Acekard 2 problems

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by triclopzx, Dec 23, 2008.

Dec 23, 2008

Acekard 2 problems by triclopzx at 11:32 PM (1,155 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. triclopzx
    OP

    Newcomer triclopzx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Well I have Acekard 2 not 2.1 and seems to be a little busted up.

    The thing is it was with the bliss final firmware a while ago since it was not mine.

    First of all it gave me the FAT ERROR after that i formated and tried once again with AKIO 1.2 firmware and it did not load at all it stayed in a black screen after the DS loading screen.

    I tried with another SD card a sandisk 1GB and with original firmware 4.11 and the microsd icon keeps flashing.

    I tried with the one it had a A-Data 4 GB class 6 and with the only firmware it seems to work is with the original ak2 firmware I currently have the 4.11 firmware it does load but when displaying the menu the SD card icon on top right keeps flashing and nothing seems to appear.


    Does anyone have any suggestion on what should I do.

    Thanks in Advanced.
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the original acekard2's had a period of faulty cold soldering which caused a few issues, one being what you are experiencing. i would write to team acekard (acekard@gmail.com) and ask for a solution. the kits are under warranty for 1 year.

    -another world
     
  3. triclopzx
    OP

    Newcomer triclopzx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I will do that as soon as I can thanks for the quick reply.
     
  4. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    A little clarification:
    In soldering a cold joint is a faulty connection. Generally this is caused by not allowing the components to heat up properly before applying the solder, resulting in the solder "sitting" on the components instead of "binding" to them.
    The soldering on the AK2 was performed poorly and resulted in cold joints. They were not using a cold-soldering technique (much like arc-welding where the components to be soldered have a high current passed through them to create heat; those "cold-heat" soldering irons from TV a few years back used this principle).
    Just a little trivial soldering info for those who care.
    But your point remains- the AK2 had a period where components were not being soldered properly resulting in defective units,
     
  5. triclopzx
    OP

    Newcomer triclopzx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    What do you recommend I do should I go through the process of replacing it or just buy a DSTT?

    By the way Merry Christmas!!
     
  6. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    mail acekard@gmail.com
    they're good about replacing things
     

Share This Page