What are cIOS? Why should I install it?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by riahc3, Dec 26, 2008.

Dec 26, 2008
  1. riahc3
    OP

    Member riahc3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    United States
    I was trying out the gamma backup loader and it gave me a error about a cIOS (not too sure). I have a cIOS something also in my homebrew channel. What should I do?
     
  2. ChronixLeaf

    Newcomer ChronixLeaf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    for any version of backup loader it comes with the cIOS that is needed to run it, I am not an expert on
    what the cIOS does exactly but I know you need the bundled cIOS that comes with the backup loader in
    order to run the program. I think in order for some of the smart people to help you, you are going to need
    to give a little more info, like what version you are running, 3.1u, 3.2, 3.3 ect ect. and what cIOS you are
    currently running. I wish I could be more help but I am noobish as well. Good luck!
     
  3. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
  4. ChronixLeaf

    Newcomer ChronixLeaf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    What cIOS is that for?
    I am clueless as to what cIOS's are used for.
     
  5. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    it is the same for the Gamma loader but this was created by Waninkoko, who happens to be the creator of the first backup launcher ("ISO loader" back then)
     
  6. Jytach

    Member Jytach GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Brazil
    cIOS are basically "custom" IOS.
    They are copies of the original ones, with some small changes to make something possible. Running a backup game I.E.

    IOS are fragments of the Nintendo Wii operating system. Your games need to load some of them to run.

    It's not EXACTLY that, but I hope it was easy to understand.


    If you want to install one, so you can use your backup loader, try searching the forums. I'm sure you're gonna find it.
    *EDIT* ether2802 just posted how to install them =)
     
  7. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    A simple example is something on a PC .... for the program Limewire to run on a PC you need Java installed - for some other applications you need .NET installed.

    cIOS is a custom IOS that you need installed on your wii in order for the Gamma loader to be able tin interperate and run the commands on the wii.

    Usually you need to download the cIOS and it has been known to error while downloading quite a bit - the files in my signature have a predownloaded cIOS files so they install directly saving download times and errors and it makes life a little bit easier for your cIOS install.
     
  8. Metalix

    Newcomer Metalix Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States

    you can't upload cIOS...rules says it o.o
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    installers are ok, ok?
     
  10. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah, thats ok, ok? ok. i thought so. ok. is everyone ok? ok, thats ok.
     

Share This Page