What does this mean?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by $uPeRJjS&#0, Nov 11, 2010.

Nov 11, 2010

What does this mean? by $uPeRJjS&#0 at 2:03 AM (1,890 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. $uPeRJjS&#0
    OP

    Member $uPeRJjS&#0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    Cardboard Box
    Country:
    Australia
    CIOS249 [57 Base] Rev 20

    what does 57 base mean?

    i havent been in the wii scence for a while and my wii is on 4.0 like last year haha


    does it mean you install it on IOS 57?
     
  2. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    It means that the cIOS was made by patching a copy of IOS57. It still gets installed in IOS249's slot.
     
  3. $uPeRJjS&#0
    OP

    Member $uPeRJjS&#0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    Cardboard Box
    Country:
    Australia
    So, how do you do it becuase i forgot everything.
     
  4. kylster

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    grab the file off filetrip.net should be easy waninkoko is the maker of this cIOS
     
  5. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    If you're trying to get your homebrew up to date, consider the "Modify any Wii" sticky. You can use it regardless of what you have now.

    If you want to update your cIOS, download Waninkoko's cIOSX r20 installer and run it.
     
  6. $uPeRJjS&#0
    OP

    Member $uPeRJjS&#0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    Cardboard Box
    Country:
    Australia
    How do you instal the cIOS to a base?
     
  7. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Grab the installer and follow the instructions. The installer patches IOS57 for you and installs it as IOS249
     
  8. $uPeRJjS&#0
    OP

    Member $uPeRJjS&#0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    Cardboard Box
    Country:
    Australia
    Wait, whats the file name i should get?
     
  9. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    cIOSX rev 20 installer.


    Select IOS249 for installer
    Select IOS57 for base
    Select Wad Installation or Network Installation. (grab the IOS57 wad from NUSD if you dont have an internet connection on your wii and put it on SD:/ 'root')

    Or you can find the CIOS249[57 Base]Rev 20.wad and install that with a wad manager.
     
  10. $uPeRJjS&#0
    OP

    Member $uPeRJjS&#0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    Cardboard Box
    Country:
    Australia
    apperently we can't install wads when we install that?
     
  11. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The latest WAD manager(s) let you use IOS236, so shouldn't be a problem
     
  12. $uPeRJjS&#0
    OP

    Member $uPeRJjS&#0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    Cardboard Box
    Country:
    Australia
    but do we have to use install ios236 asswell?

    or can i just back up my wii using bootmii then if i cant install anything i can go to and revive it with my backup?
     
  13. $uPeRJjS&#0
    OP

    Member $uPeRJjS&#0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    Cardboard Box
    Country:
    Australia
    How do you make USB Loader GX run as CIOS249 [57 Base] Rev 20. They said its not the game you have to run as 249.... its the loader itself?
     
  14. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    Go into the settings game load screen of USB Loader GX, there you will see an option for what cIOS to use. This can also be specified on a per game basis by setting the same option in the game load settings screen from a game's disc spinning launch screen. Also, you have that backwards, in the case of most games, like CoD:BO to mention a current example, you have to run the game with a cIOS using an IOS57 base, that's the important part. The loader can use the same, or different depending on it's own needs.

    -[]D
     
  15. OncleJulien

    Member OncleJulien tool of peers

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,170
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    thats not a very nice thing to call someone who is trying to help you.
     
  16. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG] It took me a while to get that one....lol

    -[]D
     
  17. $uPeRJjS&#0
    OP

    Member $uPeRJjS&#0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    Cardboard Box
    Country:
    Australia
    i dont get it.? haha
     

Share This Page