1. Cruguero

    OP Cruguero Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Mexico
    has anyone tried it?
     
  2. Damon_girl

    Damon_girl GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    Wow...lol. I seriously doubt that it will work. I'm pretty sure Nintendo patched everything but then again a Wii U exploit believed to be patched in 5.5.1 wasn't so you can try.
     
  3. Coleman_C18

    Coleman_C18 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    Well memchunkhax2 worked on 10.4 EmuNAND. (but it has been pointed out that this is to be expected)
    Someone should try it with a 10.4 sysNAND though:
    https://ianburgwin.net/hax/memchunkhax2-a636c1b.zip
    running that memchunkhax2 debugger should give you the information you need.
     
    Last edited by Coleman_C18, Jan 19, 2016
    Caseyfam likes this.
  4. Caseyfam

    Caseyfam GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    United States
    It's not a stupid question considering it hasn't been confirmed as dead yet. We still need definitive proof.
     
    mungry likes this.
  5. ShadowMario3

    ShadowMario3 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    Came up with "Exploit returned: Failure" on my 10.4 old 3DS (never installed CFW on it).
     
    mungry likes this.
  6. Damon_girl

    Damon_girl GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    Then why did it work for that person on 10.4 emuNAND?
     
  7. Josephvb10

    Josephvb10 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Probably because of firmlaunch.
     
  8. Coleman_C18

    Coleman_C18 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    How many times did you try? It took a few attempts for me.
     
  9. ShadowMario3

    ShadowMario3 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    Used Cubic Ninja (through old Sky3DS) to boot it, and it took me one try to load it.
     
    Gonquai likes this.
  10. Coleman_C18

    Coleman_C18 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    No I mean how many tries did you give it to succeed? It failed on emunand a few times for me before I got a success.
    Give it a few more trys, if you keep getting the failed error than I'd call it confirmed dead.
     
  11. ShadowMario3

    ShadowMario3 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    Here's an image of what came up for me: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/20940460/WP_20160118_22_54_19_Rich_LI.jpg

    I'll try a few more times. Do I need to delete any files before retrying?
     
  12. Margen67

    Margen67 Dirty entited pirate
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,100
    Country:
    United States
    And thus the prophecy was fulfilled
    [​IMG]
     
    marc00077, ant888, Hero-Link and 25 others like this.
  13. Coleman_C18

    Coleman_C18 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    Same error I got the first time, your files should be fine just give it a few whirls (5 minimum). Memchunkhax2 was unstable.

    If it continually gives you that error than confirmed RIP
     
  14. Coleman_C18

    Coleman_C18 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    -lag double post-
     
  15. ShadowMario3

    ShadowMario3 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States


    Firmware at 0:08
    Memchunkhax2 check at 1:10
     
    LarBob and Coleman_C18 like this.
  16. Coleman_C18

    Coleman_C18 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    As I feared, thanks for the confirmation with the video though :)
    Above and beyond^_^
     
  17. cooroxd

    cooroxd Dirty Pirate
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,191
    Country:
    Canada
    memchunkhax2 is patched. RIP to whoever didn't downgrade but instead updated to 10.4
     
  18. Syphurith

    Syphurith Beginner
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Memchunkhax abused the exploit in ARM11 Kernel, to get specified service handle to deal with the downgrade.
    However, with firmlaunch the actual Kernel version might be what is included in firmlaunch but not the actual one for corresponding NAND.
    Thus it produce quite a difference if without firmlaunch. Yeah even now with Rei/Cakes you are actually booting a 10.2 FIRM.
    So sorry for those brave who didn't backup the NAND with hardmod before trying to do so with this risk, lol.
     
  19. perkel

    perkel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    Poland
    RIP or not.

    There are like bilions n3ds now to buy on pre 10.4 firmware.
    I assume that for next year and a half there won't be a problem getting hold of stuff below 10.4


    Also when NX will be released 3DS will get FW or system overhaul with it's new nintendo accound system. This will probably fix most of hax as they will probably follow Sony/MS way of delivering FW updates in games
     
    d4mation and TR_mahmutpek like this.
  20. ArielArashi

    ArielArashi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Yeah, but if you get a "softbrick" and have to use recovery to restore your sysNAND, it will get updated to 10.4, not 10.3
     
    Tomy Sakazaki likes this.
  21. Nessy

    Nessy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    So, U cant downgrade on 10.4 to 9.2?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - downgrade,