Acekard 2i language fix released

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by shaunj66, May 4, 2009.

May 4, 2009
  1. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] Acekard 2i language fix released
    Runs on any language DSi!
    [​IMG]
    Now that the beta testing is completed; the Acekard Team have released their update tool that fixes the known compatibility issue of the Acekard 2i running on DSi's that have their system language set to anything but English.

    Unlike the usual loader updates, this fix updates the actual cart firmware, so be careful when running (and ensure you have a charged up battery). The fix is simple to run though -- just copy the .nds file in the attached zip file to the root of your micro SD card, and then proceed to boot up your DS. The automatic update will then run.

    [​IMG] Warning: This update should only be used on Acekard 2i's that have a hardware ID of "81". You can check your HW ID by booting up your AK2i (WITHOUT this fix on your SD card!) and going to Start > Help. If your HW ID is anything but "81" do NOT apply this update as you will most likely brick your cart. The team are working on an update for other AK 2i HW revisions.


    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Discuss
     


  2. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, so in theory, if you modified this update file, you could make a flashing tool for bricked AK2is or to circumvent firmware updates?
     
  3. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    it said "actual cart firmware". Is this a step on updating the acekard itself just in case the DSi has a blocking update on all the carts?
     
  4. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    The thing is, Acekard specifically mentioned that they won't release a tool to circumvent updates.
    In theory you could possibly inject update code into this, bypassing that problem.
    That's what I'm thinking.
     
  5. manaphy4ever

    Member manaphy4ever GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    505
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Nice update fix language for german , france....etc i have the acekard 2i and i only need dsi cause my ds lite broken [​IMG]
     
  6. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    There's no need for me to run this because my DSi is Australian but it's nice to see the Acekard team acknowledging a common problem. =)
     
  7. agentgamma

    Member agentgamma I dont know what to put here

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Wait- the AceKard2i can update the actual card firmware?
    So in theory, they could circumvent updates?
    [​IMG]
     
  8. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it's been known for a while now.
     
  9. need4speed

    Member need4speed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just check my acekard 2i hw id and its 81. Can I go ahead and update my card then? Thanks.
     
  10. P.S

    Newcomer P.S Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Sweden
    Coolio
     
  11. A-Z

    Newcomer A-Z Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    surely all u who r saying this culd get round updtes u need 2 riun the nds file surely and correct me if im wrong if it stops tyhe acxekard from turning on then you cannot acces the nds file.?
     
  12. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Nice to see that AK did something about the problem. I think it has won back a a lot of potential customers.
     
  13. LUGiA

    Member LUGiA GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    425
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    whats Carts are newer HW: 44 or HW: 81 and also whats the differance
     
  14. g.crow

    Member g.crow beide mittelfinger hoch

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    United States
    took them ages
    now i cant even use it as my hardware is 44
    sucks
     
  15. Morku

    Newcomer Morku Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Germany
    I have 44 too. Damn :\
    How long will we wait again?
     
  16. Dimensional

    Member Dimensional GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    I also have hardware 44, and I expect that the firmware update for it will be out within a week of this release.
     
  17. RPG Hacker

    Member RPG Hacker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Kaperich
    Country:
    Germany
    Wow! I just got ma Acekard 2i today (HW: 81) and then this patch is released. Lucky! That's what I call "perfect timing". And I thought the Acekard team was just ignoring the problem. Seems I was wrong. That's what I call "good support"!
     
  18. LUGiA

    Member LUGiA GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    425
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    should I update even if i am just going to use English

    also can thgis update be run on a DSLite or is it recommend to run on DSi
     
  19. tenshinoneko

    Member tenshinoneko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Cool [​IMG] I was waiting for this update before being able to give away one DSi for my mom cuz she speaks spanish.

    I hope they get to fix the language issue on the other carts too [​IMG]
     
  20. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I do believe it is recommended to run on DSi since it was the DSi that is region-locked.

    As I'm reading this post, I thought to myself, "How will this affect AKAIO?". I read a bit closer and I realize it updates the cart firmware, not the system firmware. I'm guessing, that if you were to temporarily run the official Acekard FW to apply this patch to your HW81 Acekard2i then re-install AKAIO, it would run. Although this is just a theory. Please someone correct me if I'm wrong that way don't have a billion posts asking if this is compatible with AKAIO. Perhaps you don't even need to temporarily swap to the official Acekard FW, but we're going to need someone of higher intelligence to confirm.

    ~ Jon
     

Share This Page