Accidentally installed 6.60 PRO-B10

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Azure42893, Aug 20, 2012.

Aug 20, 2012
  1. Azure42893
    OP

    Newcomer Azure42893 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    So I installed PRO-B10 not realizing I needed PRO-C for online play. Thing is, I ran CIPLflasher already, so I can't run any homebrew (that's its side effect, right?). How do I get rid of CIPLflasher?
     


  2. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it's not a side effect - all the cIPL does is modify the boot loader to start a modified firmware.

    All you need to do is uninstall the cIPL by running the installer again, then run the B10 installer to remove that then update to C from the 6.60 OFW you'll end up on.
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    CIPL shouldn't stop you from running homebrew, you may just need a reboot for the CFW to start back up... but yeah, do what xist said.
     
  4. Azure42893
    OP

    Newcomer Azure42893 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    When I try to run the CIPL flasher again, I get "kpspsident.prx loaded failed".

    On a side note, why is it that I can't run homebrew? Is it because I'm using PRO?
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    PRO has homebrew support. It sounds like you did a step wrong or something.

    Go to the system properties screen and tell us what it says your version is and all that jazz.
     
  6. Mario92

    Member Mario92 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
    I think you actually didn't install CIPL becouse I got same error and it means you have too new model for using it. You have to use Fast Recovery every time to start CFW or downgrade to 6.20 which has working permanent patch.
    When you have CFW up and running it should show it's version at version option and usually hides MAC address. Look version, if it's official then run Fast Recovery and check again. If it's now CFW then there's no CIPL installed.
     
  7. Azure42893
    OP

    Newcomer Azure42893 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Well, my firmware is shown to be 6.60 PRO-B10, even if I turn it off and then turn it on again. Nickname's there, and my MAC address is hidden. (It shows [Model: 02g] instead?)
     
  8. SILENT_HUNTRESS

    Newcomer SILENT_HUNTRESS CIERA BAKUFU

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    on a game.
    Country:
    United States
    2g model is the psp2000.i use a 1g and a 3g,but 1g is not yet supported by pro-online.i never had to even use my cplf on any of the psp's since my psp's can be modded without fail.did you just try and run the update only and not the cplf?
     
  9. Azure42893
    OP

    Newcomer Azure42893 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    What do you mean? When exactly?
    I followed the instructions on Prometheus's site. Updated to 6.60, downloaded their PRO fix (I assumed what I needed for online play was in the Downloads section already, but at that time I didn't realize I needed PRO-C rather than B, so I ended up downloading PRO-B10), ran the PRO update then the flasher, deleting each one from my psp after they finished.

    A few posts up, I tried running the flasher again to try to get rid of it, but it won't work. The PRO update just goes to a black screen.
     
  10. DarkStriker

    Member DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    So did you run the updater or the cIPL flasher again... Your words are confusing >.
     
  11. Mario92

    Member Mario92 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
    Just one more question: Did you fully shut down PSP or just hibrenated it? It fully shuts down only if you press and hold power button for awhile. That would explain why it shows it's on PRO-B even if CIPL didn't work and I still believe it actually never installed and also homebrew/images not working.
    Installing CFW nowdays shouldn't be this hard if you can read.

    Turns out you have 2g model which is same as I have and I can't use 6.60 CIPL flasher. I suggest you just uninstall PRO-B (download and PRO-B files again, run installer and press triangle), downgrade to 6.20 and then install PRO-C and permapatch which 100% works. You can find quide to do these from sticky: http://gbatemp.net/topic/293978-how-to-softmod-hack-your-psp/
     
  12. Azure42893
    OP

    Newcomer Azure42893 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    So I ran PRO updater to get my PSP to 6.60 PRO-B10, then ran CIPL flasher to make that permanent. I've ran both since then, trying to get rid of CIPL so that I can revert to OFW to update to PRO-C, but neither work.


    Yeah, fully shut down. I know it shouldn't be that hard, but I'm more used to CFW from pre-6.XX firmware and this feels completely different...

    So I guess basically I'm trying to get back to 6.60 OFW. I figured I could run the PRO-C updater if I do that.
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What error do you get running he PROupdater?
     
  14. Azure42893
    OP

    Newcomer Azure42893 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    I don't get anything. I just get a black screen, forcing me to shut down completely.
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Show us everything in the /seplugins/ folder on your memory stick?
     
  16. Azure42893
    OP

    Newcomer Azure42893 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah there's a lot of older 5.x crap that could be messing with things, rename /seplugins/ to something else (like /seplugins_old/), then restart the PSP and try stuff again.
     
  18. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    PRO-B can't play online? :O
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    PRO-B can play online.

    What people are talking about is PRO-C's additional ability to made ad-hoc-only games play over the internet.
     
  20. Azure42893
    OP

    Newcomer Azure42893 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Oh hey, I was able to get the CIPL flasher running so I could remove CIPL. Thanks so much!


    Well, since I'm here, quick, clarifying question. I need to run the FastRecovery thing to switch from OFW to CFW every time, correct (w/o CIPL flasher)?
     

Share This Page