what processor to choose?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by scrtmstr, Sep 6, 2010.

Sep 6, 2010

what processor to choose? by scrtmstr at 4:43 PM (2,130 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. scrtmstr
    OP

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    allright, so here's the deal:

    I've got a choice between:
    • some intel core 2 duos and pentium dual cores (E6600 and so on, between 2.2 and 2.8 Ghz)
      an AMD Athlon II X2 220 (2.8Ghz),
      an AMD X4 630 (2.8Ghz)
      the new(er) Intel i3 530 at 2.93 Ghz.
    I'm going to use it for heavy office work, a game from time to time and a lot of converting and internet. I've got 3GB of RAM, might get another gigabyte extra if needed. I've got a lot of programs running side by side.

    So what do you guys think, which will suit me best?
     


  2. JonthanD

    Member JonthanD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Sitting
    Country:
    United States
    Out of the list of CPU's I would recommend the X4 630 with the work load you describe.

    For the Intel fans or AMD fans please note that if funds where a non issue I would 110% recommend some i7 monster [​IMG]
     
  3. Jasper07

    Member Jasper07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Parallel universe
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I agree with Jonathan. Or maybe you could use a 955 or 965 BE from AMD. But I guess that is out of the budget.
     
  4. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    core2 duo E8400 is a great choice if you can afford it. if not, something a little lower should suffice
     
  5. JonthanD

    Member JonthanD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Sitting
    Country:
    United States
    Thats the CPU I use [​IMG] lol it is very nice [​IMG]
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,814
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If your going to use it for pencil pushing work, any of the CPUs will work. You only need lots of RAM depending on what version of the OS your trying to use. 32bit OSes will be able to use 3.5GB (4GB shows as 3.5 in XP) of RAM, 64bit OSes can use more than 4GB.
     
  7. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Go for the AMD X4 630. Quadcore, says it all really.
     
  8. Jotokun

    Member Jotokun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Go for the X4. Normaly I'm one of those who would always say Intel, but of those choices the other CPUs you listed just dont compare.

    Now, if you could get an i5 or an i7, I'd recommend that over the X4.
     
  9. dysan

    Member dysan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Greece
    from the cpus you list, X4 is the best for converting and office work...games will work fine on it as well(might have some compatibility issues sometimes though,but most can be solved)

    get a 64 bit OS and at least 1-2 gigs of RAM as well...

    more RAM=faster work
     
  10. madtamski

    Member madtamski GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This may help...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    *edit* Forgot to add graphics card information...
     
  11. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,156
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As mentioned, for office work, any of the CPUs in the OP will work just fine. I myself use a E8400, levelled up to a E8600 (it's a BIOS tweak).

    There's no point getting a quad core unless you really need the extra cores for multi-threaded applications or heavy multi-tasking. In fact, high speed/strength dual core CPUs work better in many games than the inherantly slower quad cores.

    Lil fact: the E6600 is rated the best dual core CPU because of how well it overclocks.
     
  12. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,192
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    E6600 is the first in the core 2 duo line
    they are outdated and use a 65nm die size where as the newer ones such as the E7### and E8### use a 45nm die size
    reduced heat, less power consumption, and better performance

    but of course now they are also outdated by i3,i5, and i7
     
  13. Velveteer

    Member Velveteer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Australia
    Could someone please bash him? There are no compatibility issues with AMD, a 64-bit OS and 1-2GB ram is pointless and more RAM does NOT equal faster work.
     
  14. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,156
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Trololol. General rule of thumb for forums - don't put much stock into anything said by a member that doesn't capitalize their sentences.

    Anyway, it's true that it's mostly pointless to get a 64bit OS unless you're using more than 3GB of RAM. Theoretically 64bit is more efficient since it handles larger data-streams, but you really won't see any benefit from it other than some older applications refusing to work because, in a budget PC, you're not using parts fast enough to notice the difference in 64bit operation.
     
  15. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    Country:
    Australia
    AMD Athlon II X2 220
     
  16. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Madtamski, why are you posting those screenshots? You do know that they say jack, if anything at all about hardware, do you not?
     
  17. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The 65nm procs are easier to overclock though compared to the 45nm models. Regardless in this case take the X4 as it is overpowered for what you need and thus will be enough. And "heavy office work", or multi processing you're better off with the X4 (or a proc with hyperthreading and 4 cores, not sure which of the i line has that).

    Anyway, as for the compat issues, there have actually been instances where that was true (NFS?) and patches had to be released. Generally though (have both several core 2 duo and an X2 250) there isn't much difference in the two when it comes to compat.

    Oh btw for the converting, get a hardware based convertion card (ati HD5 series I know have the capability, not sure about earlier models). Takes quite some load of the proc and is also often faster.
     
  18. dysan

    Member dysan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Greece
    I didn't mean compatibility issues with AMD!I'm using an athlon as well lol
    I meant compatiblity issues with four core cpus...at least that's what they were saying a couple of years ago.

    64bit OS is faster for office work because they can manage RAM better...it's no secret!
    but again,I've heard problems with some games on 64 bit OS which I guess might be resolved by now
    concerning the "2 GB ram is pointless"-the more RAM you have the better your pc will respond,no?....unless I've been living a lie for the better part of my life...
     
  19. Trulen

    Member Trulen GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I've been rocking 2GB of ram. I know it's 1/4th of some of the 8GB systems folks rock... But... I've yet to hit a bottleneck in gaming because of it.

    I check system monitors, and any game I play only will use about 80% of it tops.

    It's my GPU that limits me! Avast! Though I'm picking up a shiny GTX 460 later.



    But, also on processor side, I've got a Core 2 Duo 2.93GHz intel processor that's pretty much amazing. It hasn't let me down yet!
    I keep thinking to buy one of those shin core i5's... But... I don't need it!

    Maybe folks saying you need 4GB+ and quad cores are just justifying their large purcahse

    Or, maybe I'm saying what I'm sayng to justify my low purchase!
    But I'm pleased, minus my GPU. But even then, I'm extremely pleased with it. I just can't hit 60FPS in maybe a handful of games.
    That, and I needed an excuse to open up my computer and play with it.
     
  20. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Just throwin this out there in case you forget but make sure your motherboard supports which ever processor you choose.
     

Share This Page