Confirmed Nintendo Switch is using stock Nvidia Tegra X1, no modifications.

Discussion in 'Switch - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by heartgold, Mar 16, 2017.

  1. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    23,376
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    2.5" HDD's peak at around 2-4W, they don't take much power to run at all, and most SSD's eat through about 1W. You're forgetting that initially iPods used 1.8" HDD's since flash storage was unavailable or prohibitively expensive at high capacities and those devices had killer battery life. I don't get where the HDD power drain myth comes from, but modern drives barely drain batteries.
     


  2. YourHero

    Member YourHero GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    971
    Country:
    United States
    So I've thought about this, and I feel as though this Tegra X1 is custom and I will explain why.

    My best example would be a custom PCB graphics card. Technical specs are identical to a non custom card, however the PCB is shaped differently, the VRM are different, etc. The chip on the Switch can easily be a standard Tegra X1, but the PCB around it can be custom. I'm trying to understand why these tear down videos don't realize this is allowed. Since this Tegra X1 is not the shape or standard layout of a Tegra X1 it is technically custom.

    PCB is part of the tegra, and the switch has a custom built one.

    [​IMG]

    The switch Tegra X1 does not look like this, and thus it is custom fit and modified for the switch needs. It is customized for the nand the switch uses, the screen, the wireless, etc.
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  3. GerbilSoft

    Member GerbilSoft GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,671
    Country:
    United States
    I said that if you think Nintendo's console is "overpriced" or "underpowered" or whatnot, then you have a simple solution: Don't buy it.

    That's a reference board. Custom PCB manufacturing is a fairly straightforward procedure, and you can use off-the-shelf parts on a custom PCB without any problems. For example, my ThinkPad X230 has a customized logic board, but its CPU is an off-the-shelf Core i5-3210M. (soldered to the board since it's an X series)

    What the OP is referring to is the X1 SoC itself, not the supporting hardware or the PCB.
     
    Last edited by GerbilSoft, Mar 20, 2017
  4. DespyCL

    Member DespyCL GBAtemp's Official Axolotl

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,777
    Location:
    under your couch
    Country:
    Chile
    Yah, of course if you move a single piece or part it becomes custom, that's exactly how original characters work :u
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  5. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    23,376
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    The PCB is *not* a part of the SoC, that's a preposterous suggestion anyways. The "custom" part here is the clock speed, that's it, at least until someone finds differences on the silicon.
     
    DrkBeam, Xabring and Coto like this.
  6. s157

    Member s157 Grinder Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    Country:
    United States
    It's a stretch to consider it "custom" even then, but that's why Nvidia and Nintendo can get away with their announcements. It's not a lie, but the truth is not what we expect. That kind of marketing or information giving, along with the fact that they didn't bother correcting anyone who assumed it'd run at 1TFLOPS at FP32 is pretty shady. But yes, they weren't lying if you really want to go into word specifics.
     
  7. wolfmankurd

    Newcomer wolfmankurd Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What do you mean? Isn't that the point of big.LITTLE? It's a power saving feature, you aren't supposed to run the at the same time in any setup.

    If you aren't gaming the it should switch to A53, dynamically switching to A57 when needed.
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  8. YourHero

    Member YourHero GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    971
    Country:
    United States
    I agree it is, and in my example most GPU designers such as MSI, Gigabyte, and ASUS increase the card clock by a minimum of 10mhz on their "custom" cards. But from what I have gathered, this is what they mean by custom. I am not saying it's right, but it's just standard marketing from what I have seen over the last 20 years of PC hardware.
     
  9. DespyCL

    Member DespyCL GBAtemp's Official Axolotl

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,777
    Location:
    under your couch
    Country:
    Chile
    i just took the opprtunity to poke fun out of those sonic ocs, but oh well no one figured it out :cry:
     
  10. Mr. Wizard

    Member Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    10th Dimension
    Country:
    Canada
  11. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    23,376
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Oh, I was getting at @YourHero's post more than anything, but yeah, OC's are top kek. ;)

    Rich keeps perpetuating the 1TFLOP value which is misleading. The X1 only reaches 1TFLOP at 1GHz, and it's at 16-bit precision - the processor only scores 512GFLOPS at FP32, and even less at Nintendo's clock speeds.
     
    DrkBeam likes this.
  12. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    19,509
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't it be better to use SDD, which has no moving parts, as opposed to HDD, which does? It would be more stable.
     
  13. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    23,376
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I wasn't questioning that, I was questioning the idea that HDD's are power hogs - they're not. A small M.2 SSD would be the way to go for a mobile device nowadays, I don't know why companies insist on embedded memory. Even a half-size mSATA would be great, and those things are tiny.
     
  14. TheCyberQuake

    Member TheCyberQuake Certified Geek

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Country:
    United States
    Have you seen the prices for ssd and m.2? Along with that in the near future we are getting price hikes on this devices, though I can't remember why.
    So those are not cost effective enough to be put into a console without increasing price.
    And yes you could put an hdd in, but it's not a great idea. The original iPod you mentioned is an example of why. Basically every one you can find now needs it's internal hdd replaced. The spinning disks suffer damage when moved while in use, so typically you want to not use them in mobile devices. It's the main reason device makers moved to flash based memory, even though they have less storage space.
    If it were cost effective I'm sure companies would put m.2 drives in their devices
    Edit: Also consoles embed everything to probably reduce hacking as well. Using proprietary stuff makes it harder.
     
    Last edited by TheCyberQuake, Mar 20, 2017
  15. Mr. Wizard

    Member Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    10th Dimension
    Country:
    Canada
    Ya they should have thrown this in there...
    [​IMG]
     
  16. Yil

    Member Yil GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,894
    Country:
    Canada
    Why waste your time on modular units when you can put them on the board?
     
  17. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    23,376
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I have. Have you?

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00K...ds=m.2+ssd&dpPl=1&dpID=41-uwWXnXOL&ref=plSrch

    128GB from a name brand costs $60, and Nintendo can get them cheaper since they're buying it in bulk - millions of units kind of bulk. They're paying for FLASH memory *already*, it's on the board, the difference would be adding it on an interface instead, that's not that much more expensive. I also wasn't suggesting that they should've used HDD's, I was saying that HDD's are not power hogs, read the actual post.
    There's billions of reasons. It simplifies manufacturing in case you have multiple SKU's with different capacity drives but the same motherboard (Wii U) - it's easier to have one line spitting out mobos and a dude plopping in appropriate sticks than to run two separate lines. They offer expandability for the customer - there's a reason why SD's exist and why people shit on the iPhone for not having an SD port. They simplify repairs in case of memory failure - take one out, put new one in, test, refurbishing complete. In an embedded scenario you have to recycle the whole board. I could go on forever.
     
  18. Mr. Wizard

    Member Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    10th Dimension
    Country:
    Canada
    I question why they didn't go with UFS flash, must be some reason. Maybe the rest of the bus can't handle it so it would be a waste?
     
  19. wolfmankurd

    Newcomer wolfmankurd Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  20. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    23,376
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    We can at least agree that 32GB is pathetic, can't we? I know the Switch has an SD port, but SD's are slower than SSD's or embedded memory *and* they have a capacity cap at this point in time. I don't know why this is a controversial point.
    I showed you a complete product with shipping and packaging for an individual customer and said very clearly that in bulk it would be significantly cheaper, what point are you trying to make? In bulk it would be entirely competitive, the difference between embedded memory and memory on a stick is a piece of PCB and a couple of SMD components.
     

Share This Page