wii and internet

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wim6, Feb 1, 2009.

Feb 1, 2009

wii and internet by wim6 at 8:57 PM (566 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. wim6
    OP

    Member wim6 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ive just bought a lan adapter for my wii because i dont have a wifi point. im no noob but im just curious in how to install it or not, and how do i keep my wii safe from updating through the internet. All this i want to know because i still cant install the softmii, it uses internet to download the arcm5 from twiizers... my wii is on 3.2e with starfall cioscorp and preloader 0.27
     
  2. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    I do believe it's just a plug and play install. As for updating unless someone intentionally clicks on the update button you won't be updated.
     
  3. Smack

    Member Smack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I have never used the lan adapter but I can assure you that the Wii does not update itself. You must agree to the update.

    Plug the LAN adapter into your USB port, plug in the ethernet cable then goto your Wii System menu -> Internet -> Connection Settings -> (pick a connection) -> Wired Connection

    That should get you setup.

    EDIT: Beware that the very first thing you are prompted for once the Wii has successfully connected to the internet is to Update the system. Just click No and you are fine.
     
  4. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    whats to install? Just plug it in
     
  5. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yup, its just a plug in thing and then get the internet settings in the Wii correct.

    Also, updates don't install themselves (As others said) You have to agree to install them so make sure people who use your Wii know.
     
  6. wim6
    OP

    Member wim6 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks a bunch, its just one off these things that maybe could go wrong but luckely there is gba.......
    Thanks to all
     

Share This Page