Wood R4 wont even install :(

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Spiderjames, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. Spiderjames
    OP

    Spiderjames Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Sep 17, 2010
    United States
    Ive been going crazy this morning. I formatted my SD card and everything, hearing great things about Wood R4, I extracted the two folders (DSMENU, RPG) and put them on my SD card. I then put my usual games and media etc on it.

    When I boot it up it shows a blue screen in the top screen, and on the bottom it has an SD card, gba cartridge, and folder, none of these do anything. I heard you have to press start or something to install in interface, and when I press start, it just freezes. What am I doing wrong? I usually have good luck with these things but not today I suppose [​IMG]
     


  2. Depravo

    Depravo KALSARIKÄNNIT

    Global Moderator
    GBAtemp Patron
    Depravo is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    5,235
    3,474
    Oct 13, 2008
    Purgatory
    Is it a fake R4?
     
  3. RoMee

    RoMee ??

    Member
    2,316
    61
    Sep 3, 2010
    United States
    ??
    it's probably a clone..
     
  4. CrimzonEyed

    CrimzonEyed GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,494
    313
    Sep 3, 2007
    make sure you have any skins in your skin folder
     
  5. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolfdog™ I drool on my knife

    Member
    19,728
    20,457
    Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Between insane and insecure
    It's most likely a clone/fake R4, what does it say on the card?
    If it has i, Gold, III, ect, then it's not a real R4 (or R4 1.1 from shoptemp)
     
  6. Spiderjames
    OP

    Spiderjames Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Sep 17, 2010
    United States
    Im confident its legit. The front just says R4 Revolution for DS (NDSL, NDS)
     
  7. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolfdog™ I drool on my knife

    Member
    19,728
    20,457
    Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Between insane and insecure
    Nothing other than that? Where did you buy if from?
     
  8. Spiderjames
    OP

    Spiderjames Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Sep 17, 2010
    United States
    Make sure I do or dont? In the ui folder it has the stock black and zelda, I dont know where skins are put.
     
  9. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolfdog™ I drool on my knife

    Member
    19,728
    20,457
    Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Between insane and insecure
    The Ui folder is where you put the skins
     
  10. Spiderjames
    OP

    Spiderjames Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Sep 17, 2010
    United States
    Dont remember where actually, quite a few years ago. Im pretty sure its real, I compared it to pics of fake ones and it didnt look like them. And I was running Ysmenu for quite some time with no problems.
     
  11. Costello

    Costello Headmaster

    Administrator
    12,393
    5,640
    Oct 24, 2002
    tell us exactly which one you bought, from which website, the exact model.

    Wood R4 works with only 1 very specific R4 (the original one) not with the SDHC, Red, 1.4, Gold, or ANY other version.
     
  12. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolfdog™ I drool on my knife

    Member
    19,728
    20,457
    Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Between insane and insecure
    Well it also works on the 1.1 from shoptemp

    And some look really real, post a picture of it if you can
     
  13. Spiderjames
    OP

    Spiderjames Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Sep 17, 2010
    United States
    I dont remember where I bought it from because it was so long ago. Every picture I looked at comparing real ones from fakes though show that I have a real one. thick SD card outline on the back, evenly spaced ovals, no missing ovals, and the cover isnt all black.

    If it is fake, what do I have to do to run?
     
  14. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolfdog™ I drool on my knife

    Member
    19,728
    20,457
    Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Between insane and insecure
    You can't run R4 Wood on fake/clone cards (other than 1.1 from shoptemp) But you should be able to use WAIO
    and run the roms though YSmenu
     
  15. Spiderjames
    OP

    Spiderjames Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Sep 17, 2010
    United States
    Ok. I have been running Ysmenu for over a year, I just wanted to change because it wouldnt run Pokemon White. I dont know if thats a touchy subject here but I heard R4 wood ran it. Thank you for your help so far, Ill post pics in a sec.
    http://img836.imageshack.us/i/011lt.jpg/
    http://img683.imageshack.us/i/012bd.jpg/



    OK well I guess jpgs arent supported on this site, but the pics should still show up.
     
  16. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolfdog™ I drool on my knife

    Member
    19,728
    20,457
    Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Between insane and insecure
    R4 Wood runs it, but you can't gain EXP nor enter the Pokemon Centre.
     
  17. Spiderjames
    OP

    Spiderjames Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Sep 17, 2010
    United States
    Ok thanks.

    I put pics on my last post if someone can confirm if it's fake.
     
  18. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolfdog™ I drool on my knife

    Member
    19,728
    20,457
    Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Between insane and insecure
    It does not work regardless, you still can't gain EXP nor enter the Pokemon Centre.
    And it looks like 1.1 from shoptemp, but if it doesn't work with R4 Wood like 1.1 from shoptemp, then it's fake.
     
  19. twiztidsinz

    twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Member
    4,981
    6
    Dec 23, 2008
    United States
    Site 'supports' jpeg images just fine, you have to wrap them in [ img] [ /img] tags, and use the direct links:
    http://img836.imageshack.us/img836/1548/011lt.jpg
    http://img683.imageshack.us/img683/1774/012bd.jpg




    Also, clean your room.
     
  20. Xenon++

    Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Member
    1,394
    2
    Dec 17, 2009