Wii won't turn on with SD card inserted

ToothyNom

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
117
Country
Ireland
Hey guys, yesterday I modded one of my old Wii's and to my surprise, it had the option to install BootMii as boot2. Everything worked fine for about a day. Today I downloaded some emulators off the wiibrew page, loaded them onto my SD card, and hit the power button.... Nothing, black screen. Tried again and the black screen came up again. Oh damn, I bricked my Wii I thought. Deleted the two emulators and back with the SD card, same result. I could enter Priloader and from there I pressed the system menu option and everything worked fine it just wouldn't boot normally. Before I tried to reinstall the NAND I removed the SD card, hit power button and boom it came on instantly. Hmmm, back with the SD and it's stuck on the black screen. Boots without SD card, doesn't boot with it. Does that mean my SD card is bad? Was working for a day. Not sure how to deal with this. Any help is appreciated

EDIT: When I was trying to setup the clios i accidentally wrote beta53, 56 to 249 but then i went back and rewrote it to beta52, could that be it?
 
  • Like
Reactions: SaulFabre

SaulFabre

I like Yoshis and the Wii/Wii U scene.
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
3,270
Trophies
2
Age
25
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
8,215
Country
Ecuador
Hey guys, yesterday I modded one of my old Wii's and to my surprise, it had the option to install BootMii as boot2. Everything worked fine for about a day. Today I downloaded some emulators off the wiibrew page, loaded them onto my SD card, and hit the power button.... Nothing, black screen. Tried again and the black screen came up again. Oh damn, I bricked my Wii I thought. Deleted the two emulators and back with the SD card, same result. I could enter Priloader and from there I pressed the system menu option and everything worked fine it just wouldn't boot normally. Before I tried to reinstall the NAND I removed the SD card, hit power button and boom it came on instantly. Hmmm, back with the SD and it's stuck on the black screen. Boots without SD card, doesn't boot with it. Does that mean my SD card is bad? Was working for a day. Not sure how to deal with this. Any help is appreciated

EDIT: When I was trying to setup the clios i accidentally wrote beta53, 56 to 249 but then i went back and rewrote it to beta52, could that be it?
Knowing that the Wii boots without SD card but not with the SD card inserted, could you try putting these files of BootMii in the root of your SD card and see if the Wii can boot BootMii from SD card?

Here http://static.hackmii.com/bootmii_sd_files.zip
(link brought by @XFlak)

EDIT: Here's a little info about Wii boot sequence (thanks to @GreyWolf):
Here's how the Wii boots and where BootMii fits in:
boot0 -> boot1 -> boot2
If BootMii is installed as boot2 it runs before the real boot2. It doesn't have a user interface. All it does is check and see if there is an ELF in SD:/bootmii. If there is it loads it and passes off execution to it. If there is no file it continues running boot2 which then sets up the region and displays the health and safety screen. Then it loads the IOS for the system menu and runs it.

Hope this helps ;)
 

SaulFabre

I like Yoshis and the Wii/Wii U scene.
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
3,270
Trophies
2
Age
25
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
8,215
Country
Ecuador
Knowing that the Wii boots without SD card but not with the SD card inserted, could you try putting these files of BootMii in the root of your SD card and see if the Wii can boot BootMii from SD card?

Here http://static.hackmii.com/bootmii_sd_files.zip
(link brought by @XFlak)

EDIT: Here's a little info about Wii boot sequence (thanks to @GreyWolf):
Here's how the Wii boots and where BootMii fits in:
boot0 -> boot1 -> boot2
If BootMii is installed as boot2 it runs before the real boot2. It doesn't have a user interface. All it does is check and see if there is an ELF in SD:/bootmii. If there is it loads it and passes off execution to it. If there is no file it continues running boot2 which then sets up the region and displays the health and safety screen. Then it loads the IOS for the system menu and runs it.

Hope this helps ;)
last message edited
 
  • Like
Reactions: ToothyNom

ToothyNom

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
117
Country
Ireland
last message edited
Hey, I already have a folder on my SD card called bootmii under SD:/bootmii and inside it has the same 2 files you sent + bootmii.ini. Only see a blank screen, How would I launch BootMii? Should I try with the files you sent or should the files I have be enough?
 
  • Like
Reactions: SaulFabre

SaulFabre

I like Yoshis and the Wii/Wii U scene.
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
3,270
Trophies
2
Age
25
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
8,215
Country
Ecuador
Hey, I already have a folder on my SD card called bootmii under SD:/bootmii and inside it has the same 2 files you sent + bootmii.ini. Only see a blank screen, How would I launch BootMii? Should I try with the files you sent or should the files I have be enough?
try with the files i've sent first.
But first, backup them from your SD card (save them in another place on you computer) before putting the files i'm mentioning.
 

ToothyNom

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
117
Country
Ireland
try with the files i've sent first.
But first, backup them from your SD card (save them in another place on you computer) before putting the files i'm mentioning.
Okay backed up my files, placed the bootmii folder you sent to SD:/ so that I have SD:/bootmii and when I turn it on nothing happens, black screen. Pull the SD card out and it comes on. Is there a sequence of buttons I need to hold to enter BootMii? Like Power+Reset to enter Priloader? I think it's worth mentioning it's a cheap 128gb micro SD card with conversion to standard SD
 
  • Like
Reactions: SaulFabre

SaulFabre

I like Yoshis and the Wii/Wii U scene.
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
3,270
Trophies
2
Age
25
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
8,215
Country
Ecuador
Okay backed up my files, placed the bootmii folder you sent to SD:/ so that I have SD:/bootmii and when I turn it on nothing happens, black screen. Pull the SD card out and it comes on. Is there a sequence of buttons I need to hold to enter BootMii? Like Power+Reset to enter Priloader?
i don't know very much about BootMii, sorry.
A question: can you access HBC (Homebrew Channel) from Priiloader?
And could you post a sysCheck?
For try to help further in here, maybe my friends @XFlak and @jeannotte could help you.
 

ToothyNom

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
117
Country
Ireland
i don't know very much about BootMii, sorry.
A question: can you access HBC (Homebrew Channel) from Priiloader?
And could you post a sysCheck?
For try to help further in here, maybe my friends @XFlak and @jeannotte could help you.
With the SD card inserted I can hold down (Power + Reset) and preloader turns on, from there i can hit System menu and the usual Wii menu opens up. If i hit homebrew from Priloader Homebrew channel opens with all my apps. I can open WiiFlow etc, even quit back to the System menu. It's just that when the SD card is inserted I'll try to power it on, green light comes on and black screen. Where do I find sysCheck? Thanks for all the help
 
  • Like
Reactions: SaulFabre

SaulFabre

I like Yoshis and the Wii/Wii U scene.
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
3,270
Trophies
2
Age
25
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
8,215
Country
Ecuador
With the SD card inserted I can hold down (Power + Reset) and preloader turns on, from there i can hit System menu and the usual Wii menu opens up. If i hit homebrew from Priloader Homebrew channel opens with all my apps. I can open WiiFlow etc, even quit back to the System menu. It's just that when the SD card is inserted I'll try to power it on, green light comes on and black screen. Where do I find sysCheck? Thanks for all the help
You can follow this guide for generate a sysCheck of your Wii, here: https://wii.guide/syscheck.html

Then the results of your sysCheck (open the sysCheck.csv of the root of your SD card in WordPad, then copy all the text content) put it here in a new message.

A more detailed guide for posting sysCheck made by @JoostinOnline can be found here: https://gbatemp.net/threads/posting-a-system-check.300279/
 

ToothyNom

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
117
Country
Ireland
You can follow this guide for generate a sysCheck of your Wii, here: https://wii.guide/syscheck.html

Then the results of your sysCheck (open the sysCheck.csv of the root of your SD card in WordPad, then copy all the text content) put it here in a new message.

A more detailed guide for posting sysCheck made by @JoostinOnline can be found here: https://gbatemp.net/threads/posting-a-system-check.300279/
SysCheck HDE v2.4.0 HacksDen Edition by JoostinOnlineDouble_AR2-D2199and Nano
...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).
Region: PAL
System Menu 4.3E (v514)
Priiloader installed
Drive date: 05.26.2006
Homebrew Channel 1.1.2 running on IOS58
Hollywood v0x11
Console ID: 69108100
Console Type: Wii
Shop Channel Country: Ireland (82)
Boot2 v4
Found 82 titles.
Found 45 IOS on this console. 14 of them are stubs.
IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
IOS30 (rev 2816): Stub
IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
IOS40 (rev 3072): Stub
IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
IOS50 (rev 5120): Stub
IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
IOS52 (rev 5888): Stub
IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
IOS60 (rev 6400): Stub
IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS70 (rev 6912): Stub
IOS80 (rev 6944): No Patches
IOS222 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS223 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS249[56] (rev 65535Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha BugNAND AccessUSB 2.0
IOS250[57] (rev 65535Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha BugNAND AccessUSB 2.0
IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
BC v6
MIOS v10
Report generated on 12/15/2021.
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,963
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
10,082
Country
Cyprus
I have a strong hunch this is a video mode issue, if you edit bootmii.ini manually you can set it to a video mode that's compatible with your TV.

There's a homebrew app to help you edit this as well
https://wiibrew.org/wiki/BootMii_Configuration_Editor

There are PC tools to help with this too, heck I think even ModMii has a mini side feature that does this as well

Here's an example of what a bootmii.ini file looks like, you want to change the VIDEO= part

Code:
# BootMii config file

# Video mode, possible settings:
# NTSC, PAL50, PAL60, PROGRESSIVE
VIDEO=PAL50

# Autoboot, possible settings:
# SYSMENU, HBC
#AUTOBOOT=SYSMENU

# Autoboot delay, in seconds:
# Default is 5
#BOOTDELAY=5
 

ToothyNom

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
117
Country
Ireland
I have a strong hunch this is a video mode issue, if you edit bootmii.ini manually you can set it to a video mode that's compatible with your TV.

There's a homebrew app to help you edit this as well
https://wiibrew.org/wiki/BootMii_Configuration_Editor

There are PC tools to help with this too, heck I think even ModMii has a mini side feature that does this as well

Here's an example of what a bootmii.ini file looks like, you want to change the VIDEO= part

Code:
# BootMii config file

# Video mode, possible settings:
# NTSC, PAL50, PAL60, PROGRESSIVE
VIDEO=PAL50

# Autoboot, possible settings:
# SYSMENU, HBC
#AUTOBOOT=SYSMENU

# Autoboot delay, in seconds:
# Default is 5
#BOOTDELAY=5
Now, this is super weird. I cycled through all the video modes with no result. Tried both the BootMii files I downloaded and the files I had and nothing. Deleted all the apps from the SD:/app folder, plugged it back in and it came on instantly, tried it again - came on, tried it again - nothing, stuck at the black screen again. I Unplugged it from the power plugged it back in and it's back to where I started, stuck on black screen. It seems to turn on to the menu every so often (every 5 tries maybe) when the SD card is inserted. I'll check for any kind of corrosion inside the SD card slot. Without SD card it comes on every time, instantly. It seems to do something as the "No signal" on my tv disappears when the SD card is inserted but nothing happens
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,963
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
10,082
Country
Cyprus
You haven't tried messing around with sneek right? It too uses a bootmii folder with the files named the same way, but they are different files which could cause blackscreen (usually only for the first time booting a fresh emunand). I don't think this is the case, since you clearly said u downloaded the bootmii sd files and used those, but thought I'd mention it anyway (this was my initial thought when I read your post but ruled it out based on what you said you tried)
 
Last edited by XFlak,

ToothyNom

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
117
Country
Ireland
You haven't tried messing around with sneek right? It too uses a bootmii folder with the files named the same way, but they are different files which could cause blackscreen (usually only for the first time booting a fresh emunand). I don't think this is the case, since you clearly said u downloaded the bootmii sd files and used those, but thought I'd mention it anyway (this was my initial thought when I read your post but ruled it out based on what your said you tried)
I don't even know what sneek stands for. There's this tutorial on youtube I usually follow when modding my Wii. Followed it to the dot, the one mistake I made was to write base53, 56 to 249 but then overwrote it with base52. Booted fine, played a game for like 15mins, and went to bed. Woke up, took the sd card and added 2 emulators and it wouldn't boot. Removed, wouldn't boot and that's where I sit now. Starting to think it could be an SD fault. Got it for 13e off amazon, 128gb micro with an enclosure convertor to standard SD. Never formatted it as it came formatted to FAT32.
 

CoolMe

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
7,741
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
36,481
Country
United States
Any MacOS h2testw equivalent? :)
I have no idea, maybe others here can help if there's one.
Never formatted it as it came formatted to FAT32.
You should re-format it. And the sdcard adapter in the unlocked position, right?
If you have a spare one try with it, you can never know..
 
Last edited by CoolMe,

ToothyNom

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
117
Country
Ireland
Okay a little update, I found a program called F3 for Linux and Mac. It fills up the entire drive with data and then checks if the data is unmodified. It took a while to write 128GB with 17MB transfer speed :D. Verifying the data now and everything after the first 20GB is 100% corrupted. Soooo it's most likely the corrupted SD card if anyone finds this post in the future. Maybe the Wii checks for corrupt SD cards and won't boot if one is inserted?

EDIT: All the files after 28GB mark are 100% corrupted
I have no idea, maybe others here can help if there's one.

You should re-format it. And the sdcard adapter in the unlocked position, right?
If you have a spare one try with it, you can never know..
 
Last edited by ToothyNom,

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,963
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
10,082
Country
Cyprus
You mentioned it was a large sd card for cheap? I've heard of this kind of scam before where actual storage space is much smaller than advertised

Reduced Capacity: Another very common issue, where the card will report large capacity to your computer, camera or storage device, when in reality it contains only a very small part of the overall capacity. For example, a 512 GB SD card might show up as 512 GB on your computer, but in reality contain only 16 GB of storage cells. This happens because the microchip (a tiny part of the memory card that is responsible for reporting the total amount of storage available) within the memory card has been reprogrammed to report a different size to the host. Such memory cards are extremely dangerous, because you might never be able to tell that they are fakes until you start filling them up. In this particular case, the first 16 GB of storage might work just fine, but anything past that is going to produce data errors. Counterfeit memory cards with reduced capacities should be avoided the most, because they will most certainly result in data loss.
https://photographylife.com/fake-memory-cards

Edit: sorry to be the bearer of bad news. But on the bright side, if this is the issue it means there's probably nothing wrong with your wii. See if you can get your hands on another sd card and test it out to see if it resolves your issue.
 
Last edited by XFlak,

ToothyNom

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 10, 2021
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
117
Country
Ireland
You mentioned it was a large sd card for cheap? I've heard of this kind of scam before where actual storage space is much smaller than advertised


https://photographylife.com/fake-memory-cards

Edit: sorry to be the bearer of bad news. But on the bright side, if this is the issue it means there's probably nothing wrong with your wii. See. If you can get your hands on another sd card and test it out to see if it resolves your issue.
Yeah I've heard of that scam before. There's no need to be sorry I bought it on amazon haha. They refund absolutely everything. Just happy it's not my system. Will refund it and buy a new proper one. Can't even trust amazon's choice nowadays
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: @Psionic Roshambo, She's the entire bakery. +1