Wii key+wii Clip problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by phoisgood495, Sep 11, 2008.

Sep 11, 2008

Wii key+wii Clip problem by phoisgood495 at 3:28 AM (1,183 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. phoisgood495
    OP

    Newcomer phoisgood495 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I just purchased a wiikey presoldered onto a Wii clip from Modchipcentral.com, so I after installing it I started up the wii, and put in the 1.3 config disc (The GCOS iso), and... nothing. The wii doesn't recognize it as a gamecube game it just brings up the Disc could not be read error. Real games work fine, but backups and the config disc both do not work.
    I am nearly a hundred percent sure the chip is installed correctly, because I helped my friend mod his wii as well, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. OzModChips

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    the pins on the IC arent cut are they?
     
  3. phoisgood495
    OP

    Newcomer phoisgood495 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah the pins are uncut
     
  4. fiveighteen

    Member fiveighteen High Hopes and Low Expectations

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Country:
    United States
    Did you run the update disc?
     
  5. ole jason

    Member ole jason GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    You don't need the update disc. modchipcentral chips come with 1.9b. It should be good to go.

    Are you using verbatim -R media?

    The exact same thing happened to me last week. They eventually gave me an RMA number to send it back. Make sure you try everything before asking for a return and take some up close pictures of your install to send. They were cool about it once I had tried all of their suggestions.
     
  6. ModchipCentral

    Member ModchipCentral GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, what brand discs are you using?
     
  7. phoisgood495
    OP

    Newcomer phoisgood495 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using Sony Dvd-r 1-16x discs, but I also tried some games I know were working in my friends wii, and same thing happened nada. I'll take some pics of the install, but I also want to know the chances that this is my fault, because shipping to and from canada takes forever!

    Edit: My friends discs include verbatims, memorex, and playo dvds.
     
  8. ole jason

    Member ole jason GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Assuming your install looks good and you're using games that have been verified to work on another wii I'm not sure what else it could be other than an issue with the wiikey or clip.
     

Share This Page