A reminder about signatures

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by p1ngpong, Jan 25, 2013.

Jan 25, 2013

A reminder about signatures by p1ngpong at 2:08 PM (2,164 Views / 7 Likes) 45 replies

  1. p1ngpong
    OP

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Lately we have been getting tons of people who have absolutely massive images as their sigs. It seems many people are unaware that we do have rules regarding how large an image you are allowed to have as a signature.

    Signatures should not be larger than 500 x 150 pixels in dimension.

    [​IMG]

    And they should not be larger than 80kb in size.

    If your sig breaks either of these size restrictions please do the staff a favor and change it so that we don't have to remove it for you.

    As always if you are unsure about anything please refer to our forum rules which can be found here http://gbatemp.net/help/terms or PM a member of staff.
     
    nukeboy95, Qtis, Castiel and 4 others like this.


  2. ComeTurismO

    Member ComeTurismO CTO

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,909
    Location:
    4:54 PM
    Country:
    Canada
    I am so sorry, Pingy. I've made a mistake, I won't do it again. I have done this. I have hurt you! I apologize :(
     
  3. p1ngpong
    OP

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    No more tears just bans now.
     
    lufere7, Sychophantom, Joe88 and 11 others like this.
  4. Jayro

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,408
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    Mine is just text, so it should be ok, right?
     
  5. p1ngpong
    OP

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Yep!
     
    JayRo likes this.
  6. pwsincd

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,975
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cant xonoforos admin section control this ? most other forum software i have used has had filesize and image dimension restriction facilities .
     
  7. Jayro

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,408
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, good. I tried using the smallest possible font, and a good non-distracting grey color, so it's easy on the eyes, and small enough not to be very annoying. Yet it's there for people if they are interested. :)
     
  8. Yepi69

    Member Yepi69 Vivid and busy gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,679
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Portugal
    I got warned about the sigs 6 times now, but it looks this time I finally settled it (had to reduce the quality of this awesome image to put it on my sig tho -_-)
     
  9. Jayro

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,408
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    Still looks good bro. :)
     
    Yepi69 likes this.
  10. Yepi69

    Member Yepi69 Vivid and busy gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,679
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Portugal
    Awww thanks bro :lol:
     
  11. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    pingpong and a sane thread ? WOW ! kudos.
     
  12. riyaz

    Member riyaz Black Ace/Red Joker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    everywhere
    Country:
    Netherlands
    hmm okay...
     
  13. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    I like this idea.
     
  14. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I've got a question, about my avatar.
    Can I have a .gif avatar?
    Can I put something in it like 'Need a Steam game? Contact me for the best prices!' in my avatar?

    OT: I've always tried to make my sig not too big, especially for GBAtemp use. Sometimes a bit of a hassle, especially the filesize! That's annoying IMHO
     
  15. p1ngpong
    OP

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Wow that is a lot of information to fit in an avatar! :O

    I guess you mean your sig right? Just to clarify the rules on advertising are more relaxed for your sigs than they are for the rest of the forum. As many of you know we do not allow threads and posts dedicated to advertising things like referral links, your own forums, twitter, facebook etc but you can do so in a sig. That doesn't mean you can link to ROM/porn/etc sites though, your advertisements still have to adhere to the rest of the rules.

    Can you have a gif for a sig? Yes you can if it is withing the 80kb size limit. Will we increase the 80kb limit any time soon? Maybe in the future but for now it remains 80kb.
     
  16. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Well I'd make it a .gif to fit all that information in of course ;)
    But, are there avatar rules? I thought there were, 30kb size limit or so?
     
  17. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    The limit is 80kb avatars and sigs combined. 30kb ava + 50kb sig is just an example.

    Also animated (gif) avatars are not possible. We don't have the correct PHP extensions installed apparently.
     
    Satangel likes this.
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That depends on what you mean, because there's three ways to go about it.

    1 - Use CSS to limit a user's signature to the specific dimensions.
    This makes sure that a user's sig will never stretch the page, but does nothing against large-filesize sigs and doesn't actually stop users from putting them in. This is the least bandwidth-intensive, so it's the most common.

    2 - Use cURL or something else when the user changes their sig to grab the headers of any image and make sure it's below a certain filesize and dimensions. This is bandwidth and CPU-intensive per-change, and users can bypass it by simply uploading a different file to the same URL.

    3 - Use cURL or something else to check sig images on every load. This stops users from bypassing the limits by changing the file at a specific URL, but is way too bandwidth and CPU intensive for anybody to even consider using.
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well since GD's been bundled since the dark ages I assume it wants imagemagick+gifsicle or whatever for the resize?
     
  20. TyBlood13

    Member TyBlood13 Weeaboo Trash

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,464
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    I know the feeling p1ng, noticed this too
     

Share This Page