Wii Save States

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by kjaved373, Jul 2, 2009.

Jul 2, 2009

Wii Save States by kjaved373 at 11:11 PM (3,916 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. kjaved373
    OP

    Newcomer kjaved373 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    I know nearly every emulator has savestates, but is there anything where you can use savestates on the wii?

    i think that savestates are one of the required things for all systems

    thanks in advance
     
  2. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    There is no save/load states on Wii and Nintendo GameCube.
     
  3. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i know of no system which has built in save states, only on the emulators. and the psp has a plugin to allow it and ds can do it on some flash cards, but thats it.
     
  4. saulin

    Member saulin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    And some NDS Flash Carts have RTS. I don't think this is something easy to do and it would requiere something to be running in the background all the time. Unless it's done on an emulator I highly doubt it could ever be accomplished on the real hardware. Maybe USB Gecko could add save states, it would take forever to save/load though. Not worth it.
     
  5. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,479
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    Why do you need it ? If you do that then its cheat and you are not going to be SKILL player. Try play without use the savestates. [​IMG]

    The savestates are for kids.. It is not necessarily for you to use it unless you are lazy. [​IMG]
     
  6. Linuks

    Member Linuks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    It is possible to make codes with savestates.
     
  7. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    You have to run something in the background to do savestates. For wii games, it would require quite a bit of work and the savestates would be quite large... At least 64mb uncompressed (all the data stored in the ram and video ram).

    It's not impossible... but it'd take quite a bit of work and would probably be quite a pain for little reward.
     
  8. kjaved373
    OP

    Newcomer kjaved373 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    i was asking bc i just saw the plugin for the psp and it made wonder if any other systems use it.
     
  9. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,569
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    I actually don't see it that way completly...

    A savestate at the right time will cut down cutscenes that you would otherwise have to watch infinitely.
    (Just one example: Boost guardian on MP2, I currently am desparing on this b+tchy opponent, and having to watch the cutscene, roll that path again and again doesn't make it easier at all.... 4 energy tanks just don't seem to cut it)

    Back when I was younger I had time the whole day long. nowadays I like savestates for saving me hours and days of useless repetition.
    (Before anyone screams "CHEATER": I only use them rarely and most systems I play on don't support savestates anyways).
     
  10. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thread was over 3 years old. No real need to bump it for that.
     
  11. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,569
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    oh, right, seems you are right about the date, howver it is still better than opening a new thread right ?
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The PSP can do it because plugins can run overtop of the system (not globally, they're reloaded when switching between VSH/GAME/POPS it seems), the Wii can't run any shared code though.
    http://hackmii.com/2009/02/why-the-wii-will-never-get-any-better/

    As for flash carts, they're additional hardware and storage, and the DS only has 4MB of RAM so a state isn't that big.
     
  13. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,479
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ummm. it was in 2009 anyway until I just realized about savestate. You do not need to answer the 2009 outdate at all. Just Ignored my old message in 2009, alright ? :)

    Right now, I liked savestate alot.
     

Share This Page