About DSi ROMs

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Bowser-jr, Feb 8, 2011.

Feb 8, 2011

About DSi ROMs by Bowser-jr at 12:06 PM (5,475 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Bowser-jr
    OP

    Member Bowser-jr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    I have a CycloDS Evolution and wondering, can you play DSi roms (dsi enchanced games, .DSi files) on the CycloDS or are DSi roms and DS roms the samething?
     
  2. Arithmatics

    Member Arithmatics I'll be holding on to you. ;}

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,050
    Country:
    Malaysia
    to.answer.your.second.question,Dsi-enhanced.roms.and.DS.roms.are.the.same.thing.
     
  3. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You need a cyclodsi, I kind of thought that was obvious.
     
  4. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DSi enhanced roms act like normal roms, it's just if it's improperly dumped or if you're using anything other than the iEvolution, it'll behave like a normal DS game. Even on a DSi.
     
  5. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    since the cycloDS doesn't work in a DSi it's pretty obvious that it does not play DSi enhanced roms
     
  6. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    No. It does play DSi enhanced roms but only in DS mode.
     
  7. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Country:
    Antarctica
    your need missing the qualifier words "only in DS mode" for the last one.
     
  8. Bowser-jr
    OP

    Member Bowser-jr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    okay, so Unless I have a DSi enabled flash cart, I will not be able to use any of the DSi enhanced features but I can still play it on my CycloDS, right? I just won't have any access to the features.
     
  9. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    Correct. They will act like normal DS games.
     
  10. Bowser-jr
    OP

    Member Bowser-jr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    ah okay, just wondering; Wanted to try out Pokemon Black and White but didn't know if it would work on my CycloDS. Thanks for the help ^^
     
  11. Lightake

    Member Lightake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    China
    Country:
    China
    They should work.

    Too bad , it still doesn't work with the DSi enhanced game .
     
  12. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    You just contradicted yourself. Both Pokemon Black and White are DSi enhanced games and as you said, they work.

    You said "it still doesn't work with the DSi enhanced game" I'm assuming you mean the CycloDS Evolution(as this is the CycloDS section, this is a topic about whether or not the CycloDS Evolution can run DSi enhanced games) and no, the CycloDS Evolution can run DSi enhanced games(in DS mode, without DSi exclusive features). The CycloDS iEvolution can also run DSi enhanced games(in DSi mode with DSi exclusive features).
     
  13. MrGizMo

    Member MrGizMo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So Black & White are working in DSi mode?
     
  14. Irock23

    Newcomer Irock23 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Country:
    United States
    DSi enhanced games are still .nds files, this is probably so they can be loaded even in ds mode.
     
  15. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    These games do not currently work in DSi mode. There are patches to make them work in regular DS mode.
     

Share This Page