Why do they still sell the AK2?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by jmckutchin, Oct 16, 2009.

Oct 16, 2009
  1. jmckutchin
    OP

    Member jmckutchin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Podunk, U.S.A
    Country:
    United States
    If you think about it, the AK2 and the AK2i are pretty much the same and cost about the same, yet the AK2i is a much better value because it works with both a DSL and DSi.

    Why then, do you suppose, the Acekard team hasn't phased out the AK2? From a business stand point it makes more sense to phase out older products, since they can concentrate their manufacturing on one version only (do they still make the RPG? not sure).

    Just some late night free thinking....
     
  2. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    i bet they have stoped production but online stores still have their old batches
     
  3. jmckutchin
    OP

    Member jmckutchin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Podunk, U.S.A
    Country:
    United States
    I was considering this too, but this DSi has been out for a good 6 months now and stock hasn't run out yet...
     
  4. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you can buy the ak2 cheaper and there are alot of people left with a ds lite that want a flashcard [​IMG]
     
  5. geek_power

    Newcomer geek_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Qu├ębec
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know if it's still the case, but at the beginning, the AK2i was having a very high defect rate. So it was safer to buy the original AK2.
     
  6. jphriendly

    Member jphriendly GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    I just purchased an AK2 a couple weeks ago (got tired of my DSOne). I have no plans to get a DSi so, for me, it was a good deal to save the few bucks.
     
  7. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    before when the dsi came out the ak2i didnt work as well on the ds lite/phat than it does now..it was just a new card and there were numerous problems with it, but now its like the best and works well on everything...maybe thats why they still made ak2's for ds owns but i bet now they stopped making them
     
  8. ericling

    Member ericling GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Oh means that acekard 2 are better than acekard 2i if u are not using DSi...
     
  9. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    no there the same i dont have a dsi and i have an ak2i

    Posts merged

    the ak2.1 and ak2 are mostly just 2 less then the ak2i so why not get akie eh?
     
  10. ericling

    Member ericling GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Is it true?
     
  11. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    not anymore been fixed
     
  12. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Well... I don't know the status of the AK2i right now. But all I know is that once it came out, everyone complained so much xD.

    But anyway, it wasn't the best to get... So people just got a AK2. I still have my AK2. I will probably just case mod my DS Lite. SO it will just as new. Not interested with this new Camera... And DSi features an stuff...
     
  13. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    No, if they are still making profit off manufacturing and selling a product, then from a buisness stand-point it MAKES SENSE to contiune manufacturing and selling product.
    I guess you failed high school economics??
     
  14. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    unfourntly they stoped the acekard R.P.G right when i wanted to buy it they dont have it out anymore
     
  15. zhuzhuchina

    Member zhuzhuchina GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    Shanghai
    Country:
    China
    its because some people want the old acekard 2 , some people still ask for supercard ds one even there is already the ds one i avaible... for acekard its cheaper to make the old card
     
  16. ericling

    Member ericling GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    anyone can confirm,the build quality of acekard 2i same with acekard 2?
    and the AK2i having a very high defect rate?

    Thanks before.. [​IMG]
     
  17. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    now all problems in the acekard 2i are fixed its the exact same as the 2.1 but has dsi support
     
  18. ericling

    Member ericling GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Thanks for confirm...
     
  19. jmckutchin
    OP

    Member jmckutchin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Podunk, U.S.A
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't actually take economics in high school. But I did minor in business and marketing in college --but what does a minor count for, right?

    Yes, they are making a profit off the product, but it seems to me that they'd be making MORE profit if they stuck to just one product instead of having to carry the overhead for 2 different setups. Not to mention training people to assemble both, ordering two different sets of parts, etc.

    It just makes more sense to streamline their process now that they've ironed out the minor problems they had in the beginning. You're relying on a "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" mentality. But the technology business doesn't work like that; it's in a constant state of competition. For example, when Apple releases a new product upgrade, they don't keep the previous gen around for shits and giggles. They sell it at a discount to get rid of inventory and move on to the next big thing.

    If the Acekard team were smart, they'd drop the AK2 and really push the AK2i as the end-all of flash carts. Because that's what it is. So what if it costs $2.53 more? I spend that much money listing things on eBay.

    Full disclosure: I own neither a DSi nor a AK2i.
     
  20. bach3609

    Member bach3609 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Loading................
    Country:
    Vietnam
    They still sell it due to the fact that not everyone will get a DSI-I used to be a DSI hater myself. the AK2 is also cheaper than the AK2i, which means the acekard team will probably make more money just selling AK2's, as they are cheaper to manufacture.
     

Share This Page