Whats the computer you are currently interested in

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by superrob, Nov 28, 2007.

  1. superrob
    OP

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    This is the setup im currently aiming for:

    INTEL QUADCORE Q6600 (8MB CACHE, 2x4MB)
    GIGABYTE MOTHERBOARD (INTEL G31) GA-G31MX-S2
    160GB SATA HARDDRIVE *SILENT FLUID*, 7200rpm
    4GB 800/PC6400 (2x2GB)
    18x DUALLAYER DVDBURNER (DVD+/DVD-)
    CLUB3D 8800GT (512MB GDDR3)
    7.1 SOUNDCARD, SURROUND SOUND
    NETCARD 10/100/1000Mbit (GIGABIT)
    INTEL BOXED CPU-COOLER
    550W XILENCEPOWER (550W POWERSUPPLY)
    6 USB PORTS I ALT(2 IN FRONT), 1.1 og 2.0 PORTS


    Price: 1256.17$

    Sounds like a nice price for a pretty powerfull machine.
    And im going to buy it in january so maybe the parts would fall abit in price.
    And im in Denmark and the tax's on the parts is a abit high.

    What do you all think [​IMG]?

    Changes made to the system:
    Changed Power Supply from 400W to a 550W silence one - Cost me 59.33$ So the price for the PC raised from 1196.84$ to 1256.17$
     
  2. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    It sounds great,
    just wondering if that power supply would be enough..
    It sounds to low for those specs, i mean Quadcore GF8800GT 4GB RAM lots of USB and whatnot either way IF it is enough for that, you wont be able to add much..
     
  3. superrob
    OP

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Hmm you are saying something.
     
  4. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm interested in this:

    HP G3001

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    I'm getting it for my Christmas.

    I cant wait!

    4 USB 2.0 slots
    512MB Ram
    Intel Pentium Dual Core 925 (3.0GHz)
    15" Monitor
    120GB Storage
    Windows Vista Home Basic.
    Plays & Records CDs and DVDs with Lightscribe technology
     
  5. nephdj

    Member nephdj GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    442
    Country:
    Australia
    Personally I want a laptop

    thinking about renting a beast, one with atleast a 7900 video card
    seems the easiest, as I would only be stuck with it for 3 years and I would never need to worry about it messing up thanks to rent warranty
     
  6. sekhu

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would upgrade the PSU to be honest, you got power hungry components
     
  7. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    400W doesn't even meet the minimum requirements for that card.

    I think 450W is the minimum.

    EDIT:
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Bruinbaard

    Member Bruinbaard GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    511
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This will be mine:
    Intel Pentium 2 Duo core E8400(3GHz)
    ASUS P5k mobo
    ASUS 8800GT 512 mb
    LC Power 550 Watt PSU
    Kingston 4gb (4x1 gb)
    Cooler master cm 690
    Seagate 500 gb Sata II
    NEC optiarc 7173A

    Waiting for the E8400 to be released in January
     
  9. superrob
    OP

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well where i found the 8800GT it says: 400 Watt..
    But anyway i added a 550w XilencePower instead of the 400w

    New build:
    INTEL QUADCORE Q6600 (8MB CACHE, 2x4MB)
    GIGABYTE MOTHERBOARD (INTEL G31) GA-G31MX-S2
    160GB SATA HARDDRIVE *SILENT FLUID*, 7200rpm
    4GB 800/PC6400 (2x2GB)
    18x DUALLAYER DVDBURNER (DVD+/DVD-)
    CLUB3D 8800GT (512MB GDDR3)
    7.1 SOUNDCARD, SURROUND SOUND
    NETCARD 10/100/1000Mbit (GIGABIT)
    INTEL BOXED CPU-COOLER
    550W XILENCEPOWER (550W POWERSUPPLY)
    6 USB PORTS I ALT(2 IN FRONT), 1.1 og 2.0 PORTS
     
  10. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Don't give suggestions if you have no idea what your talking about, 550 Watts is MORE than enough for those parts.
     
  11. sekhu

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    he was going to stick a 400w PSU in there, learn to read all the posts before you comment [​IMG]
     
  12. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    400 watt is minimum. You never get power supplies at minimum. This isn't even including the power draw that the quad core will pull along with the other attachments like the DVD drive + a bunch of stuff you'll hook up on the USB. You risk a lot by putting in a minimum power supply...fried motherboard, fried graphics card, possible hard disk failure. This becomes even more important when you want to run a game like Crysis, which will tax every part of the system like HDD for texture loading, graphics card, CPU, etc.

    No need for the network card really. The motherboard should have that standard. Also, I'd recommend a cheap floppy drive ($5). Trust me on that one, people cry all the time when they realized they've f'd up their computer and don't have a floppy drive to help recover. Oh and if you're running 32-bit OS, about 1 GB is wasted out of the 4 GB, so make sure you're installing a 64-bit OS.
     
  13. superrob
    OP

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Changes power supply again.
    Found out that the 520W only did cost 5$ more than the 400W

    And i made a bootdisk out of my USB disk.
     
  14. enigmaindex

    Member enigmaindex the Scarecrow

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    My dad runs a 1000 watt PSU.

    Some Gigabyte MB
    Quad Core Processor
    4gb RAM
    2x Radeon 2900 XT in SLI
    Terrabyte HDD

    (Dont know the exact specs though)

    He needs the 1000 watt for over clocking apparently, i think it's a bit over the top but eh, hes paying for the energy bills.

    But as everyone said, PSU is vital, especially with taxing games like Crysis and CoD 4 and for over clocking and then cooling comes into play and what not.
     
  15. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Seagate ST3250310AS 250GB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 8MB Cache - OEM
    Pst700-it1 Thermal Compound Silver Grease Injection Tube
    CD-R25 With 25 Pcs Cake Box
    Arctic Power 700W PSU - With PCI-E, SATA, 20+4, ATX12V, 8pin +12V Connectors - Retail Boxed
    Samsung 18x DVD±RW/RAM DL Int Drive Black - OEM
    EVGA 8800GT 512MB GDDR3 Dual DVI HDTVOut PCI-E Graphics Card
    Corsair 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 XMS2 Memory Non-ECC Unbuffered CL5(5-5-5-12) Heat Spreader Lifetime Warranty
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Energy Efficient 95W edition Socket 775 (2.40GHz) G0 Stepping L2 8MB Cache OEM Processor
    Arctic Cooling AC-FRZ-7P Freezer 7 Pro Socket 775 Processor Cooler
    19" TFT Monitor Widescreen 1440x900 500:1 300cd/m2 8ms VGA/DVI Silver/Black MultiMedia 3 Years Warranty
    Value 80mm Internal Case Fan - 3pin
    Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R Socket 775 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard
    Coolermaster CM690 Dominator Black Mid Tower Case - No PSU

    £700.03

    How does that sound? I'm not gonna be buying this (unless £700 comes through the post) but i'm interested at the moment.
     
  16. Darkforce

    Former Staff Darkforce DERP!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm currently interested in the Asus eeePC... I don't need one but they look really awesome! Just holding out to see if the 8G comes in a 10" option.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. bladetears

    Newcomer bladetears Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    ATI cards are Crossfire, NVIDIA cards are SLI.
     
  18. enigmaindex

    Member enigmaindex the Scarecrow

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh yeah right, sorry was thinking about NVIDIA i was reading this article about Quad SLI at the time i was posting.
     
  19. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Mac Mini.
     

Share This Page