Which OS?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Lee79, Jan 30, 2009.

?

Which OS?

  1. XP sp3 32 bit

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Xp 64 bit

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Vista Home Premium 32 bit

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Vista 64 bit

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Windows 7 beta 32 bit

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Windows 7 beta 64 bit

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  7. ubuntu/kubuntu

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. Duel boot (state which ones)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Jan 30, 2009

Which OS? by Lee79 at 12:57 AM (2,245 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. Lee79
    OP

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So i am getting board of XP 32 bit and want to clear my HDD disc drive and start again but not sure what to do. I play alot of PC DX9 games and browse the net and download torrents most of my time on the PC.

    Here is my system specs:

    CODEProcessor:
    AMD Athlon? 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.4GHz OC ~2.8 GHz

    Memory:
    2048MB RAM OCZ Gold XTC ~800mhz OC ~935mhz

    Hard Drive:
    160 GB WD Caviar Blue WD1600AAJS SATA-2

    Video Card:
    BFG GeForce 8800 GTS OC 320MB (G80)

    Monitor:
    19" 1440x900 Hannspree New York LCD

    Sound Card:
    Realtek HD Audio output

    Speakers/Headphones:
    Monitor Speakers or Hi-fi

    Keyboard:
    Logitech Media Keyboard 600

    Mouse:
    Razor 1,600dpi mouse

    Mouse Surface:
    Allsop Gaming Pad

    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.050301-1519)

    Motherboard:
    ALIVEXFIRE-ESATA2

    Computer Case:
    Coolermaster Elite 330
     


  2. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    Dual boot. Have the best of 2+ worlds. I have Fedora, Ubuntu, Windows XP 32b and Windows 7 Beta 32b
     
  3. sgand

    Newcomer sgand Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    There is no need for having more than 1 OS. I'd stick it out and wait for Win 7. [​IMG]
     
  4. Lee79
    OP

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok duel boot but i am limited as my hard drive is only 160gb (140gb after format need a new one i think) and i need some space for games and downloads so not sure how to partition it any suggestions probably going to go for xp sp3 and windows 7 64bit?
     
  5. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Dual-boot? Naw, do a triple-boot! Windows XP for games, Windows Vista for eye candy and whatever, and Ubuntu Linux for that Linux goodness. There's a tutorial on YouTube, a big 4-parter. Check it out.
     
  6. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    probably wont need too much for actual OS space. What I do is install programs in the same directories (windows wise) for each OS, that way it just shares.
    But I would recommend another hardrive, perhaps an 80GB one for all that OS crap, so in the case of a reformat, you only lose replaceable stuff
     
  7. Lee79
    OP

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Think i am going to let the poll run a bit and then make up my mind lol.
    @Skyline969 triple-boot i do not think so i do not have the space on my HDD at the moment and i have a lot of games to install.

    CODEAudiosurf
    Call of Duty 2
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
    Call of Duty
    Call of Duty United Offensive
    Call of Duty: World at War
    Garry's Mod
    Grand Theft Auto IV
    Mirror's Edge
    Half-Life 2
    Half-Life 2: Deathmatch
    Half-Life 2: Episode One
    Half-Life 2: Episode Two
    Half-Life 2: Lost Coast
    Peggle Extreme
    Portal
    Saints Row 2
    Source SDK Base
    Team Fortress 2
    Trackmania Nations Forever
    Zombie Panic! Source

    So MicShadow can i install all the games on one partition and access them from both OS?
     
  8. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, that's a lot of games. However, the kid in the YouTube video has only an 80 gig hard drive and installed the triple-boot. I can pretty much guarantee that on a 160 gig hard drive all or most of those games will install, even with a triple-boot.
     
  9. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Vista SP1 and XP SP3 are identical for gaming for benchmarks, Vista outperforming by 1 or 2 FPS.
     
  10. Lee79
    OP

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is what i have on my PC at the moment need to work out how much space these all take lol.
     
  11. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I would guess no more than 100 gigs, but I'm sure it's a bit less than that.
     
  12. Lee79
    OP

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So is it possible to make three partions two for duel boot OS on each one and one for the games and and access/play them from both OS without having to install each game twice? (the games that is.)
     
  13. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, definitely. Not only would you be able to store the games on the big partition, but you can also store all your music, etc. Just make each partition for the OS's at least 10 gigs. I would recommend 20 gigs for Vista though.
     
  14. Lee79
    OP

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So two 20gb partions one for Vista Home Premium 32 bit and one for Windows 7 beta 64 bit and the rest for games, programs and videos mp3s etc? and the games, programs and videos mp3s etc will be playable whatever OS I boot into?( I know windows 7 is a beta and will have problems)
     
  15. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes, im pretty sure they will all work, with no problem. I only have COD4 out of that list, but I know that works %100

    All it needs is to re-register the registry info on each OS.

    Hmm about fitting them all on, i know its gonna come close
     
  16. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    You can't crosslink programs, at least most of them. They require registry entries and those entries are not shared between the different OSes. You can have 2 partitions, but each will require that you install the game.
     
  17. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Well then, I stand corrected. You learn something new every day, huh?
     
  18. Lee79
    OP

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How do you re-register the registry info if i use Vista Home and windows 7? I can use Regedit and the command prompt.

    I can do without installing

    Half-Life 2
    Half-Life 2: Deathmatch
    Half-Life 2: Episode One
    Half-Life 2: Episode Two
    Half-Life 2: Lost Coast
    Peggle Extreme
    Portal
    Trackmania Nations Forever
    Zombie Panic! Source

    As i do not play them but i need all the call of duty games as I am in some clans on multiplayer on them.
     
  19. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    can your system support a 64 bit os? if so, get windows 7 64 bit. though honestly, i have it now, and it doesn't seem much diff from vista.
     
  20. Lee79
    OP

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah i am going to duel boot Vista Home 32bit and windows 7 64bit just not sure about the games read the whole thread for more info.
     

Share This Page