Which Mod Chip?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Mr.Guy, Sep 8, 2008.

Sep 8, 2008

Which Mod Chip? by Mr.Guy at 3:23 AM (2,931 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    I know I should lurk more but I cant seem to find an answer. I opened my Wii and found out that my chips code is GC2 - D1. My Wii is NTSC and I have had it since launch. I want to know what chip is the best and what is compatible with the one I have. If at all possible please tell me witch soulderless would work. Oh and what would be the best place to buy one. I hope you can help me, thanks!
     
  2. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    The GC1-D1 chip is not the one of interest... it's the other one. If you have a lunch wii, the other will be a GC2-DMS chip.

    A good option is the wiikey... easy to install and very stable. You can get a wii-clip which works with these as well if you need a solderless solution.

    Look in to ozmodchips or modchip central... It looks like you're in the states, so modchip central would be local-ish.
     
  3. littlestevie

    Member littlestevie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Location:
    under a bridge
    Country:
    Australia
    your wii will be a GC2-D2A or GC2-DMS (not sure if america got the DMS it seems to be a pal region thing)
    which means pretty much every chip except the high wire count patching mods will work on it
     
  4. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
  5. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    WiiDrives.com says this about my serial on my Wii:

    * There is a 50% chance the chipset is GC2-D2C2 (v2) and the drive has the new metal clip.
    * And there is also a 25% chance the chipset is GC2-D2E with the new metal clip.
    * Lastly, a 25% chance the chipset is GC2-D2C (v1).

    But how do I know which chipset I have for sure, without opening it?
    And which modchip should I pick then?
     
  6. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia

    You can't tell without opening... and even if you do, you won't be able to tell the difference between d2c2 and d2c. It doesn't matter though... just get a wasabi v3 or d2pro9 with d2e sticker... either will work in any of those scenarios.

    If you want solderless and are brave enough to use a wiiclip - d2pro9 will be totally solderless, but wasabi will need a single wire soldered.
     
  7. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Well, I've found this chip:

    Solderless D2Pro ModChip D2C2

    So that chip would work on my Wii, regardless what the drive is and even if it has the new metal clip?
    It should work on it for 100% sure?
     
  8. didineedthis

    Newcomer didineedthis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you are getting the d2pro9 , then ask for the chip to have 2.3 firmware pre installed for d2c/d2c2

    didineedthis
     
  9. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    Isn't wii-key support pretty much dead?

    The Free Clip is another Modchip that will work if you program it with YAOSM (Yet another open-source modchip). Bell (the creator) is still updating it.

    Btw, Satangel stop hijacking every mod-chip thread...
     
  10. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    Hello? My questions? I think that my pins have been cut... or at least I think...
     
  11. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry to double post but I have some pictures, don't know if they'll help but heres some. Oh and I don't have any cut pins.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    This one shows that I have no number on my drive, so I got this at launch.
     
  12. biggzsizzle

    Newcomer biggzsizzle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    I have the d2Pro 15 wire install, never had a problem! [​IMG]
     
  13. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    But I don't know for sure which drive I have.

    And what about the pins, will the D2Pro9 work on it in all cases?
     
  14. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    Dude seriously stop. Go make your own thread.
     
  15. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    All the info is here... Here's a summary so it can end.

    DMS/D2A/D2B (without cut legs)

    Wiikey, or YAOSM. YAOSM has (arguably) better support, wiikey is more foolproof ('commercial' product).

    D2B (Cut legs) D2C / D2C2 / D2E

    Wasabi V3 or D2Pro9 D2E version. Either of these will work with ANY DRIVE... even cut leg D2B. They can be used on the early wiis, but cost more and are generally less stable... so I'd recommend an older Wiikey/YAOSM if you can use them.




    Mr Guy:
    You are photographing the wrong chip... it's the other one the mod chip attaches to. It'll be a GC2-DMS or GC2-D2A because it is launch. No Launch wiis have cut legs, only very late D2B do (ie, second half of 2007). Get a Wiikey, or free-clip with YAOSM.
     
  16. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
  17. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    You can't... YAOSM runs on PIC microcontrollers, not Atmel...

    But with wiikey, you don't need YAOSM... you can just plug it in and it'll work.

    If you want YAOSM you can get a free-clip but you have to mess around with programming it. You're better off with WiiKey.
     
  18. Mr.Guy
    OP

    Member Mr.Guy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. Thanks for your help guys!
     

Share This Page