What is this error?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Vidboy10, Jun 3, 2009.

Jun 3, 2009

What is this error? by Vidboy10 at 10:51 PM (1,677 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. Vidboy10
    OP

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey guys ive been having a problem with my PC lately.

    [​IMG]

    This has been popping up when i start up my PC for the past 3 months, and strangely since this stared happening my speakers haven't been working.
    Does anyone know what the error is about?
     


  2. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get your windows XP install disk, and do a repair install. (Not anything else)
    That should fix it.
     
  3. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    run memtest too, could be faulty ram
     
  4. Vidboy10
    OP

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    Really? I never thought of that
     
  5. Findecanno

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    get linux live cd to recover your data and then install Linux its better
     
  6. Vidboy10
    OP

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried Ubuntu once.
    WAY Too complex
     
  7. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    While I'm going to have to disagree with you on that front, here should be your fix http://tinyurl.com/pp3t6k - there's a reason windows 2k has 6 service packs, you should probably get them
     
  8. Vidboy10
    OP

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    2K?
    I use Windows XP....
     
  9. Pendor

    Member Pendor GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Vidboy10
    OP

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    Why is everyone so surprised that me saying Ubuntu is complex?
    I mean Using Terminal to install shit is so hard.
    and barely anything will install on Ubuntu
     
  11. kjean

    Member kjean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    550
    Location:
    where I'm from
    Country:
    Korea, South
    Bad hardware combination can do that too.

    Once you get used with all the M$ shits, there's no turning back unless you are desperate.
    And complex is personnel matter, however I can agree with you.
     
  12. TeenDev

    Member TeenDev GBAtemp's Original Hipster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    633
    Country:
    United States
    try making sure the svchost.exe is not infected. this is a common problem by people who have been infected with svchost.exe malware.
     
  13. Vidboy10
    OP

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay i decided the best thing to do is install Windows 7 (Build 7057)
    So when im done burning it how do i install the OS on my PC?
     
  14. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Don't, leave this to someone who knows what he/she is doing. Possibly explaining things to you along the way.

    Else, just shove that CD/DVD in there and follow the onscreen instructions (and get ur key ready). Be sure to save any important data somewhere else before doing this though, you don't want to accidentally erase your data partition and loose everything do you [​IMG]?
     
  15. Vidboy10
    OP

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    WHAT?!??
    You need a key to use the beta?!?
    Ill try to find a crack for the build.
     
  16. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you don't need to use the terminal to install shit. and if you want to its just a case of typing "sudo apt-get shit"
     
  17. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Well you could try a 3 month system restore, may fail though, but its worth a shot. How about trying to repair XP ? Pop in your CD, and repair, also make sure there isn't any malware on your PC, run some scans.
     
  18. 67birdman

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Yea, dude you have to re-run windows
     
  19. dewback

    Member dewback GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    have you tried to reinstall the sound card drivers?
    or remove the sound card from the device manager and reboot to have it find it again?
     
  20. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had a very similar problem like this
    I eventually found out that the memory modules I had installed were not 'motherboard recommended' & for some weird reason when used in 'Dual Channel' mode caused PC to come up with a message similar to above - ESPECIALLY when certain sound effects were played.

    Couldn't be bothered to buy 'Recommended' memory modules (I had only just brought the last lot) but a 'fix' for me was to put the memory into 'Single channel' mode & PC been running fine since
     

Share This Page