Which To Replace?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by xiaolim, Aug 22, 2009.

Aug 22, 2009

Which To Replace? by xiaolim at 12:08 PM (689 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. xiaolim
    OP

    Newcomer xiaolim Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Hi~

    Recently i tried to mod my wii with a wii-key but i failed of course and i "FIRED" the chip-board (DVD-ROM Optical Laser Drive Motherboard) that is embedded on the DVD-ROM.
    So i was wondering, if i purchase another DVD-ROM Optical Laser Drive Motherboard to replace with the "FRIED"one, will it work? My wii was a 2006 Japanese model.

    Anyone can provide me some answer?

    Thank You Very Much~
    Cheers~
    [​IMG]
     
  2. kLiNiKaL

    Member kLiNiKaL Dr. Greenthumb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Los Ganjales
    Country:
    Jamaica
    yes providing you know what your doing and you use the correct board and the correct region, i've seen this done before and worked.

    good luck man
     
  3. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
  4. xiaolim
    OP

    Newcomer xiaolim Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Malaysia
    So you mean all i need to do is just get the replacement board and install it?
    by the way, what is the differences between D2A, D2B, D2C and D2C?
     
  5. xiaolim
    OP

    Newcomer xiaolim Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Malaysia
    So you mean all i need to do is just get the replacement board and install it?
    by the way, what is the differences between D2A, D2B, D2C and D2C?

    EDIT: But my board is GC2-D1. does those mention above still works?

    Note: Sorry for the double post, i accidentally click refresh. >
     
  6. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,383
    Country:
    Sweden
    No worries with a Wii, what I know you can actually take ANY Wii dvd and plug it in. It do not have any encryption for example the 360 has.
    Tips for you, get a Drivekey instead now. The Wiikey might be destroyed also right now.
     
  7. xiaolim
    OP

    Newcomer xiaolim Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i see, thanks for the reply.... i will try it out when i got the stuff~

    Cheers~
     

Share This Page