Wii System Update

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by AJgooner23, Dec 27, 2009.

Dec 27, 2009

Wii System Update by AJgooner23 at 9:26 AM (1,607 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

1. AJgooner23
    OP

Newcomer AJgooner23 Newbie

United Kingdom
    Hi Im new to all this so please be gentle, i got my wii modded (if thats the correct term) and i use neo gamma to boot up but downloaded games, i also have the homebrew channel.
    I got brought the Wii Sports resort game for xmas but its asking me to do a wii system update?? But im unsure if i do this if im gunna brick my wii, any help would be much appreciated as im looking forward to playing this game.
    Thank you in advance

2. kolobos

Newcomer kolobos Member

United Kingdom
    What firmware version are you running? / What version of NeoGamma are you using?

Click on the wii icon bottom left of screen and select Wii Settings - The firmware is displayed in the top right corner ie. 3.2E

You may need to use one of the guides to safely update to v4 and another guide to get it running but it will work as a friend of mine purchased it. I feel sure he had it running without v4 though and the update might just be for the motion controllers? Its been a while since i spoke with him though.

3. AJgooner23
    OP

United Kingdom
    I am running firmware Version 3.4E, and Neogamma R7.
    Thanks for your help.

4. kolobos

Newcomer kolobos Member

United Kingdom
    Wii sports resort updates to firmware version 3.4 and blocks WAD installs (this can be re-instated with Trucha bug restorer i believe)

You may find the update is safe and only blocks WAD installs as you are already on v3.4

firstly make sure you have homebrew installed. If the update removes it you'll have to go down the bannerbomb route to re-install it.

5. AJgooner23
    OP

United Kingdom
    Ok thanks kolobos i will try the update if it takes off homebrew then i will need your assisstance to go down the bannerbomb route hope you dont mind.

6. bazamuffin