Wii Fit hacking

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mbr013, May 6, 2009.

May 6, 2009

Wii Fit hacking by mbr013 at 10:21 PM (2,405 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. mbr013
    OP

    Newcomer mbr013 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi people =P

    Well, I bought Wii Fit (American version, since I'm from Brazil) this week and there's something that it's annoying me a lot. The damn measure system. The rest of the world uses the Metric system, only USA uses the damn Imperial units. Well, I know that I can change to the Metric system if I change my Wii Language to French or Spanish, but I sincerely prefer English... Here comes the questions:

    1 - The PAL version let the Wii System be in English and use the Metric System?
    2 - The NTSC-U save is compatible with the PAL game?
    3 - There's a tool, or homebrew, that let me change the language specifically of one game?
    4 - There is any sort of hack that let me plays the DAMN USA version in the DAMN English language?

    Please, help me! I want to play it in English, and I'm even inclined to mod my Wii to do it, since Nintendo is disrespecting TOO MUCH the consumer with annoying decisions (specially in my country).

    If you dont know dont give me answers like:
    "...just do the math by just dividing by 2.2 to get kg..." , or "get a calculator..."
     
  2. bootsector

    Member bootsector GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    Brazil
    I agree that there should be an option to select a measure system. Playing with a calculator at hand just sucks (yeah, I suck at math also [​IMG] )
     
  3. andreq

    Member andreq GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    Canada
    That's funny as I was asking myself if the revers could be possible.

    My GF really like Wii Fit and her maiden language is French so I set the Wii to French (If I was alone I wouldn't care much about using english)... but we (in Quebec, Canada) mostly use Imperial measurement for weight.

    I'll watch closely this thread [​IMG]
     
  4. kosheh

    Member kosheh GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    United States
    I'm assuming there are two different scriptfiles like e_us and e_uk. If you're super-lucky they're both on the disc; otherwise you'll have to obtain the PAL version of the game and acquire the files that way.


    But it should be as simple as decompiling, renaming, reinserting, and burning. Yeah.
     
  5. mbr013
    OP

    Newcomer mbr013 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Brazil
    Can you be more specific? Thanks...
     
  6. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    be careful - if you set it to UK you might get stones and rocks and pebbles and whatever else.
     
  7. mbr013
    OP

    Newcomer mbr013 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Brazil
    I don´t have the Pal game, so i dont know anything about that...
    If any programmer want to give a try to resolve this...

    If you google it you will see a lot of Brazilians and Canadians complaining about that, maybe people from other countries also...
     
  8. The_Hulkster

    Member The_Hulkster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    Here's my ¢2

    Seeing as you want to use a "hacked" game, I assume you have a modified Wii.
    Be it soft- or hardmodded.

    Wouldn't it be easier to just obtain the PAL game and use that one?
    Or am I completely missing the point here?
     
  9. ShaneC

    Newcomer ShaneC Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    My car gets forty rods to the hogshead and that's the way I likes it.
     
  10. mbr013
    OP

    Newcomer mbr013 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Brazil
    I think this will not work...
     
  11. pepperoni

    Newcomer pepperoni Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    Denmark
    Wii Fit PAL is English with metric system. Just use that.

    I doubt your save file will work, though.
     
  12. penetr8or

    Member penetr8or Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    Denmark
    If you're able to use a hacked game, you should also be very much able to use the PAL version of the game.
    There is no reason why that shouldn't work at all..
     
  13. groovy354

    Newcomer groovy354 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Poland
    Is your Wii Pal?
     
  14. ddp127

    Member ddp127 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Netherlands
    savegames are different for each region, but i dont know if the only difference is the title id, or also other things...

    but you could try booting the game with a backup loader/geckoOS with language force enabled
     
  15. mbr013
    OP

    Newcomer mbr013 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Brazil
    I was afraid to use the PAL game on my NTSC wii, but i did and for my luck it´s working.
    My Wii is Moded by D2Epro GW-609A chip...
    Thanks everyone for the tips...
     
  16. mbr013
    OP

    Newcomer mbr013 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Brazil
    I play all my games on my external HDD. (Waninkokos 1.5 USB Loader - direct channels on my wii system to access games)

    Does anyone know how to hack that special channel of wii fit (the one that you install with the DVD) to load from external HDD??
     
  17. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    that's not possible so far. no wiifit channel nor mkw channel.
     
  18. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you'll need to find out which file contains the measurement files and stats, then extract them from a PAL ISO and replace them in the NTSC ISO.

    but by the time you've done that, you'll already have the PAL ISO and should probably just burn it lmao

    sorry, but otherwise i dont know...
     
  19. hardtech

    Newcomer hardtech Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
  20. mbr013
    OP

    Newcomer mbr013 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Brazil
    I don´t think that you understand the question...
    I want pal and also the same one as the Original like DVD one, where you can see when was your last test has been made...
     

Share This Page