wiisx failed to load iso?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Exkorath, Jun 30, 2011.

Jun 30, 2011

wiisx failed to load iso? by Exkorath at 3:20 AM (5,330 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Exkorath
    OP

    Newcomer Exkorath Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    The Batcave
    Country:
    United States
    ok, i got everything correct. i got the bios in the bios folder, a good .cue file, i got my setting right. so whats up?
     
  2. matguitarist

    Member matguitarist GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    you have to put boot .cue and .bin with the same name in the isos folder

    what message did you get?
     
  3. mrpinkeye

    Member mrpinkeye GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    are .cue files needed or just .bin?
     
  4. Exkorath
    OP

    Newcomer Exkorath Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    The Batcave
    Country:
    United States
    i thought u only had to have a .cue or a .bin not both.
     
  5. mrpinkeye

    Member mrpinkeye GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im using jus a .bin file now...
     
  6. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,455
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    only needed the .cue ?
    Do you really thing your game is few Kb ? not 650MB?

    The game is the ".bin" file, not the other one.

    The .Cue file is a dump/burn data file, it can be used if the iso has multiple tracks (like tombraider dumped track by track with data+cda instead of Disc at once iso).
    I don't remember if Wiisx use it to load multitrack bin files, but just keep them in the same folder, it won't harm to have more files.
     
  7. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    [​IMG]

    But...but...he has a GOOD .cue file. Surely that means the game will play. The other part is just of that "data" stuff, right?


    *goes and tries to play a movie by making VLC read the subtitle file*


    Ahem...in all seriousness. Assuming the OP meant the bin file (or "the large part"), there are still other things to consider.

    First of all: not all games work. Check this list for your game.

    Second: recheck the settings (or the remarks by the game in the above wiki). Some only work on dynarek, others only on interpreter. There is no "one setting plays all" setting, so try some settings. I could point you to matguitar or wiisixtyfour's modifications, but to my knowledge, those only increase speed a bit...it won't make things load that otherwise wouldn't load.
     
  8. Exkorath
    OP

    Newcomer Exkorath Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    The Batcave
    Country:
    United States
    hey im new at this so shut up, also yes i got the .bin files even though it was kind of a pain to find them all.
     
  9. Comrade Cough

    Newcomer Comrade Cough Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Fu Manchu's Secret Evil Lair
    Country:
    United States
    Hey hey, just some good natured hazing, most everyone when they start emulation is at a loss to what the frell is going on with file types, just be glad you found a bin/cue and not a mdf/mds, or nrg/???, ccd/sub/img in which case, converting might be in order.

    wbfs through me for a loop until I figured out it's just compressing and removing sectors.

    In case you do run in to other image file types, the actual image is the largest one (most of the time), and whatever extras are normally tracks, or which order to read/write them.

    Also: Anyone remember trying to get SegaCD images to work? Talk about hit or miss, ISO/MP3 is what I see in my nightmares.
     

Share This Page