Wirless Internet Security

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Gohobojoe, Jul 31, 2010.

Jul 31, 2010

Wirless Internet Security by Gohobojoe at 10:01 PM (2,638 Views / 0 Likes) 28 replies

  1. Gohobojoe
    OP

    Member Gohobojoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Looking over the bills and stuff shows that there's been somebody else using my Internet.

    Other then changing the password every few days or so and using wireless MAC filtering, is there any other way to beef up security?
     


  2. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    Using WPA or better(WPA2?) would help, as WEP can be cracked pretty easily.
     
  3. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    WPA2 is almost uncrackable if someone (well if it's not a easy to guess password)
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WPA2 actually has been cracked already by a certain research team. Of course the method will never become official, so people have to keep guessing. Takes around 20-50 seconds though.

    Some routers offer additional security options other than the standard WiFi encryption, such as Whitelisting (MAC address filtering - only registered devices can access it), Push-connction (you have to push a button on the device to enable new devices to connect - only once though), disabled broadcasting (I forget the specific term for it - telling it not to respond to broad spectrum "pings" trying to find the router's name, IP and security status, so only devices already preconfigured with the router can even find out it's there - also a good method to prevent "sniffing") or just sticking to wired solutions (which I assume you don't want, hence the thread).
     
  5. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Protip:
    Call your wireless something really weird, like, "ILUVFURRIES".
    And then, make a connection with it, like you normally do.
    And then imideatly make the SID, or the SIDD, or the SSID, or w/e it's called, invisible.

    And then if some of your friends want to connect, tell them to connect to "ILUVFURRIES".

    Because, I don't think that "hacker" will be able to guess your SSID, or something, AND your password.
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    they usually never guess
    they use brute force attack programs
     
  7. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yea but that's gay.
     
  8. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    on my router i use Mac filtering myself, it's easy to only add my own mac and my ds mac adress and tada! only those 2 devices can access [​IMG]
     
  9. Gohobojoe
    OP

    Member Gohobojoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Currently, I'm using WPA2 with a Linksys WRT160N Wireless-N broadband router.

    Interestingly enough, MAC filtering to allow only the ones I register didn't work. Either that or I did some crazy downloading.
    Push Connection? I need to check if the router can do it.
     
  10. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes and its verry hard to create a brute force program for invisible SSID'S
     
  11. Gohobojoe
    OP

    Member Gohobojoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    So, using an invisible SSID and MAC filtering should keep them out?
     
  12. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    MAC Addresses can easily be spoofed. I wouldn't rely on just that for security. Go with WPA2-AES. Impossible to crack.
     
  13. ByteMunch

    Member ByteMunch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Find out who it is that is using your internets, and introduce their computer to a nice, hard baseball bat.
    Also, do what the others said, invisible SSIDs are useful [​IMG]

    *Just did a wireless search, and found the SSID "f**k off my router" .
    That could work too.
     
  14. Gohobojoe
    OP

    Member Gohobojoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm tempted to change the SSID to that now...
     
  15. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Other than Mac filtering and WPA-2 AES, I would recommend just blocking the devices that access your router specifically. My router (A Belkin) lets me see the device history, and lets me block certain devices that have used it to access the internet. That's really all I can think of. [​IMG]


    (I also think you can track the Mac address of other devices and block those? I don't know...)


    Also, don't broadcast your SSID. That really just begs for trouble.
     
  16. m3ian

    Newcomer m3ian Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Use WPA2 wireless security and don't broadcast your SSID. Your router might also have a guest account on it which has a different password than the routers administrator networks password.
     
  17. Gohobojoe
    OP

    Member Gohobojoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Nah, there's only the admin account for the router. I should change it.


    Wi-Fi Protected Setup, is that the push-connection thing spoken of earlier?
     
  18. Gohobojoe
    OP

    Member Gohobojoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, it's been setup with WPA2, wireless MAC filtering, and a non-broadcasting SSID.

    Okay, Windows 7 has the option to use other networks, but XP doesn't. How do i connect to a non-broadcasting SSID using XP?
     
  19. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    For WPA2 make sure you are using a sufficient key length and don't make it something easy to guess like dictionary based. I'd recommend this site for generating a random 63 character length key. Here

    It isn't worth hiding your SSID and it isn't an extra layer of security. A person scanning for wireless networks can easily pick up on a wireless network, hidden or not.
     
  20. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Limit your DHCP server to only assign IP's to all your devices at home

    reserve them to all your devices at home (get them to connect so you can see their mac address) once you've done so just limit to the DHCPs server

    for example : for me that is, i have it set to 192.168.0.100 - 192.168.0.1005 ... 5 IP's that are reserved for just my 5 things ..., crackers can still crack the key, yet they wont be aassigned an IP and thus connect to your network.

    now just make sure to set a custom user/pass for the router (as in dnt leave it to the defaults)

    Only way i have gotten rid of this nuisance; only down side is that every time you want to connect something new your going to have to edit your DHCP settings.

    This is a real pissy thing to deal with, especially for me as in the last thing i need is some dickhead to waste my only 3GB download and 3GB upload quota for the whole month.

    you can go to the extreme and only let the wireless broadcast only in your home, some engineer can deal with this by installing some material in your household, kind of costly though.

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb726942.aspx

    here [​IMG]
     

Share This Page