Homebrew What Does Firmware 5.5.3 Do?

Awesomekid956000

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
This may sound like a stupid question, and I'm sorry for that. Anyway, I'm new to homebrewing on Wii U in general, and I go looking up tutorials to access the homebrew launcher and junk. However, it's all for 5.5.2 and esspecially for things like Mocha CFW I want to use, I'm scared to brick my console since I don't know if anything changed during the new firmware. Most videos only change the name of the video with a /5.5.3 to say it's safe, but can anyone help me out here?

Ryccardo

Penguin accelerator
Trophies
XP
Country
Italy
You can see a list of changed titles at: https://yls8.mtheall.com/ninupdates/reports.php?date=09-03-18_08-00-36&sys=wup (click the numbered link in the first column for your region; keep in mind that E is American and P European as in product codes, unlike the more common J/U/E naming scheme)

For Japanese and American consoles nothing critical changed, for European consoles a stronger and retroactive opt-out from analytics was added

The only practical difference for modding is that, if you modified your default app (for 'most every common user, read that as
"installed CBHC"), if you install 5.5.3 (or reinstall/update in any other imaginable way the Wii U Menu, which on a consumer console is the only title which declares itself as suitable for being the default app), the default app will be reset to Wii U Menu (= CBHC won't autoboot, it will only run if you manually launch its app, and you will likely want to repeat its installation)

Most videos only change the name of the video with a /5.5.3 to say it's safe
Video guides, eh?

I'm scared to brick my console
There are very few stupid questions (especially if the intent is genuinely to learn something), but being scared of anything is rarely helpful to finding facts