Gaming Which OS?

Which OS?

  • XP sp3 32 bit

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Xp 64 bit

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Vista Home Premium 32 bit

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Vista 64 bit

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Windows 7 beta 32 bit

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Windows 7 beta 64 bit

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • ubuntu/kubuntu

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Duel boot (state which ones)

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    0

Lee79

Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
920
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
ctf_2fort
Website
steamcommunity.com
XP
240
Country
So i am getting board of XP 32 bit and want to clear my HDD disc drive and start again but not sure what to do. I play alot of PC DX9 games and browse the net and download torrents most of my time on the PC.

Here is my system specs:

CODEProcessor:
AMD Athlon? 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.4GHz OC ~2.8 GHz

Memory:
2048MB RAM OCZ Gold XTC ~800mhz OC ~935mhz

Hard Drive:
160 GB WD Caviar Blue WD1600AAJS SATA-2

Video Card:
BFG GeForce 8800 GTS OC 320MB (G80)

Monitor:
19" 1440x900 Hannspree New York LCD

Sound Card:
Realtek HD Audio output

Speakers/Headphones:
Monitor Speakers or Hi-fi

Keyboard:
Logitech Media Keyboard 600

Mouse:
Razor 1,600dpi mouse

Mouse Surface:
Allsop Gaming Pad

Operating System:
Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.050301-1519)

Motherboard:
ALIVEXFIRE-ESATA2

Computer Case:
Coolermaster Elite 330
 

sgand

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
96
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
122
Country
United States
There is no need for having more than 1 OS. I'd stick it out and wait for Win 7.
biggrin.gif
 

Lee79

Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
920
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
ctf_2fort
Website
steamcommunity.com
XP
240
Country
ok duel boot but i am limited as my hard drive is only 160gb (140gb after format need a new one i think) and i need some space for games and downloads so not sure how to partition it any suggestions probably going to go for xp sp3 and windows 7 64bit?
 

Skyline969

MENUdo Afficionado
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
2,209
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Saskatchewan
Website
Visit site
XP
538
Country
Canada
Dual-boot? Naw, do a triple-boot! Windows XP for games, Windows Vista for eye candy and whatever, and Ubuntu Linux for that Linux goodness. There's a tutorial on YouTube, a big 4-parter. Check it out.
 

MicShadow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
465
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
232
Country
Lee79 said:
ok duel boot but i am limited as my hard drive is only 160gb (140gb after format need a new one i think) and i need some space for games and downloads so not sure how to partition it any suggestions probably going to go for xp sp3 and windows 7 64bit?
probably wont need too much for actual OS space. What I do is install programs in the same directories (windows wise) for each OS, that way it just shares.
But I would recommend another hardrive, perhaps an 80GB one for all that OS crap, so in the case of a reformat, you only lose replaceable stuff
 

Lee79

Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
920
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
ctf_2fort
Website
steamcommunity.com
XP
240
Country
Think i am going to let the poll run a bit and then make up my mind lol.
@Skyline969 triple-boot i do not think so i do not have the space on my HDD at the moment and i have a lot of games to install.

CODEAudiosurf
Call of Duty 2
Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Call of Duty
Call of Duty United Offensive
Call of Duty: World at War
Garry's Mod
Grand Theft Auto IV
Mirror's Edge
Half-Life 2
Half-Life 2: Deathmatch
Half-Life 2: Episode One
Half-Life 2: Episode Two
Half-Life 2: Lost Coast
Peggle Extreme
Portal
Saints Row 2
Source SDK Base
Team Fortress 2
Trackmania Nations Forever
Zombie Panic! Source

So MicShadow can i install all the games on one partition and access them from both OS?
 

Skyline969

MENUdo Afficionado
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
2,209
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Saskatchewan
Website
Visit site
XP
538
Country
Canada
Lee79 said:
Think i am going to let the poll run a bit and then make up my mind lol.
@Skyline969 triple-boot i do not think so i do not have the space on my HDD at the moment and i have a lot of games to install.

CODEAudiosurf
Call of Duty 2
Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Call of Duty
Call of Duty United Offensive
Call of Duty: World at War
Garry's Mod
Grand Theft Auto IV
Mirror's Edge
Half-Life 2
Half-Life 2: Deathmatch
Half-Life 2: Episode One
Half-Life 2: Episode Two
Half-Life 2: Lost Coast
Peggle Extreme
Portal
Saints Row 2
Source SDK Base
Team Fortress 2
Trackmania Nations Forever
Zombie Panic! Source
Yeah, that's a lot of games. However, the kid in the YouTube video has only an 80 gig hard drive and installed the triple-boot. I can pretty much guarantee that on a 160 gig hard drive all or most of those games will install, even with a triple-boot.
 

Mangofett

GBAtemp Testing Area
Member
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
4,885
Trophies
1
Age
20
XP
1,105
Country
United States
Skyline969 said:
Dual-boot? Naw, do a triple-boot! Windows XP for games, Windows Vista for eye candy and whatever, and Ubuntu Linux for that Linux goodness. There's a tutorial on YouTube, a big 4-parter. Check it out.
Vista SP1 and XP SP3 are identical for gaming for benchmarks, Vista outperforming by 1 or 2 FPS.
 

Lee79

Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
920
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
ctf_2fort
Website
steamcommunity.com
XP
240
Country
Skyline969 said:
Yeah, that's a lot of games. However, the kid in the YouTube video has only an 80 gig hard drive and installed the triple-boot. I can pretty much guarantee that on a 160 gig hard drive all or most of those games will install, even with a triple-boot.

That is what i have on my PC at the moment need to work out how much space these all take lol.
 

Skyline969

MENUdo Afficionado
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
2,209
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Saskatchewan
Website
Visit site
XP
538
Country
Canada
Lee79 said:
Skyline969 said:
Yeah, that's a lot of games. However, the kid in the YouTube video has only an 80 gig hard drive and installed the triple-boot. I can pretty much guarantee that on a 160 gig hard drive all or most of those games will install, even with a triple-boot.

That is what i have on my PC at the moment need to work out how much space these all take lol.
I would guess no more than 100 gigs, but I'm sure it's a bit less than that.
 

Lee79

Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
920
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
ctf_2fort
Website
steamcommunity.com
XP
240
Country
So is it possible to make three partions two for duel boot OS on each one and one for the games and and access/play them from both OS without having to install each game twice? (the games that is.)
 

Skyline969

MENUdo Afficionado
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
2,209
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Saskatchewan
Website
Visit site
XP
538
Country
Canada
Lee79 said:
So is it possible to make three partions two for duel boot and one for the games and and access/play them from both OS without having to install each game twice? (the games that is.)
Yeah, definitely. Not only would you be able to store the games on the big partition, but you can also store all your music, etc. Just make each partition for the OS's at least 10 gigs. I would recommend 20 gigs for Vista though.
 

Lee79

Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
920
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
ctf_2fort
Website
steamcommunity.com
XP
240
Country
So two 20gb partions one for Vista Home Premium 32 bit and one for Windows 7 beta 64 bit and the rest for games, programs and videos mp3s etc? and the games, programs and videos mp3s etc will be playable whatever OS I boot into?( I know windows 7 is a beta and will have problems)
 

MicShadow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
465
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
232
Country
Yes, im pretty sure they will all work, with no problem. I only have COD4 out of that list, but I know that works %100

All it needs is to re-register the registry info on each OS.

Hmm about fitting them all on, i know its gonna come close
 

Jiggah

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2002
Messages
1,223
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
279
Country
United States
You can't crosslink programs, at least most of them. They require registry entries and those entries are not shared between the different OSes. You can have 2 partitions, but each will require that you install the game.
 

Skyline969

MENUdo Afficionado
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
2,209
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Saskatchewan
Website
Visit site
XP
538
Country
Canada
Jiggah said:
You can't crosslink programs, at least most of them. They require registry entries and those entries are not shared between the different OSes. You can have 2 partitions, but each will require that you install the game.
Well then, I stand corrected. You learn something new every day, huh?
 

Lee79

Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
920
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
ctf_2fort
Website
steamcommunity.com
XP
240
Country
MicShadow said:
Yes, im pretty sure they will all work, with no problem. I only have COD4 out of that list, but I know that works %100

All it needs is to re-register the registry info on each OS.

Hmm about fitting them all on, i know its gonna come close

How do you re-register the registry info if i use Vista Home and windows 7? I can use Regedit and the command prompt.

I can do without installing

Half-Life 2
Half-Life 2: Deathmatch
Half-Life 2: Episode One
Half-Life 2: Episode Two
Half-Life 2: Lost Coast
Peggle Extreme
Portal
Trackmania Nations Forever
Zombie Panic! Source

As i do not play them but i need all the call of duty games as I am in some clans on multiplayer on them.
 

Lee79

Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
920
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
ctf_2fort
Website
steamcommunity.com
XP
240
Country
da_head said:
can your system support a 64 bit os? if so, get windows 7 64 bit. though honestly, i have it now, and it doesn't seem much diff from vista.

Yeah i am going to duel boot Vista Home 32bit and windows 7 64bit just not sure about the games read the whole thread for more info.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Keep away from head when satellite feature is enabled.