Zelda OoT subscreen delay on wii64

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by .batman, Jul 23, 2010.

Jul 23, 2010
  1. .batman
    OP

    Newcomer .batman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hey!

    I am using wii64 to emulate Zelda - Ocarina of time, it works great except the subscreen menu in the game has a 4-5 seconds delay, and it is very annoying. At first I didn't bother trying to fix it, and then I got to the water temple (in which I need to enter the subscreen frequently). Another problem is that the picture of link on the subscreen menu is all messed up.

    I managed to fix the bug with the picture by using the "FB textures" setting. However, the delay (the real problem), is still there.

    I googled a lot and all I could find was a fix for project 64 that uses a gameshark code ( http://www.emutalk.net/showthread.php?t=13878 ).
    Wii64 does not have gameshark, and even if it did I'm not sure the gameshark code would work on other emulators than project64.

    The reason why I'm using an emulator instead of a VC is because I wanted to use an old savefile which I had after playing the game a while using project64. (I converted the project64-savefile for wii64 using Wii64SaveSwap in case anyone wonders: http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Wii64SaveSwap)

    Any help would be appreciated [​IMG]
     
  2. qwertymodo

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    United States
    You can convert the save file to VC as well. If it really bugs you that bad, drop me a PM and I'll help you convert your save. VC doesn't have that problem.
     
  3. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
  4. .batman
    OP

    Newcomer .batman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Sweden
    Isn't that the opposite way? I need to convert to VC, not from VC.
     
  5. qwertymodo

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    United States
    I have already discussed this in PM, but I'll post here for anyone who wants to do the same. As far as I know, this should work for most VC/emulators, but there are a couple of steps that may be necessary for certain emulators or even certain games, so you may have to play around a bit. First off, you need to have created saves for both the VC and the emulator, regardless of if you're going from emu->VC or vice versa. Next, grab Savegame Manager GX. Extract the VC save to your SD card. Now you need to figure out what folder your save is in (if you only have 1 save this is easy). The default folder for saves is sd:\savegames. The easiest way to figure out which folder is the right one is to open the banner.bin in each folder in a hex editor. Besides the banner.bin file, there should be 1 other file with no extension. This is the save file. For a lot of emulators, you can just swap out the file for another.

    However, there are a couple of optional steps which may be required for some game/emulators.

    1. You may have to byteswap the save file. This is true for Project64VC (unless it's an .eep save), but not for Wii64VC. Use Wii64 Save Swap. The easiest way to tell is to open your two save files in a hex editor and see if you can find any apparent plaintext, such as the game name. If one of the saves has the text scrambled and the other doesn't, you need to byteswap. If both are the same, you don't need to (ex: Zelda vs. daZel).

    2. You may have to pad/unpad the save file. This means adding data to the end of the save file or removing that data, in order to make the save a specific size. If you are copying a save TO VC, you ADD padding, if you are copying a save FROM VC, you REMOVE it. I haven't played around with this much, but Zelda OoT/MQ/MM the padding byte is AA and you have to pad it to a 32kb boundary (actually, the padding may be less, but I had a blank save that only contained 10 bytes and it was padded to 32kb). Depending on the game/system, the padding byte or boundary may be different. Try creating a blank, new save on both systems and compare them. If you have a bunch of repeating bytes at the end of the VC save (other than 00), that will give you a clue as to what the padding byte and the boundary are.


    P.S. To anyone who's ever done this before using FE100, it's exactly the same, except you can skip a step by using Savegame Manager GX instead of extracting the data.bin with FE100. Savegame Manager GX extracts to the same files as FE100 (except that it doesn't extract the banner into separate files), so it's really handy. No need for the keygrabber or anything, it's all done on the Wii itself.
     
  6. .batman
    OP

    Newcomer .batman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Sweden
    I can confirm that this method worked [​IMG] thanks again!
     
  7. qwertymodo

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    United States
    It was a lot easier using Savegame Manager GX than when I had to do this for Majora's Mask with FE100. I had pretty much given up on MM ever coming out for VC so I started playing it on Project64, then of course once I'm 3/4 of the way through they FINALLY released it... I was pretty stoked when it actually worked [​IMG] But yeah, it's really nice not having to get ahold of all of your keys for FE100. Cheers.
     
  8. .batman
    OP

    Newcomer .batman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Sweden
    haha I feel ya. cheers ;D
     
  9. qwertymodo

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    United States
    I was actually working on porting segher's tachtig/twintig to windows in order to make a one-step save injector (I know FE100 is already a windows port of those tools but I looked through all of the code and couldn't find anything even resembling the original source, so I started over... stupid VS GUI builder code obfuscation...), but now I don't have to, and since it's done on the Wii itself you don't even have to get a key dump, so I guess I can let that little project die (all said and done this is way nicer) [​IMG]
     
  10. bwillb

    Member bwillb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    I'm curious, what is it thats causing the subscreen delay? I'm getting the same thing in Wii64 of course, but also in Project64 and 1964 on windows when using anything other than the default project64 video plugin... yet the game itself runs pretty smooth, just a 5+ second delay on opening the start screen every time.
     
  11. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    Most likely, it's because of inaccurate emulation. No emulators (and especially not N64 ones) are perfect at reproducing all real hardware tricks.

    What the cheat does is patching the routine that render the sub-menu to reduce the delay used by the game between animation frames. This is a hack actually as the menus are just fine on a real N64 with the default value.
     
  12. DunkrWunkah

    Member DunkrWunkah GBAtemp's Official Dunkr

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Country:
    United States
    What innacurate emu would cause a bug like that? Just curious >.
     

Share This Page