ROM Hack [Release] Sm4shCommand

Yudowat

That one guy that shows up occasionally
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
552
Trophies
0
XP
341
Country
Australia
;-; I'm not quite sure what's gone wrong here. Every other fighter compiles file, but not Jigglypuff
Code:
> FITC v0.77 - Smash 4 Fighter Compiler platform.
> Licensed under the MIT License
> Copyright(c) 2016 Sammi Husky

>       Compiling ACMD.. -> "output\purin"

Unhandled Exception: System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Length cannot be less than zero.
Parameter name: length
   at System.String.Substring(Int32 startIndex, Int32 length)
   at SALT.Scripting.AnimCMD.ACMDCompiler.CompileSingleCommand(String line)
   at SALT.Scripting.AnimCMD.ACMDCompiler.CompileCommands(String[] lines)
   at SALT.Scripting.AnimCMD.ACMDCompiler.Compile(String input)
   at SALT.Scripting.AnimCMD.ACMDCompiler.CompileFile(String filepath)
   at FitCompiler.Program.compile_acmd(String mlist, String output)
   at FitCompiler.Program.Main(String[] args)
 

Sammi Husky

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
312
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
498
Country
United States
;-; I'm not quite sure what's gone wrong here. Every other fighter compiles file, but not Jigglypuff
Code:
> FITC v0.77 - Smash 4 Fighter Compiler platform.
> Licensed under the MIT License
> Copyright(c) 2016 Sammi Husky

>       Compiling ACMD.. -> "output\purin"

Unhandled Exception: System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Length cannot be less than zero.
Parameter name: length
   at System.String.Substring(Int32 startIndex, Int32 length)
   at SALT.Scripting.AnimCMD.ACMDCompiler.CompileSingleCommand(String line)
   at SALT.Scripting.AnimCMD.ACMDCompiler.CompileCommands(String[] lines)
   at SALT.Scripting.AnimCMD.ACMDCompiler.Compile(String input)
   at SALT.Scripting.AnimCMD.ACMDCompiler.CompileFile(String filepath)
   at FitCompiler.Program.compile_acmd(String mlist, String output)
   at FitCompiler.Program.Main(String[] args)

Might be a broken command, i'll have to look into it :/ thanks for lettimg me know
 

Yudowat

That one guy that shows up occasionally
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
552
Trophies
0
XP
341
Country
Australia
Hey again, I've randomly got an issue with compilation. The files from my dump work 100% fine when loading them with SaltySD, but if I decompile then then recompile them with FITC and FITD then they crash my game when trying to load. I can send you files if necessary to look into the issue.
 

Yudowat

That one guy that shows up occasionally
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
552
Trophies
0
XP
341
Country
Australia
Decompiled every fighter recently, and a few had issues.
Bayonetta, Game and Watch, and Palutena all said there was an issue while decompiling, but still outputted some files. I'm unsure if they're safe to edit and compile again.
Dedede had errors too, but nothing was outputted at all. Directories were created for the files, however.
 

Yudowat

That one guy that shows up occasionally
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
552
Trophies
0
XP
341
Country
Australia
I feel bad for spamming, I'm sorry @Sammi Husky

Anyway, I have Marth's base ACMD files, I decompiled them and then recompiled them. The files I ended up with and the files I started with are similar, but every 4 bytes starting from 0x0000004 (in game.bin at least, haven't check other files) are reversed until the end of the file. The first 4 bytes are just ACMD, and they're not reversed into DMCA.
For example, this is before decompilation and recompilation:
Code:
ACMD ABCD EFGH IJKL
This is after:
Code:
ACMD DCBA HGFE LKJI

This is really hindering progress on a mod currently, and it would be great if you could tell me anything about my situation. Sorry again for spamming the thread.

Edit: All 5 outputted files are affected by this. effect.bin, expression.bin, game.bin, sound.bin, and even motion.mtable.
 
Last edited by Yudowat,
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted User

Sammi Husky

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
312
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
498
Country
United States
I feel bad for spamming, I'm sorry @Sammi Husky

Anyway, I have Marth's base ACMD files, I decompiled them and then recompiled them. The files I ended up with and the files I started with are similar, but every 4 bytes starting from 0x0000004 (in game.bin at least, haven't check other files) are reversed until the end of the file. The first 4 bytes are just ACMD, and they're not reversed into DMCA.
For example, this is before decompilation and recompilation:
Code:
ACMD ABCD EFGH IJKL
This is after:
Code:
ACMD DCBA HGFE LKJI

This is really hindering progress on a mod currently, and it would be great if you could tell me anything about my situation. Sorry again for spamming the thread.

Edit: All 5 outputted files are affected by this. effect.bin, expression.bin, game.bin, sound.bin, and even motion.mtable.

That's because it's outputting at big endian (WIIU) by default. If you want to change the endianness then FITC has an option for it (the -be or -le switches)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Yudowat

Yudowat

That one guy that shows up occasionally
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
552
Trophies
0
XP
341
Country
Australia
That's because it's outputting at big endian (WIIU) by default. If you want to change the endianness then FITC has an option for it (the -be or -le switches)
Ah okay, I assumed it outputted the same format as it inputted. Thinking about it now, there's nothing to tell the program which format was inputted, so thanks for the clarification.
 

GudPiggeh

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 23, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
78
Country
United States
Where is the thing that used to be "events.cfg" in FITX?

I know you're working on MSC, but I would appreciate an animcmd editor that 1. isn't buggy as hell, so you can actually edit consistently and without having to start over and 2. one that gives at least minimal tools, i.e. not "just use a text editor lol"
 

Sammi Husky

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
312
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
498
Country
United States
Where is the thing that used to be "events.cfg" in FITX?

I know you're working on MSC, but I would appreciate an animcmd editor that 1. isn't buggy as hell, so you can actually edit consistently and without having to start over and 2. one that gives at least minimal tools, i.e. not "just use a text editor lol"

What is wrong with using a text editor? That is the minimal tooling. It literally is the only tool you need. You're working with fighter programming, it should resemble and behave like programming. Me doing anything else just complicates things.

The reason that SM4SHCommand was buggy was because it was trying to do all the editing itself which is ridiculous.

For your original question, FITX is an initial release and isnt done. it doesnt use events.cfg, everything is internal
 

gryz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
407
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
297
Country
United States
Hey Sammi, how's MSC going? Good? I found some If-related stuff, so I just want to know if custom subactions and commands/inputs would be possible. Things like a command to allow a wall-jump cancel pr jump cancel or anything cancel could be coded in MSC and then a custom command in ACMD to look for that action in MSC would be possible, right?
 

gryz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
407
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
297
Country
United States
Hm. It seems the new versions don't have a library. The beta does, but for some reason it was removed... @Sammi Husky That would be a really helpful add-on, but there's no need to re-add it if you don't feel like it.
 

GudPiggeh

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 23, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
78
Country
United States
S
Hm. It seems the new versions don't have a library. The beta does, but for some reason it was removed... @Sammi Husky That would be a really helpful add-on, but there's no need to re-add it if you don't feel like it.
Seems pretty necessary to me, seeing as I am going to do more than just copy and paste hitboxes. Can't do much at all without the function names.
Also should need a way to edit the library to get rid of the unknowns, like the previous events.cfg. This is what I meant by tools.
 

gryz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
407
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
297
Country
United States
You can parse the animations yourself if you want. You can also just use the commands from other moves too y'know. Just experiment to learn the code. It's actually really fun to mess with. You can use GFX, sound effects, and other cool stuff!
 

GudPiggeh

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 23, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
78
Country
United States
You can parse the animations yourself if you want. You can also just use the commands from other moves too y'know. Just experiment to learn the code. It's actually really fun to mess with. You can use GFX, sound effects, and other cool stuff!
What do you mean parse them yourself? How would I do that? (Unless you mean just editing the 0xXXXXXXXX.acm title)
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    as to you
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    How do you know if the night will be good when you're asleep
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    because i didn't say i was asleep
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i said i was sleeping...
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    sleeping with uremum
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Even my mum slept on that uremum
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    yall im torn... ive been hacking away at tales of phantasia GBA (the USA version) and have so many documents of reverse engineering i've done
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I just found out that the EU version is better in literally every way, better sound quality, better lighting, and there's even a patch someone made to make the text look nicer
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    Do I restart now using what i've learned on the EU version since it's a better overall experience? or do I continue with the US version since that is what ive been using, and if someone decides to play my hack, it would most likely be that version?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    @TwoSpikedHands, I'll preface this with the fact that I know nothing about the game, but, I think it depends on what your goals are. Are you trying to make a definitive version of the game? You may want to refocus your efforts on the EU version then. Or, are you trying to make a better US version? In which case, the only way to make a better US version is to keep on plugging away at that one ;)
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I'm not familiar with the technicalities of the differences between the two versions, but I'm wondering if at least some of those differences are things that you could port over to the US version in your patch without having to include copyrighted assets from the EU version
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    @Sicklyboy I am wanting to fully change the game and bend it to my will lol. I would like to eventually have the ability to add more characters, enemies, even have a completely different story if i wanted. I already have the ability to change the tilemaps in the US version, so I can basically make my own map and warp to it in game - so I'm pretty far into it!
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I really would like to make a hack that I would enjoy playing, and maybe other people would too. swapping to the EU version would also mean my US friends could not legally play it
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I am definitely considering porting over some of the EU features without using the actual ROM itself, tbh that would probably be the best way to go about it... but i'm sad that the voice acting is so.... not good on the US version. May not be a way around that though
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I appreciate the insight!
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @TwoSpikedHands just switch, all the knowledge you learned still applies and most of the code and assets should be the same anyway
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and realistically they wouldn't

    be able to play it legally anyway since they need a ROM and they probably don't have the means to dump it themselves
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    why the shit does the shitbox randomly insert newlines in my messages
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It does that when I edit a post.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It inserts a newline in a random spot.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    never had that i don't think
  • Karma177 @ Karma177:
    do y'all think having an sd card that has a write speed of 700kb/s is a bad idea?
    trying to restore emunand rn but it's taking ages... (also when I finished the first time hekate decided to delete all my fucking files :wacko:)
    Karma177 @ Karma177: do y'all think having an sd card that has a write speed of 700kb/s is a bad idea? trying to...