2 memory stick duo slot to equal 32gb tool?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by progaor06, May 14, 2009.

May 14, 2009
  1. progaor06
    OP

    Newcomer progaor06 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    they make photofast for sd cards but is there something like this for orginal memory stick duos so i dont have to swtich memory cards all the time?
     
  2. Tikker

    Member Tikker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Canada
    look for a cr-5400, cr-3100
     
  3. mcp2

    Member mcp2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK blud dun kno
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No because mem stick duos are too big to have 2 fit in one slot, at least I don't think they make these. Your only option is a photofast for MicroSD.

    An option is to sell your mem stick duos and buy 2 microsd cards, mem stick duos seem to go for more than microsd.
     
  4. houseonfire

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.hopebuy.com/0001/0403/71720002.shtml
     
  5. Kittymat

    Member Kittymat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But deal extreme sell the SD duo for less than $6 - why pay $18!
     
  6. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks to this thread, I just bought that CR-5400 along with 2-8GB MicroSD's. So now I'm going to have 16GB in one Memory Stick.

    The grand total of the CR-5400, and 2-8GB MicroSD's came to $43.57. Now isn't that WAYYYY cheaper than buying a regular Sony made 16GB?

    Thanks to the posters informing about the CR-5400. [​IMG]

    One question though...

    When I recieve all my items from DX, and other sources, I'm going to hack my PSP, (of course, dur), xD,

    So I was wondering, Can I hack the PSP with that CR-5400? Is it compatible with the Pandora?

    Another question...Some people say you have to format the Memory Stick before using it in the PSP. Do I format it through the PSP, or the computer? And why do you need to format?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hacking via the Photofast is a risky proposition due to speed irregularities...i wouldn't recommend it as a first choice because of this, but if you're prepared for a little risk...

    Also if your OFW is 5.03 or lower, update to 5.03 and then use the ChickHen to install CFW by launching Hellcats Recovery Flasher., no Pandora required.

    And yes format the complete Stick in the PSP.
     
  8. mcp2

    Member mcp2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK blud dun kno
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Firstly, I assume you have a flashable 1000 or 2000, correct?
     
  9. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, sorry. I have a PSP-1000. The current firmware on it is 3.30.

    And thanks much xist for that information. Sadly, I only have a 32mb Memory Stick. And I really wasn't planning on using that to hack with, as the size of it sucks. That's why I needed a bigger memory card, but after seeing this CR-5400, I thought, hell, I can get a 16GB for less than $50 if I go this route. So I guess my only option is to take a risk when using it with the Pandora. And all my MicroSD cards are Class 6. Isn't that pretty good when it comes to speed?

    I was planning on using the guide that was "stickied" on this forum. It seems pretty helpful. So it explains to me how to put FW 5.03, etc. and other things.

    As you can tell, I am VERY new to the PSP hacking scene. Because I just recently got a PSP after all I tried doing to get one. So I'm kind of learning this step by step, because I've been so into the DS scene, this is all new to me.
     
  10. sconethief

    Member sconethief GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    you MUST format the Memory card in the PSP and you MUST not take the microSD cards out. You may be able to format the card in a Produo USB adaptor. you need to format to get the psp to be able to use it.
     
  11. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks much SconeThief. I will do just that when I receive it. [​IMG]
     
  12. Dio

    Member Dio WRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Country:
    United States
  13. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Meh, kind of late now [​IMG]

    I already received my 2-8GB MicroSD Class 6 cards Friday.

    Just waiting for this CR-5400.

    Plus, a 4GB seems very low for the stuff I'm going to be putting on the MS. But thanks anyways [​IMG]
     
  14. Dio

    Member Dio WRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Country:
    United States
    Low?!? With 4 GB you can run ANY multi disc eboot XD Also, will anything over 4 GB run at the same speed? At the time the 8 GB came out I heard that it ran slower.
     
  15. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    I honestly have no clue.

    But I've read some reviews from people also doing the 2 8GB's with the CR-5400, and they say they get no lag what-so-ever during gameplay.

    They were using different brand memory cards of course, but what could be the difference. I'm using some PQI MicroSD's.
     
  16. sconethief

    Member sconethief GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    How many multi-disc eboots can you have.. [​IMG]
    Why would you want to use the computer to change games every once and a while xD
     
  17. Moose13

    Member Moose13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I have the 5400 with two 8GB SDs. Works great. No lag whatsoever. And I still wish I had more space...
     

Share This Page