Wii cannot detect my USB HDD

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by rexe11, Nov 2, 2010.

Nov 2, 2010

Wii cannot detect my USB HDD by rexe11 at 11:58 AM (6,177 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. rexe11
    OP

    Newcomer rexe11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I've installed cIOS38rev20 at port 249 2 days ago.
    When I was going to play,NeoGamma (R9b47) and WiiFlow both said they couldn't detect my HDD.
    What's wrong?

    Edit: HBC can detect my HDD but the loaders can't!
     
  2. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    Man my car did not start today. Whats wrong?
    You need to try stuff for yourself or give us more info. HDD in FAT32? Does it work in HBC? does it work on your computer? Did you try another base loader like 222?
     
  3. rexe11
    OP

    Newcomer rexe11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    My HDD is in WBFS.It doesn't work in HBC but in my computer.
    How can I change the base loader?
     
  4. dysan

    Member dysan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Greece
    is it inserted in the correct usb slot?
    if it doesn't recognize it then use the other usb slot

    and sao,your car didn't start because it ran out of battery [​IMG]
     
  5. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    In my case I have to run WiiFlow first then connect the hard drive to the correct usb port.
    Some hard drives are like that.
    As long as I don't turn off the Wii, I can return to the Wii menu and go back to WiiFlow or choose another USB loader without issues.
    If you turn off the Wii, then you have to do the same thing again I wrote first.
    Try another hard drive if you have the chance.
     
  6. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    it wont work in HBC if in WBFS format. no one should use that anymore unless they really have too.(someone?).
    Format your Hard disk in fat32 (modmii?) and try to run a app in HBC from your HD to see if compatible
     
  7. egurgle

    Member egurgle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Brazil
    Use FAT32 with Cluster 32k.
    HD with external power supply (500gb+) needs to be power on after wii start. At least i could see this diference with my HD 120gb and other 1tb.
     
  8. rexe11
    OP

    Newcomer rexe11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Actually,there are 4 partitions in my HD,1 FAT32,2 NTFS and 1 WBFS (which is going to be FAT32).
    Can this affect the performance of the loader?
     
  9. rexe11
    OP

    Newcomer rexe11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Update: HBC can detect my HDD!
     
  10. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
  11. alley

    Newcomer alley Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm having the same problem, HBC can see the HDD, but the loaders can't.
    Hence, I even load the loader from the HDD through HBC
     
  12. Aijelsop

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Same thing happens with my HDD.

    Take out the drive plug it into your comp. Safely remove (safely remove devices and hardware) and replug it into your Wii.
     
  13. alley

    Newcomer alley Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Unfortunately, that didn't help...

    BTW the usbloader channel forwarder also can't access the HDD.
    So, only HBC correctly detects the HDD and allows me to start applications from it.
     

Share This Page