Will the ds2 still work on the 3ds?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Insane_Cat, Oct 1, 2010.

Oct 1, 2010
  1. Insane_Cat
    OP

    Newcomer Insane_Cat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    The 3ds is said to have new anti-piracy features. Do you guys think that these features will be able to block the ds2 from working on the 3ds? Or could the supercard team find a workaround and get to work?
     
  2. gamerjr

    Member gamerjr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt it
     
  3. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it will!!

    but maybe not

    more like NO

    I wish it was, but you'll never know
     
  4. ConJ

    Member ConJ The Toker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    918
    Location:
    Glastonbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm guessing we won't know this till it comes out.

    But it won't surprise me if they are blocked.
     
  5. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    Now the whole Supercard Section is bursting with these topics. Why can't people understand that none of us know the answer to this question? We won't know if the DSTWO will work on the 3DS until it's released...obviously...

    Sigh.
     
  6. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Personally I think that the DS2 will still work - but ONLY in 'DS mode' (just like it does at the moment)
    The 3DS must have a 'backward compatibility' mode - so I guess all flashcards will still work, especially those compatible with DSi's

    If it does get 'blocked' I'm sure a workaround would be found eventually & a fix would be released
     
  7. tuddy666

    Member tuddy666 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    somewhere in the UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll just use my crystal ball and predict the future...

    Seriously, though, I don't have a clue. I wouldn't be surprised if it just didn't work outright, or only worked in DS-mode with a firmware update. In fact, the latter's the most likely situation. Even if the 3DS gets hacked at any point in the DSTwo's update lifespan (most likely the next 18 months or so, judging by the average shelf life of Supercard products), the Supercard team most likely won't add 3DS support to the DSTwo. DSi mode support, maybe, but it's a big maybe.
     
  8. Bluelaserman

    Member Bluelaserman I shoot BLUE LASERS MAN!!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    The Land down under.
    Country:
    Australia
    DSThree = 3DS Compatible [​IMG]
     
  9. darkness_shadow

    Newcomer darkness_shadow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    France
  10. Juanmatron

    Member Juanmatron Slater Color

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Location:
    SEGA's World
    Country:
    Spain
    This idiot can´t read the part of the flashcard´s package where it says "Compatible with DS/DSi".
     
  11. haddad

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    As of now, nintendo is taking into account that flashcards do exist. And also on the opposite side, Team SC is also trying to find as many ways as possible to make their flashcards work with the 3DS if they can. The anti-piracy features will be hard to get through, but this does not mean that there will not be a flashcard supported for the 3DS. And any flashcard team cannot make flashcard compatible cards unless they see the 3DS itself and try to make it according to the 3DS specs.

    That is what i think btw 0_o
     
  12. Gh0sti

    Member Gh0sti iOS Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,302
    Location:
    Inside you, all around you
    Country:
    United States
    ok let me go into the future of 4 months buy the system and see if it will load the DS2, and i will tell you if it works or not

    this is an insane question, we will all find out once the system is out

    with the rumor of the 3DS having automatic firmware updates this could be the hardest system to hack with also games possibly having firmware updates to make the system update in order to play the game the game cartridges themselves have enough room for force firmware updates

    in order to make even a flash cart work for this system they will have to create a hack that disables auto updates, and when dumping rom files they will have to remove the code about needing a frimware update, if homebrew channel can be added hopefully hackers will be able to create a custom firmware update that wont remove homebrew channel so that backups can be played
     
  13. EJames2100

    Member EJames2100 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Most other cards out there I'd say they won't be able too.
    I think the SC2 has a good chance of working, not right out of the box though, probably an update if possible.
     
  14. Mesiskope

    Banned Mesiskope Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    Union Hotel
    Country:
    United States
  15. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You can wait for the 3DS to come out to get your final answer. Otherwise it will be a general NO.
     
  16. pichon64

    Member pichon64 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Here's my 100 dollars bill (smashing the table). Supercard DSTwo will work since day one on the 3DS. Where's yours?
     
  17. Chaosruler

    Member Chaosruler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Tekoa
    Country:
    Israel
    Since it's backward..... but they can change the boot sequence like they did with the DSi to require another hardware revision.....
    I think it will, but it will play DS games only (and GBA, as it's emulated ON THE CARTRIDGE), DS mode ofc
     

Share This Page