two cards, and even the one that shoptemp supplied preloaded, I am guessing something is off with the card.

    I would chalk it down to bad connectors, but appearently shoptemp updated the firmware, so if that was the case then that update would not have worked either. Aside form the possiblity of them shipping me a badly working card on purpose, I do not see what else could have happened.

    I hope I end up being looking very silly and missed something obvious, sending it back and waiting for ages seems like a lot of hassle.
     
  4. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wrong topic.

    ANyway, try formatting your SD card with panasonic formatter.
     
  5. Nau
    OP

    Newcomer Nau Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Ireland
    Unfortunately I am using a mac for which that does not work. I am aware of that weird issue with the mac disk utility formatting for the wrong type by default (although that was not in the faq for some reason). I even tried using a camera to format it and put the right files on it afterwards.

    I even tried the tape trick but both the card and the sd seem to be sitting fine at their places.
     
  6. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    You can format it on a mac. disk utility. choose drive. Erase button on top. Volume Format = MS-DOS (FAT).

    Use winrar to unzip akaio. one file "akmenu4.nds" and one folder "__aio" at the root. if it doesnt work then it will probably be the ak2 not reading the memory card
     
  7. Nau
    OP

    Newcomer Nau Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Ireland
    Did that multiple times with two SDHC cards (one Sony one Kingston). In neither case did it go beyond the loading screen. So that means that my Acekard is faulty ? I wish it gave some indication beyond the loading screen.
     
  8. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It could possibly be contact issues.
     
  9. iluvfupaburgers

    Member iluvfupaburgers FUPA Luva

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    Country:
    Ecuador
    are you using a dsi? maybe the card needs the 1.4.1 fix. also try downloading AKAIO 1.6 or below that.
     
  10. Nau
    OP

    Newcomer Nau Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Ireland
    How would I solve that though ? I assume it is the contact between the SD card and the Acekard, as the Acekard itself is recognized fine. The SD card clips in well though the spring has some ridiculous force behind it so it could be when it clicks in it still is not in completely. I have tried the tape on the sd card trick but I did not see any difference. I tried to keep the card fully pushed in, beyond the slight bump back after the click but that does not do it either.
     
  11. Isabelyes

    Member Isabelyes GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This sucks. I'm having the exact same problem with my old Acekard 2i, so I bought a new one from Shoptemp. I haven't got it yet, mind you, but if it arrives with the same problems...T-T
     
  12. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    my original acekard 2i ended up doing this. I couldn't found any solution (I even attempted cleaning the micro sd card slot contacts but to no avail), so I just ended up tossing it [​IMG]
     
  13. Nau
    OP

    Newcomer Nau Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Ireland
    I am using the DS phat, so that should not be an issue. I will try some older AKAIO altough I did a couple of them already without any success. The issue is mysterious as I got the the card from Shoptemp with a fully set up mem card, which I assume they tested already.

    My best guess is that the contact between the sd card and the Acekard2i is indeed faulty. Lets hope shoptemp gets back to me on this... it is a bit frustrating to say the least.

    Edit: Just gave 1.6 a go, same issue.

    Is this a common issue with the Acekard2i ? Just wondering if I should go for a replacement or a refund with it.
     
  14. iluvfupaburgers

    Member iluvfupaburgers FUPA Luva

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    Country:
    Ecuador
    did you try formating your sd card again? format it to fat 32, or fat16 if fat32 doesnt work
     
  15. Nau
    OP

    Newcomer Nau Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Ireland
    Yes I formatted it it shows up as fat 32 on the mac. I also tried formatting it using the camera in case there were "mac issues" with the same results.
     
  16. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    Did you try cleaning the contacts and using the papertrick? Both the cart and the SDcard should be cleaned.
     
  17. Nau
    OP

    Newcomer Nau Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Ireland
    Is the paper trick useful here ? I know it is used if the DS does not recognize the Acekard but that is not the case here. It is just that the Acekard does not recognize the SD card. Is the paper trick also for that kind of problem (or some version of it) ?

    I tried to the paper/tape trick on the sd card, it did not have any results.
     
  18. Stevetry

    Banned Stevetry Most perverted person in GBATEMP

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,294
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    is what you get by buying acekard2 the suppose holy grail of flashcard a acekard 2 bricked my ds lite the people at acekard still don't believed me that why i got a dstwo
     
  19. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    I bought a few of them with that problem, and some that does not get detected even with paper trick or freezes in startup screen. Just send it back for a replacement, or contact AK team because they have a 1 year warranty.

    I do not believe it bricked the DS lite. You can fix it with the bios swap trick if it is indeed bricked.. but it's more likely that the fuse blown
     
  20. Nau
    OP

    Newcomer Nau Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Ireland
    Just a quick question though. Could one update the firmware of such a card if it has this issue ? I am asking cause I got the firmware update done on the card (according to shoptemp). It would seem a bit fishy, to say the least, if they have done this update and did not notice that it can not read an sd card.
     

Share This Page