Wii just stoped working.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Gekidami, Nov 15, 2009.

Nov 15, 2009

Wii just stoped working. by Gekidami at 9:28 AM (2,366 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. Gekidami
    OP

    Newcomer Gekidami Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    France
    Hey all, i hope someone can help me with this problem i'm having.

    So i have a softmodded Wii and it worked perfectly intill yesterday; You see i havnt used the Wii in ages and yetserday i finally went back to it and found that my wiimotes couldnt syn with the system. In the end i managed to find a NGC pad and i could move around the menus with that.

    So from the boot-up preloader and select 'systemmenu' but now all i get is a blackscreen! I can also access the Homebrew Channel from the preloader but trying to launch a game from there (by neogamma) also results in a black screen.

    No idea what i can do or why this suddenly happened without the console being used, so i could really do with some help.

    On a sidenote pre-loader is telling me that theres an update to 0.3 but when i select update it dosnt really seem to have much effect.
     


  2. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    did you recently install any .wad files? (or way back when you last used your wii)

    Could be a banner brick.

    but also could be a corrupt system menu. what system menu were you on?
     
  3. Gekidami
    OP

    Newcomer Gekidami Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    France
    Honnestly i cant remember what system menu i was on, it was just to long ago. You see i didnt use the thing for over a year, then softmodded it (without doing any updates), it worked, then i didnt use it for about a month or 2 and it just 'broke' when i turned it on yesterday.

    As for the .wad files, again my memory is abit hazy i do still have the SD card will all of the ones i have on it though if that helps:

    [​IMG]

    I'm pretty sure all of these were installed at one point.
     
  4. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    HBC.wad? wtf?
    thats not right...

    tell me, from preloader, can you boot into the homebrew channel?
     
  5. Gekidami
    OP

    Newcomer Gekidami Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    France
    I can indeed.
     
  6. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    hmm, what is BUL3g.wad?

    a custom channel i assume?
     
  7. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Couldn't he run anytitledeleterMOD to check for things that don't belong on his Wii ?
    DON'T DELETE ANYTHING YET let us look at it first !
     
  8. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada

    yep, that will work. I just didn't want to suggest it because dispite warnings, people tend to delete random stuff without knowing what they are.
     
  9. Gekidami
    OP

    Newcomer Gekidami Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    France
    BUL3g.wad was in the file pack i downloaded at the time, i was told to install it along with IOS36.wad, BUL3g.wad & HBC.wad just after telling wad manger to use IOS249.

    As to what it actually is i cant say.

    And i havnt actually deleted anything yet or really touched anything since the problem.
     
  10. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    who ever helped you didn't know what they were doing. anyway, use anytitledeleterMOD (google it) to check what you have installed.

    do not delete ANYTHING. just list them here.
     
  11. Gekidami
    OP

    Newcomer Gekidami Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    France
    Will do. I'll get it then get back with the list.
     
  12. stevee

    Newcomer stevee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    BackupLoader Gamma 3
     
  13. Gekidami
    OP

    Newcomer Gekidami Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    France
    Well i've got anytitledeleterMOD and loaded it up in the homebrew channel but i cant do anything on the screen where i'm being asked to pick an IOS and press A to continue. It either instantly freezes or you cant use a NGC pad on it which is annoying because my wiimotes still wont syn.
     
  14. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada

    ah. so it is someone's custom channel.


    hmm, also, your wiimotes won't sync eh? I wonder if i can find a wad manager that supports the gamecube controller. let me look.

    bingo.

    Wad manager 1.5 with gc support

    use that, and uninstall the following wads.

    BUL3g.wad
    DjTaz_gamma_Loader.wad
    NeoGammaR6-NGBL.wad

    all unneeded, and hopefully its as simple as a banner brick caused by one of those channels.
     
  15. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry, double post.
     
  16. Gekidami
    OP

    Newcomer Gekidami Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    France
    I uninstalled those but it dosnt seem to have had any effect; Still getting a blackscreen on system menu.
     
  17. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  18. Gekidami
    OP

    Newcomer Gekidami Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    France
    Yes, it seems that a 'black screen of death' is the symptom of a broken bluetooth module.

    Oh well, thanks all for your help.

    I'll look into what i can do about it, not sure if i really want to just buy the part, might look at a new Wii then aim for a neater soft mod seeing as the one i did was sort of all over the place.

    Anywho. Again, thanks all (mainly TroyTheZombie though)!
     
  19. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    well, your choice. It is really easy to replace though. and the screwdriver to open the wii is only .99 at quite a few sites.

    If you get a new wii, let me know. I'll be happy to walk you through hacking it properly.
     
  20. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I would try it. Much cheaper than a new Wii, and your softmod can be cleaned up when you replaced the module.
    But as Troy said, your choice.

    (If you choose to buy a new one send me the old one [​IMG])
     

Share This Page