What's so bad about AMD processors?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Feels Good Man, Aug 16, 2009.

Aug 16, 2009
  1. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
  2. Shakraka

    Member Shakraka GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    722
    Country:
    United States
    .
     
    Last edited by Shakraka, Oct 20, 2015
  3. Anteo

    Newcomer Anteo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    _________________ Sexy: Oh Yea
    Country:
    Canada
    Yea, Shakraka is right, I mean there are processors out there that are better than AMD, but you're not going to lose out on any laptop experiences by getting one, unless you're trying to run too many applications at once xD.
     
  4. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    -Sigh-

    AMD = Best power for your money ratio

    Intel = Best use of what power there is.

    Put a 3.0GHz Intel v a 3.0GHz AMD, and the Intel makes better use of what it has. Intel is more efficient, and it has a bit more in place to help it out, however the prices against AMD prices are crazy as hell, so it's only if you have the money for them.
     
  5. DSGamer64

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    The differences are underlying in functions like bus speeds and cache, Intel processors have more which gives them an advantage over AMD in the multi-core market, it was the inverse when the Athlon 64 came out back in the day, AMD had a huge advantage over the Intel Pentium 4.
     
  6. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah main thing differents is the FSB speed (motherboard Speed which effects overall performance) Intel CPU's mainly use a FSB of 333mhz and more L2 and L3 Cache while the standed used by AMD is 200mhz max FSB. When overclocking starting at 333mhz has a huge advantage over AMD because if the CPU multiplier is x9.
    That would be a stock speed of 333 FSB X 9 Multi = 2997 or 2.9ghz. But raise the FSB to 400 and you are at 3.6ghz easy (400 x 9 = 3600) and on top of having the CPU running st 3.6ghz you have the extra speed of the FSB running faster which effects the memory and PCI_E speeds aswell so you have a all round system boost. AMD Motherboards normally struggle once you get to about 250 FSB and intel motherboards have and option to unlock the RAM so that the speed of the RAM is not raised at the same time as the FSB which can lead to instabillty if the RAM you are using can not run at faster speeds then it was rated too which takes RAM errors out of the picture and helps stability when overclocking.
     
  7. pizzahutmaster

    Newcomer pizzahutmaster Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
  8. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    I heard Gateways weren't that great though. Hmm...

    I think im going to wait for what my instructors say to get because I dont want to buy a computer now and then regret getting later because it's not powerful enough.
     
  9. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    AMD is fine for games if that's what you plan to do as well as Intel.
    honestly you won't notice any difference in them performance wise for games since most people have at least 4gb of ram now days.
    i'm on a old ass 3.2gig celery D with 756mb of ram though cuz i'm fukken broke! lol jk i have a dual core AMD laptop i use for games otherwise i just use this for web browsing and it runs Linux to take better use of it's limited resources.
     

Share This Page