4GB Kingston Taiwan problem.

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by the_skdster, Jan 15, 2010.

Jan 15, 2010
  1. the_skdster
    OP

    Member the_skdster Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi. I am having trouble with these cards. I have both the TTDS (real) and AceKard 2i. I just recently bought a few 4GB Kingston MicroSD made in Taiwan. I can get games to load like normal (fast) in the AK2i but games load slow as hell on the TTDS. I thought it was the DSTT giving problems but I tried in on FOUR other TT cards and the same problem.
    I have tried reformatting using Windows and the Panasonic SD Format Tool and still no go. It still loads super slow on the TT cards (over 30secs) and load fast on the AK2i. My question is why does it work fast in the AK2i and not the TTDS?

    Any input would be greatly appreciated. [​IMG]
    Thank you.
     
  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
  3. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    That's just the way it is with these C04G SDHC cards and DSTT. Your only option is to replace the SD card.

    A SD card is more complicated than just read/write speeds. There is some kind of compatibility issue when using them with a DSTT.

    I know Twiztid is going to want to argue about this, but whatever.
     
  4. Pyrate02

    Member Pyrate02 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    I recently ordered four 4gb Kingston Micro SD cards from Newegg - each card either hung or was terribly slow loading on the DSTT. I returned all four as defective. I then bought replacement cards from another source, which all work fine. There might be a quality control issue or some other issue with Kingston. My suggestion is to return it and buy a replacement.
     
  5. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    You should have bought the A-Data 4GB from newegg; they are the exact same price as the Kingston and work perfectly. The A-data are also claas-6; the Kingston are class-4.
     
  6. Hitcher

    Member Hitcher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. dnniwa485

    Member dnniwa485 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    for somereason

    DSTT's menu is really slow if youre memory card is not formatted with 32kb file allocation.. though the loading of games and ingame experience were just normal
     
  8. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    The Panasonic SD formatter automatically sets the cluster size to 32kb. If formatted through windows, it gets set to 4kb (slooooow).

    My point; don't use windows formatter to format your SD card.
     
  9. Domdel

    Newcomer Domdel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    i have kingston 4gb from taiwan working great used on dstt, i copied all data from it to a new kingston 4g, then i put it in my dsst, results = slow

    after, i put my working great 4gb in a new dstti clone and it's still working great.


    in the new 4gb i put data lib, i format with panasonic and it's still defective.

    On my working great 4g, i never format and never use a new data lib.


    So i have in my hand 15 x 4g kingston working bad
     
  10. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    I know the fealing, I have 14.

    I found uses for some of them (mp3 players, cell phones) where they work fine, but will probably end up selling the rest at a loss.
     
  11. Domdel

    Newcomer Domdel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    i will have a refund from my supplier oem phone parts
     

Share This Page