1. TheSecurityGuy

    OP TheSecurityGuy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    It charges properly.
    Nothing happens when I press the power button.
    The only way I can get any screen activity is by pressing the power and select buttons, even still, all that does is turn the back light on. As soon as I let go of select it shuts down. (That's without the SD card) When the SD card is inserted, I still have to press and hold the Power and Select buttons in order to boot, but when I let go of the select button it stays on, and the blue LED, indicates that it's in sleep mode. The sleep mode switch has no affect.
    Its hacked with Luma3DS and Boot9Strap. (IDK what the versions of stuff are, probably from December of 2017)
     
  2. TheSecurityGuy

    OP TheSecurityGuy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    I'd appreciate any suggestions or advice.
     
  3. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,752
    Country:
    United States
    So holding down select doesn't bring up the luma config menu?
     
  4. TheSecurityGuy

    OP TheSecurityGuy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    No, all it does is allow the system to boot (I know it boots because it acts like its asleep)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I tried a different SD card with the appropriate files and it had no effect.
    Additionally, I can't find the NAND for this particular 2DS in any of my files.
     
  5. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,752
    Country:
    United States
    You have a boot.firm on your SD?
     
  6. TheSecurityGuy

    OP TheSecurityGuy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Where should it be?
    (I have it in sd/luma/)
     
  7. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,752
    Country:
    United States
    It need to be on the root of the SD.
     
  8. TheSecurityGuy

    OP TheSecurityGuy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I will try that now.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Where should I have the GodMode9.firm?
     
  9. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,752
    Country:
    United States
    rest of the payloads in .firm format goes into luma/payloads , since they load from luma chainloader loader, the boot.firm is Luma3ds.
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  10. TheSecurityGuy

    OP TheSecurityGuy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I moved the boot.firm to the root and nothing different happened. But I didn't have the rest of the .firms in the appropriate place so that's probably why on this particular SD card it didn't boot gm9 or the setup menu
     
  11. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,752
    Country:
    United States
    Size of the SD card?
     
  12. TheSecurityGuy

    OP TheSecurityGuy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Previously a 32GB. Now an 8GB.
     
  13. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,752
    Country:
    United States
    When you go into the system settings-> Data Management -> Nintendo 3DS -> software does it show the SD card?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases

    Replace your Boot.firm with the 9.1 one and see if it does anything.
     
  14. TheSecurityGuy

    OP TheSecurityGuy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    It had no effect.
    Additionally, I have no choice but to either boot straight to the OS or to the luma config menu, because I have to hold select and the power button in order to get any activity other than charging light.
     
  15. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,752
    Country:
    United States
    So can you boot to the luma config menu?
     
  16. TheSecurityGuy

    OP TheSecurityGuy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    No. But I'm saying that if I could do anything, that would be pretty much the only thing, pre-full launch.
     
  17. SonicMC

    SonicMC GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    Well I would see if you can get it to boot any other firms.

    boot9strap should try to boot any firm on root of sd card with the boot.firm
    so perhaps try downloading godmode9 firm and putting it on root and renaming it to boot.firm and see if that app will start.
     
  18. TheSecurityGuy

    OP TheSecurityGuy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try that now, thanks for the suggestion :)
     
  19. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,752
    Country:
    United States
    Did you ever run gateway on it?
     
  20. TheSecurityGuy

    OP TheSecurityGuy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    gateway? as in the flashcart? or is that another CFW?
     
    NoNAND likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - functioning, properly,