Wii component cable?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by C175R, Jan 6, 2010.

Jan 6, 2010

Wii component cable? by C175R at 9:00 AM (2,591 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. C175R
    OP

    Member C175R GBAtemp Pirate

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United States
    So I'm wondering if I buy a component cable for Wii like this one: http://cgi.ebay.com/FOR-NINTENDO-Wii-AV-AU...=item45f01dafc1
    Will I be like Oo wow... [​IMG] and notice any difference or just like ah...f*** this [​IMG] and not notice any difference.
    I know its only 480p so it can't be compared to PS3 nor anything but how better will it be?
     


  2. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Absolutely, go for it, you won't regret it, colours are more vibrant and edges are sharper.
     
  3. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Just dont have a HDD connected or you could be really disappointed and have really bad angle lines going from top to bottom
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    BULLSHIT!
     
  5. User423

    Member User423 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I also want to buy a component cable, so there are no problems with using a HDD?

    BTW. Original Ninty Cable or 3rd Party?
     
  6. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    never had 1 problem with my HDD that's playing from a 60" plasma.
     
  7. ConJ

    Member ConJ The Toker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    918
    Location:
    Glastonbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I too have never had these problems, just got a component cable for christmas, and havnt had one problem. Im playing on a 32" LCD and it looks sweet.
     
  8. C175R
    OP

    Member C175R GBAtemp Pirate

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United States
    ninty official cable or like 3rd party cable like the one i posted on my first post?
     
  9. MADKATZ99

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    Wow I was reading about this recently too, dunno why because I don't even play on a HD tv... lol Anyway I read that the $50 official nintendo ones show an identical picture to that of the $20 Kmart variety. And also makes the colours look more true.

    I still tend to feel that if the wii games wern't really made for HD it's going to look better on a non HD TV.... cause non HD on a big HD TV looks ugly.
     
  10. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    myth: BUSTED!
    i play lots of emulation on mine and it looks fantastic. even the gba games look better and they were never HD.

    as for what cables to get doesn't really matter just make sure their the gold plated plugs.
     
  11. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    Go for it, but buy the OFFICIAL ones... Dont take the risk of buying third parties...
    And they play perfectly fine through USB Loading


    I just got mine three days ago and they're a lot better....
    Its not gonna make the resolution up to par with the PS3/Xbox (Nowhere near it)
    But still, it improves it...


    (Also remember to change the setting to 480p in Wii Settings)
     
  12. C175R
    OP

    Member C175R GBAtemp Pirate

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. Thanks [​IMG]
     
  13. cogitech

    Newcomer cogitech Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    Canada
    The colours are more vibrant, but on my 37" LCD the extra resolution tends to show the Wii's lack of AA. Jaggies are more noticable.

    Overall, it is a matter of taste. I stuck with the component cables (3rd-party, BTW, and they are great) but I know several people who preferred the "smoother" look of using the regular (composite) cable.
     
  14. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pixels > blurry any day if you ask me. I got a component cable almost as soon as I got my 42" tv. The picture is way better.

    "smoother" = blurry.
     
  15. T1nmaN

    Newcomer T1nmaN Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    I bought a 3rd party one and it looks way better....
     
  16. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yeah.. if you use HQ2X to give it nice edges.. otherwise.. NO. Just...no..
     
  17. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    NO BULLSHIT
    I bought one 3rd party component cable from KMART had friggin lines NO SHIT
    Then i bought another 3rd party from Harvey Norman same friggin lines NOSHIT
    I havent tried a Nintendo cable cos the price is far to high for what you get NO SHIT
     
  18. C175R
    OP

    Member C175R GBAtemp Pirate

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United States
    Well i just bought the third party cable. the one I posted on my first post of this thread. I'll put the results when I get'em [​IMG]
     
  19. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    why are you buying crap from kmart and HV anyway? [​IMG]

    no one else seems to have the problem so it's either their crappy cables OR it's your TV. you may also have a shielding problem your getting interference from other devices this is causing the lines I used to have that problem on my old palsonic heap of shit plasma which i've long gotten rid of NO SHIT
     
  20. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Why because i have a wife, 2 kids and a mortgage and minimum wages no overtime so dont go laughing at me because i have to make ends meet each week. Is that OK with you. Or do you have some other smartass comment to try and make yourself look good
     

Share This Page