Acekard 2i help

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by pmk010, Apr 19, 2011.

Apr 19, 2011

Acekard 2i help by pmk010 at 3:27 PM (719 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. pmk010
    OP

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I hhave had an acekard2i for a while but can't seem to figure out something. Every time I load a game I have to start a new game and so I checked on my micro SD and there was no save file. Also every time I try to change the skin on the acekard2i it stays on the same one. Plus when I change other settings they never save.

    I have had the same problems on both 3DS and DSi ( both EUR). I tried using AKAIO but had more problem. Tried formatting but still the same.
     
  2. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Have you tried to format with Panasonic SD formatter?
     
  3. pmk010
    OP

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Yes I have, but whats the difference
     
  4. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The Windows formatter sees your SD card as a normal disk, but the Panasonic SD Formatter threats it as an actual SD card, and formats it with SD optimization.
    Sometimes, completely unrelated problems are solved by formatting it with this specific tool.
     
  5. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    You are using a clean rom, am I right?
     
  6. pmk010
    OP

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    whats a clean rom?
     
  7. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think your MicroSD is somehow write-protected.
    Setting menu options = writing to a settings-file
    Saving game-saves = writing to game-save file
    Changing skin = writing to a settings-file

    There might be information about this on Google.

    A clean ROM is an untouched ROM, without anti-piracy patches or hacks implemented.
     
  8. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    A rom without any patches, translations etc.
     
  9. pmk010
    OP

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I'll look into whether my micro SD is write protected. How to find out whether a ROM is clean or not?
     
  10. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You might want to use Rominator for that -- It's a ROM manager that's very easy to use.
    There are unofficial updates you'll need to download before new games are recognized, and if the game is older than the latest update's date and yet not recognized, it's a patched ROM.
     
  11. pmk010
    OP

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Sorry I don't understand what you mean exactly. Where do you download these unofficial updates from and do you put them on your Micro SD or somewhere else e.g. your computer. And are these updates for the rom manager software.
     
  12. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Here are the Rominator updates
    Find 'Rominator' on FileTrip.net
    You can put the executable anywhere on your PC, and run it once. Then, you install the updates from the above thread (Check the latest posts). Load the executable once again and follow the set-up wizard.
    Check the name of your ROM in the list of games, and see if it is recognized as a game. If not, it's either not in the database update, or it's a patched/hacked ROM (not clean).

    You can also just re-download the ROM if you don't want to go through all these steps.
     

Share This Page