Wii Broken?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by mpg187, Dec 28, 2009.

Dec 28, 2009

Wii Broken? by mpg187 at 7:53 PM (1,086 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. mpg187
    OP

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    I went to go play some Wii today and my Wii looked like it was unplugged. I went to plug it in and noticed that it was already plugged in. The red standby light isn't on so I don't think I have a brick, unless a brick acts like that.

    What would cause this?
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,941
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    not a brick, hardware failure

    try plugging it in somewhere else
     
  3. mpg187
    OP

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    I did and still doesn't f***ing work.

    Maybe I'll try a different cord, but I don't have one.

    this makes no sense it was working before...

    Posts merged

    I did and still doesn't f***ing work.

    Maybe I'll try a different cord, but I don't have one.

    this makes no sense it was working before...
     
  4. Siover-Tiger

    Newcomer Siover-Tiger Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Berlin
    Country:
    Germany
    haha, funny thing, i had the same problem a few days before. unlug your power brick, blow in your power cord and then wait some minutes. when I came back a few minutes later, I plugged it in, and voila! it worked again.

    I assume it was contact problems, at least this way fixed it for me.
     
  5. mpg187
    OP

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    Tried and it still doesn't work...
     
  6. TheNewbPleaser

    Member TheNewbPleaser GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    woot ninty has a new wii to fix :PPP XD Sorry man
     
  7. mpg187
    OP

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    1. It has the homebrew channel and all that on it
    2. I got it off eBay.

    Will they even fix it?

    F*** looks like my 360 allover again, I better topoff my drink before I lose it...

    Why does this sh*t always happen to me?
     
  8. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    [​IMG]
     
  9. TheNewbPleaser

    Member TheNewbPleaser GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    Country:
    Costa Rica

    Course they will its ninty well there not cheap but they can fix your console for 75$ well since u had HBC...hmm... dunno they might charge a full new wii price. if thats so buy a new 1
     
  10. wii knee

    Member wii knee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    There have been some issues with the power adapter. Try unplugging the power cord at both ends. After about 30 minutes plug it back in directly to the wall. NOT an extension cord or power bar. This is fondly referred to as 'rebooting' the power adapter and has met with reasonably good success. You might also check your the area of the fan and make sure it is clean and clear and that the system is in no other way overheating.

    good luck
     
  11. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Pretty close to it. [​IMG]
     
  12. TheNewbPleaser

    Member TheNewbPleaser GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Good call mate try all that ill just add Open the Console and if theres any Dust clean it specially on fans since if theres alot of dust fan wont work and if it dosnt work wii will not work. just as a CPU fan 2 dirty pc wont start. also if u open your console try giving a look into the part were u hook the power into c if theres anything there if theres something clean it... its like last try before ninty


    GL
     
  13. JustChillin1414

    Member JustChillin1414 <3 Tiny Tina

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I had the same problem. For whatever reason one of the fuses in the power cord blew. I borrowed somebody's power cord and it was fine. What I did was open it up, found the fuse and put a piece of copper wire in between the contacts of the fuse and it worked! New cable not needed!!
     
  14. mpg187
    OP

    Member mpg187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks. Unplugging the power from the wall helped. I should have thought of that...

    Does the AC cord have a surge protector or something?

    I owe you a drinik, what mix you take? lol
     

Share This Page