1. Inuuto

    OP Inuuto Enigmatic
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    United States
  2. yuyuyup

    yuyuyup GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,453
    Country:
    United States
    g'damn that looks legit or a hell of a fake
     
  3. Saturosias

    Saturosias thank
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    600
    Country:
    United States
    nukeboy95 and Inuuto like this.
  4. Inuuto

    OP Inuuto Enigmatic
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    United States
    I just want a soft mod for the 3DS. Nintendo is the master of having a great software library but they're lackluster at everything else. There's so much they can add to make 3DS better. I noticed that the firmware is 4.5. I wonder if it can work on 6.2.0.
     
  5. purechaos996

    purechaos996 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Country:
    United States
    We've know that there was an exploit on Firmware 4.5 for a LONG time now. That more or less how the Gateway works. Problem is they've patched it in every other newer firmware.
     
  6. Inuuto

    OP Inuuto Enigmatic
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    United States
    lol.
     
  7. mrtofu

    mrtofu GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,033
    Country:
    United States
    Version 4.5. Too bad I'm on 6+
     
  8. Inuuto

    OP Inuuto Enigmatic
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    United States
    What happened to Crown anyway?
     
    DragonSky and yuyuyup like this.
  9. HtheB

    HtheB GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    808
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This is pretty legit (since they are on V4.5), it uses the same exploit that Gateway 3DS uses.
    I'm sure softmod isn't far away anymore :)
     
  10. Saturosias

    Saturosias thank
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    600
    Country:
    United States
    It was always fake -- hence the random approximated percentage on their website. If someone truly knew what they were doing, they wouldn't give garbage numbers like "72%" as they'd have no clue how long the rest would take.
     
  11. PercentSevenC

    PercentSevenC Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    They're thanking GW for the way in, so 4.5 is required.
     
  12. Pong20302000

    Pong20302000 making notes on everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Country:
    the amount of custom code you can have is small hence most likely why they only shew text on the screen IIRC
    the gateway just uses what it can to boot the file and patch the 3DS RAM to allow what it does

    could be proven wrong tho
     
  13. yuyuyup

    yuyuyup GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,453
    Country:
    United States
    What about the rotating cube?
     
  14. justinkb

    justinkb GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    619
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I jizzed in my pants.
     
  15. weatMod

    weatMod GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,735
    Country:
    United States


    "Thanks to a certain 'group' and their provided public download it is possible to execute custom code (actually full access) on the 3ds even without first having software dumps. The cable at the back is for screen capture which gives a hint about how we could pull this off. No need to contact us concerning details - find them yourself. This is the result of about 2 weeks work done in a truely joint effort with plutooo."


    >it is possible to execute custom code (actually full access)
     
  16. Devin

    Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,942
    Country:
    United States
    And that the system settings says 4.5E. :lol:
     
  17. weatMod

    weatMod GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,735
    Country:
    United States
    but are they using a red GW card?
    what is that contraption on the back? just a cap card?
     
  18. DaRk_ViVi

    DaRk_ViVi Sending you back... to the future!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,084
    Country:
    Italy
    Well this is really good indeed, may lead to emulators, loaders etc!
    OFC only on 4.5, but who knows maybe someone should exploit this vulnerability to understand more of the system and find out more! :)
     
  19. Coto

    Coto -
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,655
    Country:
    Chile
  20. PercentSevenC

    PercentSevenC Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    What I meant was, that particular 3DS being on 4.5 doesn't necessarily mean the custom code execution requires 4.5, but if they're using the same "way in" as GW, then yes, it would require 4.5.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Execution, Custom,