[A Possible Guide] R4 Clone (www.r4i-sdhc.com) + YS Menu

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by kedirakevo, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. kedirakevo
    OP

    Newcomer kedirakevo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Singapore
    Hi, this is my first attempt in writing a guide in getting YSmenu to run with R4 upgrade with website www.r4i-sdhc.com printed on it. Some R4 clones doesnt seem to work with YSMenu often comes out with the error either "Unknown DLDI" or "UnsupporteD DLDI" or "ttpatch.dat" cant open loader error messages. After searching and finding i finally made it work on my R4 card, so gonna share with everybody. Without further ado, here goes.

    1) Required Things

    YSMenu -> Im sure thats all over the net in regards on how to obtain it. You will need it for TTYsauto

    TTYSAUTO - http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=104810

    DLIDI no patch - http://dldi.drunkencoders.com/uploads/c/cd/Dldino-apatch.zip

    2) Now go back to the thread where you obtained TTYsauto and get that done first. If done correctly you should have the output file DSTT_Menu_custom_English.zip, inside has

    \TTMenu.DAT
    \YSMenu\extinfo.dat
    \YSMenu\system.ank
    \YSMenu\system.fon
    \YSMenu\system.l2u
    \YSMenu\system.u2l
    \YSMenu\ttdldi.dat
    \YSMenu\ttpatch.dat
    \YSMenu\ttreset.dat
    \YSMenu\usrcheat.dat

    3) Copy everything in DSTT_Menu_custom_English.zip to the root of your microSD card.

    4) Delete TTMenu.DAT

    5) Now extract the ORIGINAL YSMenu.nds (means directly downloaded and extracted from YASU website) from (1) and copy it to the root of your microSD card.

    6) Extract Dldino-apatch.zip and run DLDI nopatch.exe

    7) Uncheck "Make a backup when possible"

    8) Select the ysmenu.nds at the root of your microSD

    9) At the root of your microSD, rename YSMenu to TTMenu

    Done!!!!


    Now one thing to note that this is not autobooting but for me thats not really an issue as i simply just select YSMenu from the games list. Do let me know if this is helpful or not [​IMG] thanks for reading [​IMG]
     
  2. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    R4i-SDHC

    is a clone of DSTT

    so YSMenu is not needed as YSMenu is a way of running DSTT on an origional R4

    just use the DSTT firmware without YSMenu
     
  3. kedirakevo
    OP

    Newcomer kedirakevo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Singapore
    Hmm doesnt work that way for me... You were saying just format the entire card clean... and just copy DSTT firmware to the root of my microSD?

    I did just that a while ago upon reading ur post, i used this "9076-dstt1.17a12.zip" but all i get is a menu ?


    EDIT: Oh i got what you meant already. I installed my original R4i-sdhc firmware... then copy the DSTT firmware over... Rename TTMenu.DAT to .NDS
    Then switch on the DS, from R4 boot into DSTT..... lolx... thats it... silly me......
     
  4. KIRKANGUSJOE

    Newcomer KIRKANGUSJOE Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Coahuila, Mexico
    Country:
    United States
    Hi everybody. First Post.

    I've tried many different ways to put the ysmenu in my r4i-sdhc from www.r4i-sdhc.com but couldn't...then i found this
    guide and i was very happy because i thought that with this one, nothing could possibly go wrong, but it didn't work...
    After this, i tried the last post instructions and it did run the ysmenu fine, then i put some roms in the root of my micro
    sd card and when i start my r4i, then the games menu, it freezes...I thought that if i put them in another place, it wouldn't
    freeze, so i put one rom in the R4iMenu folder, and as i thought it didn't freeze, but when i try to run it, it says ERROR
    UNKNOWN_DLDI_TYPE
    BTN_OK
    I'm very frustrated, so i want to know, can i achieve running roms in a ysmenu in my card?
    Please reply
     
  5. laxman0220

    Member laxman0220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    why would u even want the dstt firmware on r4i-sdhc considering the r4i-sdhc is better.

    there is a way to autoboot ysmenu on the r4i-sdhc and you won't need the r4 firmware on your card, but i just think it's pointless
     
  6. KIRKANGUSJOE

    Newcomer KIRKANGUSJOE Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Coahuila, Mexico
    Country:
    United States
    Then the question changes. How can i play games such as Mario & Luigi Bowser's..., Sonic Classic Collection, etc.?
    I'm a n00b at this so help is appreciated
     
  7. Rafaramos

    Newcomer Rafaramos Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Brazil Racoon City
    Country:
    Brazil
    This method didn't work with me.
    To get the YSmenu working I renamed the TTmenu.dat to .nds and deleted the r4dldi from TTmenu folder. I open TTDS in the R4 and then YSmenu.

    Download this thread files and you'll get Mario & Luigi Bowser's, Assassin's Creed, Wario Ware DIY, Sonic and Sega All Stars Racing and other games working:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=218414
     
  8. KIRKANGUSJOE

    Newcomer KIRKANGUSJOE Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Coahuila, Mexico
    Country:
    United States
    I appreciate it very much, i will try it immediately and tell u if it worked for me.
    Thanx!
     
  9. Rafaramos

    Newcomer Rafaramos Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Brazil Racoon City
    Country:
    Brazil
    You're welcome ;D
     
  10. KIRKANGUSJOE

    Newcomer KIRKANGUSJOE Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Coahuila, Mexico
    Country:
    United States
    By doing EXACTLY what your guide says, it didn't work (MENU ?)
    Do u know what can i change or if i can do another thing a little
    bit different?
    Anyway, thank u

    EDIT:Ah... I also put the r4i menu and the r4 dat, and it did work, but i haven't tried any roms so i'll tell u later
     
  11. Rafaramos

    Newcomer Rafaramos Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Brazil Racoon City
    Country:
    Brazil
    Remember to open the YSmenu with TTDS, or you get DLDI error
     
  12. KIRKANGUSJOE

    Newcomer KIRKANGUSJOE Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Coahuila, Mexico
    Country:
    United States
    It totally WORKED man! I tried Pokémon Soul Silver and Mario & Luigi
    You're the best!
    I love you...well not, but i reeeeeeeaaaaaaaally appreciate it!
     

Share This Page