Weird Game strobing problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by chavosaur, Sep 19, 2012.

Sep 19, 2012
  1. chavosaur
    OP

    Reporter chavosaur Austin Trujillo

    pip
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Huntersville, NC
    Country:
    United States
    So I was trying to play Raman Raving Rabbids 2 on USB Loader Gx. Weird thing was, I started up the game, and it was completely black and white, and the screen was scrolling.

    Like it kept strobing the whole game to where I couldn't see nor play anything.

    I had transferred the .ISO to my usb with WBFS manager, however it was RAR'd before I transferred it. Could that have had some effect on the iso?

    I have transfered Super Paper Mario via .rar using wbfs manager and it worked fine.

    I had the same game strobing problem with Resident evil 4. Are the .iso's messed up? Or is there a setting I'm missing?
     
  2. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    It's a setting. That's what a PAL signal looks like on a NTSC only TV and visa versa. You'll have to set it to force NTSC (Judging by the flag under your avatar).
     
  3. chavosaur
    OP

    Reporter chavosaur Austin Trujillo

    pip
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Huntersville, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Ah snap such a simple solution! Thanks so much! Where is the force NTSC option?
     
  4. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    settings > loader settings > video mode(first option, I think)
    I think setting it to either NTSC or just System Default should do the trick. (not sure exactly how it's worded.)
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. weavile001

    Member weavile001 Spiritmaster

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    Brazil
    JUSt change the frequency and change to ntsc-u
     
  6. chavosaur
    OP

    Reporter chavosaur Austin Trujillo

    pip
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Huntersville, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a bunch, I have run into another problem though.
    I just installed Rayman Raving Rabbids (The first one and my all time favorite) But when I hit play, the screen turns black and the wiimote turns off. Then my whole wii freezes. Any fix for that?
     
  7. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    D:
    That's no good.

    I'd say first check the SHA-1 with WiiBackupManager to make sure it's not a bad rip/download/copy/whatever.
    Then try it with other loaders.
    Do you know what region it is? ... Or the GameID since you can tell with that? (Some games hate having their video mode forced ... there should be a video mode button in the settings for the specific game you could put back to disc default and see if it makes something come up.)

    I have the game as part of the Raving Rabbids Party Collection (3 games in one) but it works fine for me ... I don't know what region I have, though.

    EDITED
     
  8. chavosaur
    OP

    Reporter chavosaur Austin Trujillo

    pip
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Huntersville, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Cant tell what region, game ID is RRBP41, I tested on usb Loader gx and CFG usb loader, but no dice.
    Should be a clean rip, I was able to run it on dolphin. The colors were a little weird but it worked.
     
  9. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    The P in the 4th digit of the GameID usually means PAL. E usually means NTSC (there are others but you never know)

    Actually ... looking it up on GameTDB.com .... http://www.gametdb.com/Wii/RRBP41 ... Yup, PAL.

    There are some games that just refuse to let their region be changed so you still could try into the "settings" button for the specific game and and find the video mode option for that one and change it to one of the PAL options ... If you run it and see something different (even if it is in black and white) then there's your problem (in which case it would be best to see if you can get hold of another copy of the game) If even that doesn't work ... we'll have to keep thinking about it.
     
  10. chavosaur
    OP

    Reporter chavosaur Austin Trujillo

    pip
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Huntersville, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Just tried forcing all options and use disc default, etc. no dice.
    Not even a black and white strobing version D:
    I guess I can try and find an NTSC version, but it was hard enough finding the PAL version. And no one seeds the Collection :P
    Are there any other loaders I ought to try?
     
  11. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Hmm, are all the other options in GX the same as the default they start out as?
    You could always try telling it to load a different cIOS.
    I personally use WiiFlow but since I don't have the game I can't promise anything.

    EDIT : You could still try to check the SHA-1 just to be sure. Since Dolphin kinda glazes over the code to get the general idea of what it's doing instead of actually running it, it could still be a damaged ISO :wink:

    EDIT2 : You could also try running it with Neek2o. It might be the most compatible option.
     
  12. chavosaur
    OP

    Reporter chavosaur Austin Trujillo

    pip
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Huntersville, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Yup all the same. Ah well, I can survive until I grab hold of an NTSC version (if I can find one that is o.o)
     
  13. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Good luck then.
     
  14. chavosaur
    OP

    Reporter chavosaur Austin Trujillo

    pip
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Huntersville, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Boy rayman games dont like my wii ;o;
    Trying to run Rayman origins this time. Game works fine on dolphin, but when I try to play on USBloadergx, it stays on the reading disk screen FOREVER. Any settings I need for this game?
     
  15. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    For any game it's good to tell it to load with a cIOS that has the same base as the IOS the game normally uses. You can use WiiBackupManager to see IOS what games want and then set it in their individual game settings. I'm not sure if that's the problem that you're having here but it's what Black Ops and MW3 do when you have that set wrong. I'll PM you something else that can help.
     

Share This Page