1. Emulator

    OP Emulator Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Just picked up a used 3ds and lucked out it still has 4.5 U firmware on it. was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction for this one. Is there better methods over others?

    thanks for the help.
     
  2. Yangarang

    Yangarang GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    Australia
  3. Emulator

    OP Emulator Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks..

    sooo is it similar procedure to 9.2 firmware? thats another question i had
     
  4. Yangarang

    Yangarang GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    Australia
    Sort of
    You won't be able to use any of the *hax methods (menuhax, browserhax etc.) on your sysNAND, but you can install the MSET exploit which means you can boot into emuNAND from the system settings
    I'm not the most qualified to explain this stuff as I never did anything to my 3DS when it was on 4.5 but I'll link some helpful youtube videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL1CadovfabPtTXpw4iC_R9MiLMdLOZS3h
     
    Emulator likes this.
  5. muskieratboi

    muskieratboi Rydian's got some competition!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
    4.5 exploits have long been superceeded by the 9.2 Exploits.

    Upgrade to 9.2 using SysUpdater (You'll have a MUCH easer time than the people trying to DOWNgrade lol), and then go from there.
     
    Emulator likes this.
  6. Emulator

    OP Emulator Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    i also have a n3ds 10.3 and have homebrew config on that one (only 1 time getting fbi to load and install LOL). the main reason for buying this o3ds is for lower firmware reasons. i ll take a look on that iso site for 9.2.

    if i were to just stay on 4.5 would installing game cia still be viable?
     
  7. Jaitsu

    Jaitsu Yet Another GBATemp Furry
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    If you're on 4.5, basically the only thing you're going to want to use 4.5 as is as a springboard for launching a 10.3 EmuNAND. Either way, I'd totally recommend uing SysUpdater and a CIA pack (follow a guide) to upgrade to 9.2; that way you'll be able to use homemenuhax to more-or-less boot straight into a sig-patched 10.3.

    To answer your question, though, you CAN install game CIAs, but some games require higher firmware and would need to be spoofed, and some (Smash, MH4U, etc.) won't work at all.
     
    Last edited by Jaitsu, Jan 11, 2016
    Emulator likes this.
  8. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,275
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    4.5 + mset entrypoint +10.3 emunand is still a great combo.
    Stick with that if you just want free games.
     
    Emulator and KennyWYL like this.
  9. Emulator

    OP Emulator Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks for the answers everyone, really has helped. So i prepped everything on sd and went to browser to use gateway exploit for 4.5 to enable homebrew and it will not load emunand9.. closes browser and says restart.

    i do have oot3dshax already config. and saved to cart. would this allow me to achieve Homebrew on 4.5? or do i have to use said method with browser.

    im going to try it in a little bit when i get home from work. but if someone knows.. thanks in advance.

    and would nintendo doing maintenance prevent me from doing this aswell (closing acess to browser if applicable)?
     
  10. Emulator

    OP Emulator Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
  11. Yangarang

    Yangarang GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    Australia
  12. MikaruMenoko

    MikaruMenoko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Italy
    Yep. It's true. I suggest having firmware 9.2 with the System Settings app downgraded to 4.5. You can launch rxTools without having to connect to the internet with that :)
     
    Emulator likes this.
  13. Emulator

    OP Emulator Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks again for the help. it did not change the outcome. still getting the error message.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    i still have to get HBL to work first >.< lol
     
  14. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,169
    Country:
    United States
    the gateway site sucks at sending out the payload . . . do you have an android ? if so use 3DS X-Loader - Android Apps on Google Play to send the payload
     
  15. Emulator

    OP Emulator Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    i do ill try it out

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    dang keep getting communication error
     
  16. Emulator

    OP Emulator Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    i checked that thread out as well and seems like some people have the issue as well. does anyone know of any other methods to instaLl HBL?


    AND THIS IS THE ERROR i always get

    Error Code: 003-3499
    Unable to find your specific error code. Please search your Nintendo 3DS error code again, making sure to enter it exactly as it appears on the screen.

    If you are still unable to locate troubleshooting for your specific error code, we may not have information for your error code available at this time.
     
    Last edited by Emulator, Jan 11, 2016
  17. MikaruMenoko

    MikaruMenoko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Italy
    Are you on a public network or on a network that requires some sort of authentication? I.E. a login page that displays on other devices when you connect for the first time.
     
  18. muskieratboi

    muskieratboi Rydian's got some competition!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
  19. Emulator

    OP Emulator Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    no i am not

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    so 3dshaxx one brings me to jailbreakmii page but after clicking it, it force closes and goes to main screen
     
  20. muskieratboi

    muskieratboi Rydian's got some competition!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
    You don't have the Payload on your SD Card.

    • Grab smealum's starter kit
    • Unzip to root of SD card
    • Place the HBL EMUNAND9 Folder (the one with the .3dsx and .smdh files) into SDcard/3ds
    • Run Browserhax exploit
    • Run EmuNAND9
    • Backup NAND
    • Transfer NAND to Safe Place
    • Run EmuNAND9 again
    • Do EmuNAND Setup
    • Follow the rest of the tutorial as stated.
     
    Last edited by muskieratboi, Jan 11, 2016
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - firmware,