Wood R4 question

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Nick2009, Aug 22, 2010.

Aug 22, 2010

Wood R4 question by Nick2009 at 4:51 PM (1,904 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Nick2009
    OP

    Newcomer Nick2009 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi..

    apologies if this question has been posted before....I did do a search but could not find anything relevant although I may not have been using the correct search term.

    Anyway, I have an original R4DS card which I have just installed WoodR4 v1.12 on (previously used YSMenu v1.17a12 but had problems with a couple of games). My 4 year old boy is fast becoming the main user of the DS but as yet is unable to read. So, to avoid him accidentally deleting games, I would like to be able to boot the DS automatically into the microSD folder where the games are stored and then he can choose a game based on its icon in the list. Is this possible with WoodR4?

    Thanks for any help [​IMG]
     
  2. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Add
    Code:
    enterLastDirWhenBoot=0
    to globalsettings.ini. When you start wood, it's default directory will then be the last directory used.

    if that doesn't work, try

    Code:
    enterLastDirWhenBoot=false
    If you don't want him to delete games, just give them all the read only attribute. Otherwise get him an Acekard 2i, it has an option to lock the start menu.
     
  3. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    I would use DScovered with Wood. I did this with my lad. If it autoboots DScovered then there is no way to delete games or do anything else and if he is like my boy he will prefer to choose games via the cover rather than the icon and text.
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Do you know if the skin 'bug' would work for WoodR4, where you set the start menu to something invalid (like the start menu is off screen or 0 x 0 px)?
     
  5. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried it, and it doesn't work. While you can't see the start menu, as far as wood is concerned it's still displaying it and press un/down etc navigates the non-visible start menu. So it just makes it worse, also tried deleting the start menu background and it doesn't work either.
     
  6. Nick2009
    OP

    Newcomer Nick2009 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow...really impressed with DScovered. Looks outstanding so thanks for that.

    Is it possible to use cheats with the games though? It's not a huge issue so can live without them.

    Thanks again to both of you for the help [​IMG]
     
  7. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    To use cheats you just choose the Kernal.nds (for exampe: akmenu.nds) when running dscovery.exe. If you also have dscovered.nds on the SD card then you can flick to the firmware set the cheats and options you want and then select dscovered from the kernal to go back to the coverflow. The only problem with this is it then gives junior access to the kernal and all of the settings we were trying to mask in the first place.

    Cheers [​IMG]
     
  8. pjmorie

    Member pjmorie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Ireland
  9. Nick2009
    OP

    Newcomer Nick2009 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks [​IMG]
     

Share This Page