What antivirus do you use?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Reaper, Dec 31, 2008.

?

WHICH ONE LOL

  1. Avast!

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. AVG

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. NOD32

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Kaspersky

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Norton(LOLOL XD)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. McAfee

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  7. Other

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. I don't have one :(

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Dec 31, 2008

What antivirus do you use? by Reaper at 3:39 AM (5,293 Views / 0 Likes) 71 replies

  1. Reaper
    OP

    Member Reaper Tͩ͒ͥ̈́ͧ̓͑̆̂

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    United States
    I used to have NOD32 but now I use AVG(but Norton came with this computer, which I got rid of).
     


  2. Chaaru

    Newcomer Chaaru Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    koth_harvest
    Country:
    United States
    I don't need any. I have a Mac.
     
  3. thepspgamer

    Newcomer thepspgamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    The Depths of Hell!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AVG for me, has never let me down
     
  4. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    QFT, I've been using it for the last 3 years, never had any problems.
     
  5. skyman747

    Member skyman747 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    United States
    Tried AVG, but it screwed over my computer, maxing out the processor and the likes. Switched to Avast and have never been happier.
     
  6. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    avast pro. avg was good till 8 came out.
     
  7. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,660
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
  8. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    I voted other because I wanted to vote: I don't have one [​IMG]

    But it did not happen to be an option.
     
  9. mason_emu

    Newcomer mason_emu Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
  10. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    I chose not to have one.
    I'm running XP sp3 and prettu much I know what I'm doing so why bother with something that is going to slow down the start up of the system and limit its performance ?
    I use a good firewall yes ( COMODO, and it's free) and I browse the net with Firefox with added noscript and adblock plus.
    I couldn't feel safer.
    Of course I don't go around downloading dubious roms or fake txt files with hidden extensions like .pdf or .exe from unknown sources off porn sites for example, that would be outright stupid.
    It's been four years since I decided not to have an antivirus on my PC, and I never had a problem, not even once.
    I even run a couple of malware and spyware tests every now and then ( before somebody could claim that for sure I have viruses I'm not aware of ), and I've always come out clean.
    Am I smarter then the average PC user ? [​IMG]
     
  11. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's made my day. Keep telling yourself that, you do know the first virus was on an Apple.

    My AV is Bitdefender, I bought 3 licenses for a year. One for my desktop, laptop and server.
    The version I have includes a Firewall as well, good price.
     
  12. tpformbh

    Member tpformbh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Panama
    I went without for years but now have symantec corporate - doesn't slow hte system down like norton does.

    Always thought the same as you about being careful, but when you do get them, it seems to be through things like IE exploits rather than specific viruses, i've swapped to firefox but sometimes you can be affected.
     
  13. reimu

    Newcomer reimu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    Country:
    Canada
    Agreed. As long as it is set up properly it works great. [​IMG]
     
  14. xalphax

    Member xalphax Internet killed the Ponystar.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    here'n'there
    Country:
    Croatia
    linux?
     
  15. ball2012003

    ball2012003 Newbie

  16. Holaitsme

    Member Holaitsme 10/10 would be loyal again

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    846
    Country:
    United States
    nod32 for me.
     
  17. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    NOD32. I tried to use Kaspersky, but it kept biting me back in the ass.
     
  18. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't use one because I am on a Mac!

    But for my Windows PC, I have Avast!
     
  19. GexX2

    Member GexX2 Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Tennesee, US
    Country:
    United States
    NOD32.
     
  20. Arno

    Member Arno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Country:
    United States
    Oh how I hate McAfee... SOOO ANNOYING! And Norton is... kind of like a strangler fig. It wraps around your computer then KILLS IT!
     

Share This Page