Homebrew About Expanded RAM/memory mode on an O3DS

YayIguess

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
66
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
99
Country
Canada
guys, I'm pretty sure he's talking about the o3ds's actual mode where it gives the app more memory (like Sm4sh and Monster Hunter).
 

TuxSH

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2015
Messages
614
Trophies
1
Age
25
XP
1,284
Country
France
Yeah, but most game are designed not to use as much memory as Smash and therefore don't need that extra memory.
 

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Big Smug
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
26,824
Trophies
4
Location
Making a non-binary fuss
XP
34,282
Country
Antarctica
Buy a New3DS, that's the only way to improve your 3DS performance.
guys, I'm pretty sure he's talking about the o3ds's actual mode where it gives the app more memory (like Sm4sh and Monster Hunter).
Mine still applies.
Most games are already optimised for the old3DS and really don't need to run in high memory mode. The only game that really suffers and should have been running in High Memory mode is Hyrule Warriors Legends.
Seriously, why the fuck wasn't that game running in High Memory mode?
 
  • Like
Reactions: YayIguess

Kennerc

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
51
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
206
Country
Brazil
Mine still applies.
Most games are already optimised for the old3DS and really don't need to run in high memory mode. The only game that really suffers and should have been running in High Memory mode is Hyrule Warriors Legends.
Seriously, why the fuck wasn't that game running in High Memory mode?

So in high memory mode the game will play like in the n3ds? Enemies on screen?
 

elhobbs

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,033
Trophies
1
XP
2,665
Country
United States
would the homebrew app benefit from high memory mode?

i am on 11.0 a9lh.
unlikely. more memory just allows more and/or higher detailed assets. even the o3ds has enough memory that code size isnt really an issue. whereas something like the gba may require you to use simpler algorithms at the expense of performance to save memory - I dont think that is the case for the 3ds.
 

endoverend

AKA zooksman
Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2013
Messages
2,846
Trophies
0
Website
zooksman.com
XP
2,879
Country
United States
The thing that makes the new 3DS faster is its increased processor clock speed, and only partially the RAM. Forcing an O3DS into that mode would provide no performance increase.
 

Mikemk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,085
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
2,875
Country
United States
Answering the original question, yes it is possible, as evidenced by the fact that smash and mh run in that mode, and dev units have a setting to set the mode.

But no one (to my knowledge) knows how to force it into that mode w/o the application setting the mode.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    DinohScene @ DinohScene: :tpi: