Hardware WiiU Pro controller to PC -- buy Mayflash or use WiinUPro?

Hanafuda

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I want to finally give one of our Wii U Pro controllers something to do, and use it on Retroarch with this PC I just put together a couple weeks ago. PC's mobo has built-in wifi and bluetooth (ASRock z270 Killer sli/ac), so I should be able to accomplish this for *free* using WiiNUPro. But I dug around for tutorials on YT and found that there was no consistency in the 'how-to.' On the other hand, the Mayflash adapter is $17 or something.

Experiences? Advice?

GerbilSoft

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I have no experience with WiiNUPro specifically (or Wii U Pro controllers on Windows in general), but on Linux, Wii U Pro controllers work out of the box, assuming you have Linux 3.10 and BlueZ 5.11 (or later versions).

Since you already have Bluetooth, I'd recommend trying out WiiNUPro first to see how well it works before considering buying the Mayflash adapter.

Last edited by GerbilSoft,
Reactions: Hanafuda

Hanafuda

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Since you already have Bluetooth, I'd recommend trying out WiiNUPro first to see how well it works before considering buying the Mayflash adapter.

Thanks, I thought the same thing, so I went ahead and gave it a shot. Works great. As far as my PC is concerned, I have an XB360 controller plugged in.

I'm pretty close to dumping Retroarch though and going back to discrete emus. What a PITA that thing is.

Edit: