Where to buy ESD stuff?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Advi, Jan 29, 2009.

Jan 29, 2009

Where to buy ESD stuff? by Advi at 2:32 AM (1,210 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Advi
    OP

    Member Advi GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    Country:
    United States
    I love to tinker with stuff and love to fix things when I break them as in whenever a week has gone by of me owning something [​IMG]

    But soon I accidentally fried an old RAM strip with some static, so I decided I should spring for some ESD protection.

    Where is the best place to buy this stuff?
     
  2. Taza

    Member Taza GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Finland
  3. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    eh? what were you doing? rubbing your feet on the carpet?

    never worn one in all my time, never nuked anything. static is pretty much a mythical excuse used by electrical engineers to explain why something doesn't work when they don't have a clue.
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    lol

    but yea, I built my comp fine, as well as upgraded many other fine with a anti-static band
    just dont work on the carpet [​IMG]
     
  5. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ESD is a genuine risc to the hardware. Granted I know lots of people who clearly throw any regard of working ESD secure out the window and just grab everything and do everything wrong except for licking it or something and they don't screw hardware up that much, but regardless it can damage your hardware and in all fairness I wouldn't want to f*ck up my just bought 200 euro video card for instance. Working with a wristband btw is one of the safer ways (though not 100% proof), you can also just ground yourself before working on the machine though naturally you will build up a charge a again while working. Personally I tend to use the wristband only but whenever I don't have the time to hook myself up properly I simply touch a radiator and then use anti-static gloves which I have lying around everywhere (or if I'm really in a hurry I only touch the radiator).
     
  6. Isaiah

    Member Isaiah The Conductor

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Country:
    Australia
    where exactly do you attach the clip on the antistatic band?
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,731
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I agree static is overrated but explaining this to someone with freshly killed hardware is perhaps not the easiest thing to do. Quite in fact the only time I have seen it done outside of intentional fun with a van der graaf generator was a couple of women with wollen jumpers and nylon underwear (if you had sped the sequence up it would have been the modern equivalent of those flowers wilting sequences).

    Why not just make one, all the ESD bracelets are is a line to the earth of a socket. Be careful those with two pin sockets though and get one that has a third before doing this (UK people it is the top pin, US people it is a semicircle pin usually at the bottom, Australia it is the bottom pin if it exists, Eu mainland people it varies but often there is none).
    On the other hand touching something metal (and exposed, touching paint is not sure to work) is a decent method.
     
  8. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just so no one gets any ideas, whatever metal bit you are touching has to be connected to ground naturally else you ain't connecting to ground [​IMG].
     
  9. NightWalker186

    Newcomer NightWalker186 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Pineville, LA
    Country:
    United States
    Oh I promise that ESD can do some major damage to those lit-tle bit-tie comp components that are attached all across the mother board. Believe me, I'm a certified Comp Tech and fix computers for a living. I've seen it done before and saw many many videos back in class of junk being completely killed. Sure you may not see damage right then when working without one. but I assure you that your computer's life span is going to be a whole like less then what it would be if you just simply wear a strap. Go get one bro. and you can just clip the strap anywhere on the case unless you have a grounding mat. then keep it hooked to the mat that you work on. Take care bro. PS. I got mine from japan for like 2 bux. sure it may take about a month to get in. but its worthwhile if your going to be tinkering inside a compy [​IMG]
     
  10. NightWalker186

    Newcomer NightWalker186 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Pineville, LA
    Country:
    United States
    Just leave the computer plugged in like your suppose too whenever working on the computer and be attached to the case. just be sure to detach yourself when ever you turn it on. Also when working without one. still a good idea to leave it plugged in. that what everytime you do happened to touch the case. it'll discharge you [​IMG]
     
  11. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No. Just no. Just connect yourself to ground on the socket and please detach the power cable from your machine (and monitor).

    Also if you want to be very secure when working on your system leave it unplugged for 24 hours to make sure there is no power left in the capacitors on there (unless you want to feel refreshed of course [​IMG]).
     
  12. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    *nods* that also works, the case should be grounded if it is plugged in, just don't take the power supply apart whilst its plugged in... other than that the are no capacitors large enough to hurt you, and 12v and 5v is no where near enough voltage to arc
     
  13. Isaiah

    Member Isaiah The Conductor

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Country:
    Australia
    This topic scares me [​IMG] so grounding.... could you do it outside [​IMG]
     
  14. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well, when I ground radio antenna you usually have to have a lot of metal in contact with the ground... think running a long bare wire or several big iron spikes into the ground. but then you need really good grounding. just touching the ground is generally good enough for static protection.

    but, we are in danger of going very off topic here....
     
  15. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    I just take a very long wire, wrap it around my wrist, and attach the other end to the sink. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page