1. Trylk248

    OP Trylk248 Honest helper and custom content creator.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Canada
    Hiyo ! I was wondering if we could use an SSD in the Wii U instead of its basic hard drive so it could greatly reduce load times? Also I believe that the console should be able to have better power supply. The hardware itself seem to not be the problem.

    Its the clocking! Way too low for what it needs to run correctly while downloading!

    Share your thoughs! :)
     
    Last edited by Trylk248, Feb 6, 2017
  2. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    *Druaga1 rule: If it works, stick SSD into it*
    Currently? No. You would need to install Wii U's stock OS on it which is currently impossible. [Hell, we are still trying with Hardmod so maybe in future]
    Overclocking? Yeah, i want to see my Wii U in flames. To even do that, we need to control CPU/GPU governor which is also currently impossible. [If that's what you meant]

    I think it might be soon possible. Maybe in another two years or so.
     
    Slashㅤ and sup3rgh0st like this.
  3. x65943

    x65943 the end is nigh, buy doge coin
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,944
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, why isn't this possible? You should be able to just format the ssd using the wiiu itself. Right?

    OP means an external hdd (I assume).
     
    Last edited by x65943, Feb 1, 2017
  4. RemixDeluxe

    RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4,583
    Country:
    United States
    Do people that ask for overclocking understand what it means or what benefits it's suppose to bring?

    Throwing technical terms around doesn't make you sound smarter.
     
    x65943 likes this.
  5. Futurdreamz

    Futurdreamz GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,224
    Country:
    Canada
    I think you guys should at least peek at a teardown guide. There is NO hard drive in the Wii U (basic common sense would have you noticing there is no panel to access one.

    The Wii U has 8GB or 32GB (those numbers should've also clued you in) of FLASH memory (same tech as the SSD), which is not designed to be replaced 9and therefore the console can't automatically reflash the OS if you swap it form wiped chips - even if you could swap it without destroying things.
     
    Trylk248 and DarthDub like this.
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Well, I think this person was talking about the wii us "clocking" in terms of the power supply, which is super fucking stupid, or something to do with the "cpu clock speed" on the wii u being "too low for it to run correctly".

    Either way it's wrong but gold star for effort.
     
  7. Trylk248

    OP Trylk248 Honest helper and custom content creator.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, let me explain. Haha! The reason why I said that was because, whenever I put something to download on the Wii U, applications take much longer to load than when there are no active downloads. That's why! And this can cause issues.
     
  8. Futurdreamz

    Futurdreamz GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,224
    Country:
    Canada
    That doesn't happen with a decent external.
     
  9. Trylk248

    OP Trylk248 Honest helper and custom content creator.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Canada
  10. Trylk248

    OP Trylk248 Honest helper and custom content creator.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello again guys! I was wondering if anyone already used an SSD as external HDD for the Wii U. If yes, what are the specific steps to get the SSD to work and not get underpowered? I plan ob buyibg SSD and use it as external storage device for my Wii U
     
  11. x65943

    x65943 the end is nigh, buy doge coin
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,944
    Country:
    United States
    This guy did https://www.pretzellogix.net/2015/0...e-nintendo-wii-u-is-a-120gb-ssd-in-enclosure/

    He has a whole article about it. Use a y cable obviously.
     
    Trylk248 likes this.
  12. Kurausukun

    Kurausukun GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    It's pretty much exactly the same as using an external HDD.
     
    Trylk248 and x65943 like this.
  13. Trylk248

    OP Trylk248 Honest helper and custom content creator.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Canada
Draft saved Draft deleted